We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“decent hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel on a visit to gbe Black Hills. It is about an hour from Mount Rushmore and other attractions. This is a budget hotel with few amenities but the room was clean. The bed was not very comfortable and the towels were thin and worn but the breakfast was pretty good...variety of foods. Okay for a basic hotel but not the same level as a Hampton or HI Express.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    83
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
78
71
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Clean hotel located on side of major road. Kids thought pool was really poor with 3' depth and not working hot tub. Room was good size including the bathroom with two queens and pull out couch. The 5 of us had enough space. Breakfast was decent and filled out stomachs. Oatmeal was good. Not alot of food choices in Hot Springs for dinner. Was a good stopping point on our way from Rapid City to Estes park after visiting Rushmore, Custer state park, and Jewell Cave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3NJgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a 3 week road trip from Chicago to Las Vegas.
Booked a Standard Queen Suite, turned out this is a guest room not a suite. Changed to a Suite which is called an Executive Room. So beware when booking a room the naming conventions are a bit confusing!

Both the room and bathroom were good, clean and tidy, bathroom was a good size! Complimentary breakfast was good with a reasonable selection. Good fridge and microwave. WiFi good. Old style CRT TV, but worked ok. Staff friendly and helpful. Ample free parking.

Good location for Mount Rushmore, etc.

Hot Springs itself is a bit of a sleepy hollow, but does have a few decent places to eat.

My wife had a tooth problem so the lady on reception recommended her dentist. Mr Sotherland (the dentist) was excellent, saw her almost immediately and did a fix that was ok for the rest of the holiday – Excellent service!

Overall a good hotel well placed. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrod855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pet friendly and very friendly service. Hotel has an un-finished feel to it with the pool area separated from the hotel by an unfinished covered walkway full of motorcycles. The outside and backside of the property was littered with debris, as I understand it, the property was recently opened under a new name and seemed like some clean up is required. Breakfast was ok (great coffee), but the view of the 7 Sisters peaks was nice.
Room was adequate, but our family members staying in another room didn't get their room cleaned or linens changed while we were gone (which they were given a discount on their room cost for). With having a pet we were at the end of the hall and could hear everyone entering and exiting the property. Also had some bad pillows that had to be changed out after our first night since we couldn't sleep on them (lumpy and hard).
The high spot on this property was customer service and views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark_W_Grisswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The only issue I had with this hotel was I had to change out a cleaned towel that had a stain on it. Overall the room was clean and comfortable and the price was reasonable.

Picked this location because it is across the street from the Mammoth Site.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crzymallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was here for three nights in June with my 5 year old daughter. The hotel is in a great location. It's across the street from the Mammoth Site and just minutes from the middle of town. We arrived around 8:30 pm and stood there for almost 30 minutes waiting for the one front desk person to make a reservation for a large group and then check in the people in front of us and help another guest get some extra toiletries. I don't think I've ever waited this long to check in anywhere. She was fairly rude to the prospective guest on the phone and wasn't entirely pleasant to anyone else. We saw a similar situation on our way through the lobby the last night of our stay. This hotel is clearly understaffed in the evenings. However, the room itself was clean and spacious (King suite) with a nice sized refrigerator, microwave, lounge chair, desk, dresser and clothing cabinet. The bathroom has plenty of counter space, which we need. There is no wifi, but there is internet access, which isn't the most convenient. The air conditioning unit is in the wall under the window and it is loud, so be prepared for the noise or the heat. The pool is nice and clean, as is the spa area. The breakfast buffet is mediocre. It had quarter pieces of waffle, biscuits and gravy, lumpy oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, one type of pastry, toast, bagels, cereal and some limited fruit. The first day we came down to breakfast, they were out of most everything and it took 20 minutes to get something to eat because they weren't keeping an eye on the breakfast area. The last night someone was smoking marijuana on our floor and it infiltrated the entire hallway and into our room. I reported it to the front desk and put a towel under the door (there's a one inch gap) and though they said they'd take care of it immediately, I don't believe anything was done. We liked the room itself, but that was the only thing that was really good about this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel away from Hwy 18. Without the air conditioner going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in a standard double queen room with 2 adults and 3 children. The room was quite comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly, great breakfast with a good variety of items. The only drawback was the pool area. The pool itself was clean and looked new, but was much smaller than I imagined it would be and not very deep, varied from 2-3.5 ft deep. We enjoyed it anyway and would likely stay here if we were to visit Hot Springs again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#7 of 9 in Hot Springs
95 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Stay Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Property: USA Stay Hotel and Suites
Address: 1401 Highway 18 Byp, Hot Springs, SD 57747-9664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Stay Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
86 room hotel located in the beautiful southern Black Hills. Close to all attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your USA Stay Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Stay Hotel Hot Springs
Holiday Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing