We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendliest Place Iv'e Ever Stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Place Iv'e Ever Stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

After traveling from Florida to South Dakota with my family and our dog, I had more than enough of being turned away from various hotels because they don't except dogs or that they will except a dog for a $40 dollar extra charge and being treated like dirt in the process. Upon reaching Hot Springs late one night, I entered the lobby of Motel 6, expecting a hassle from the girl at the desk. I asked if they accepted dogs and she responded,"Sure". I then asked,"How much is the charge?" She responded,"There is no charge." And in a very friendly way, said."We love dogs here!" I'll never forget how helpful and super friendly the staff was during our stay and how they helped out during a medical emergency that we had while there! It was almost like staying with family, Very representitive of of Hot Springs its'self! I cannot say enough about Motel 6 and Hot Springs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marylin B, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. We enjoy serving our guests. Thank you for giving us that opportunity! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
69
50
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Another motel was full, so my wife and I went here and booked a room that evening. Although it did not have a breakfast, the rate is excellent- super value. They have coffee in the loby. It has a small pool. Room was clean. The motel appears to be newer. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64344, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Picked this because it was top rated motel in Hot Springs. If this is the best Hot Springs has to offer they are lacking in hotels, maybe I should open one myself. Room was clean,front desk was friendly and polite. Bed was not comfortable, no radio, no clock, just a small analog tv. o.k. for a discount chain but when we go back to Hot Springs we won't be staying at motel 6

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64344, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Motel 6 was sold to us as a budget chain that is cheap and available almost anywhere. We had stayed in a rather run-down one in Denver before so our hopes weren't high, but this one is really nice! It's either brand new or recently refurbished, is easy to find, well-appointed, had a fridge in the room and an indoor pool. The rooms are large and we heard no night time disturbance at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64344, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. Motel 6 Hot Springs is celebrating its 5th year in business
--built new October 2007. Hopefully, you will be able to come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I were in the Black Hills for 8 days for my grandmother's memorial service and some added sightseeing. I adjusted our reservation about 5 times because we had a ton of schedule changes at the last minute. The staff at the 6 was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had been having a week where we felt like no one in the service industry would ever be kind again, and then...boom! we landed in Hot Springs and did not want to leave. Clean, comfy room - quiet too! Even if you want to travel all over the Hills, it is worth it to stay at the Motel 6 in Hot Springs, even if there is an extra drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64344, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
The entire staff at Motel 6 Hot Springs enjoy serving people. Our reward is reviews such as yours! Thank you. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
God's chosen county of Lancashire - England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night of a 25 night US & Canada road trip spanning July & August. The hotel is relatively new and although there's no frills the place is quiet, clean and the staff are friendly & helpful. I stayed here because the decent Rapid City hotels were full/expensive because of the Sturgis biker rally, and am glad that I did. It's still conveniently placed for visiting Badlands NP & Mt Rushmore.

Breakfast isn't provided, but the Fall River Bakery in town does great coffee, muffins and doughnuts for a very reasonable price.

There's also a small supermarket and a gas station a few minutes walk away if you want to stock up on a few bits & bobs or buy a snack.

Would I stay here again if I was in the area? Yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominico76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64344, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, you are able to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

i stayed here with my wife when we visited Custer State Park a few weeks ago.
The park is reached within a half hour drive.

The hotel looks very new and everything inside is spotless.
The lady at the reception was very helpfully and even adapted our rate since the Motel6 website charged us too much on our reservation.

The room was big enough, bathroom was impeccably clean and the "rag" and the accompanying story card was a show of how much energy the staff puts into keeping this a top place to stay.

We did not have any noise issues which you have in some other Motel6 or alike places.

We did not try out the pool during our stay but it look clean and well maintained.

We would definately stay here again when visiting the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64344, General Manager at Motel 6 Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
1.4 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#8 of 9 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Hot Springs
Super 8 Hot Springs
#5 of 9 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hot Springs

Property: Motel 6 Hot Springs
Address: 541 Indianapolis Avenue, US 385/US 18 at Indianapolis Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is the newest motel in Hot Springs; built in 2007. We have 51 rooms with either one or two queen beds and one suite. We have smoking and non-smoking rooms. Approximately half of our rooms have refrigerator/microwave. We are pet friendly at no additional charge for your pet. We have an elevator, free wifi, indoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, truck/boat parking. We are close to restaurants/lounges. We are close to the Mammoth Site,Evans Plunge, Wild Horse Sanctuary, Wind Cave Park, half hour drive to Custer State Park, 45 minute scenic drive thru the Black Hills to Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Motel-6, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing