We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay here again...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dollar Inn Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wouldn't stay here again...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got this room for $70 and were traveling so we just needed a room for the night. The staff are friendly, but that's about it. The continental breakfast is an absolute joke (eg. Beans and tomato sauce). The rooms were clean, but the bed was uncomfortable. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
35
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, IA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

An OK place for an overnight stay, but that's it.
As an earlier reviewer said, "beans in tomato sauce, scottish style" all by themselves except for doughnuts and toast are just plain wierd!
I certainly wouldn't recommend this place for a stay more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidder, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beds were hard, pillows were worse (bring your own pillows!); could not get wifi in rear rooms.

Breakfast was DOUGHNUTS, KIDNEY BEANS & TOAST; very disappointed with "continental breakfast". Although, my kids loved having powdered doughnuts for breakfast! My son asked if he could get some water and the man behind the counter directed him the an outside VENDING MACHINE!

Located on the North side of town, beyond the "heart of what's happening". Place was clean and good for a place to rest before heading on, but I would not recommend it for extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticGrayStar_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Clean place with fridge/micro in room (and a large Piglet toy). Try the Scottish baked beans for breakfast; they'll keep you going all day. On northern edge of town near Evan's Plunge but there is a pavement/sidewalk down into town so you are safer than usual if you decide not to waste petrol.

Room Tip: The main building is on a corner of the main road. There is a block across the road which may be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Recently Stayed for 3 Nights, a nice clean Hotel located in the pretty town of Hot Springs.
Owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. Liked being able to have our dog stay with us.
Breakfast was small, could use more items. Other than that was a very nice place to stay while exploring the Black Hills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a nice little hotel. Owners were very friendly and caring. Hotel was clean and quiet. Hot Springs is a quaint town; definitely check out Evan's Plunge, which is within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms have a mini-fridge, which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcitybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth on
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

I took a room for one night. $67 at the time. Quite nice. Clean and bright and cool. The little motel across the road (Skyline Motel) was advertising rooms or $44, so I checked it out. Stay away! Dark, worn out, and smells bad. Rented for two more nights at the Dollar Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Hot Springs
Super 8 Hot Springs
#5 of 9 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dollar Inn Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dollar Inn Hot Springs

Property: Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Address: 402 Battle Mountain Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747-3001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dollar Inn Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dollar Inn Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing