We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin was so fun for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cabin was so fun for our family”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My kids thought this was the coolest. We loved the location, across the river from the resort hotel. Short walk to waterfall. Cabin itself was in good order. Bunk be couldn't fit an adult but great for my kids all under ten. They LOVED it. We loved that it had a nice bathroom and porch. Main bed was comfy but the futon was squeaky, yet not the worst hotel bed of the trip. Loved the porch and the wooden table and benches to dine on.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 3littlebearsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
65
45
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We arrived very late and weren't able to get extra pillows. The room was clean but aged. Breakfast was very minimal. The manager did not bother to prepare the waffle batter which bummed me out after reading reviews about the waffles! If you plan to stay here, bring cash as the cafe we stopped at to get coffee on the way to Crazy Horse didn't accept credit cards. The hotel made due for the night but I don't know if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We did not have a great experience in Hot Springs in mid-October. Granted, it wasn't tourist season, but we arrived around 7:00pm on a Saturday and had a very hard time finding a restaurant that was open. The town was practically deserted, and many places seemed to have gone out of business. We were intending to go to the Mammoth site, but were so tired the next day we just skipped it and headed straight home.

I had reserved one of the three cabins at this hotel thinking it would be fun for the kids, but it was a big mistake. The bunkbeds were so small that my 12-year-old son wouldn't fit, and their "mattresses" were about 2" thick on top of boards. My 8-year-old son did fine, though. The futon that my older son slept on was uncomfortable and creaked every time he moved. I thought it would be really nice that my husband and I had a bedroom with a door, but unfortunately the heating unit was in the wall of the bedroom and was VERY noisy. It cycled on and off all night and my husband didn't get a wink of sleep (I had earplugs and did better). Also, when the bedroom door was closed, the kids in the outer room didn't have any heat. It's an unfortunate problem, because you can tell that care was taken to make the cabins very cute and rustic looking, and I give them kudos for the idea. Also, the people in the next cabin were smoking on their front porch most of the time, and that didn't make me any happier.

The hotel management was nice, and the breakfast was standard (with waffles), but the breakfast room was dark. If you absolutely have to stay in Hot Springs (I never will again), I'm sure this hotel is as good as any -- just don't stay in the cabins unless you know what you're getting into!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is right in the middle of Hot Springs historic area (which is rustic and old but not all that much to get excited about). The hotel itself is older and if you are on the first floor (recommended), you can back right up to your room and unload in just a minute without a lot of effort. The manager is a bit hard to understand but he really understands what customer service is about. He is hands-on all hours of the day and a great help.

The rooms are adequate in size, older furnished, but very clean and well kept. Not a hint of smoking in our no-smoking room - - which is what you'd expect but don't always get elsewhere. There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room.

Heating is a bit of odd setup and you think it's not working, but it just takes a few minutes and is very efficient, as is the A/C.

Breakfast is a bit spartan, which is why this was knocked down a point. They've got the make your own waffle thing going, and that and cereal are about it. They could add a piece of fruit or juice or something to bring the whole thing up a notch.

Good experience, and I would go back.

Room Tip: Get 1st floor if you don't like hauling your bags up an outside set of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Papadoc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We spent the entire week not worrying about anything; thanks to the staff and especially the management of this very clean and updated motel. The rates were the best available in H/S, the room was very nice, and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great! Parking was a breeze, and the manager was the nicest person. The hospitality industry is represented well by his professional attitude.

Room Tip: ground floor options very pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A great find in South Dakota. Very affordable, extremely clean, large rooms and an owner/manager who actually cares about the guests. They offer a comp breakfast that is really a breakfast! Quiet as well. We'd go back and recommend it to our family and clients.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

While the rooms are older (but reasonably updated) and "motel-ish", the inn sits on the edge on the "quiet" side of the river and the proprietor could not be nicer. For the price (AAA $83) it was a bargain versus other properties in the area. We had a nice quiet stay and would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmishnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
1.1 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#7 of 9 in Hot Springs
95 reviews
23.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn by the River

Property: Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Address: 602 W River St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-1718
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn by the River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing