We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super welcoming, informative and great food”

Woolly's Grill and Cellar
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: *Closed for the season, we will be re-opening April 21, 2019* Woolly's Grill and Cellar is located in the Southern Black Hills in Hot Springs, SD. Woolly's is a family owned and operated restaurant, coffee bar, and lounge. Our restaurant offers a casual, yet refined dining experience specializing in steaks and grilled foods but also serve up a great variety of fresh dishes! Woolly's caters to just about everyone, from families and couples all the way up to travel busses and special events.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Super welcoming, informative and great food. Went with large Road Scholar group. Had fresh bread and make your own sandwiches. They brew their own beer too and serve it for $5.00 - yummy!!! Their potato salad and lemon bars were THE best!!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JanN216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Owner at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Jan, all of us at Woolly's truly appreciate your kind comments and rating. Hope you come back soon on another tour or on your own.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having eaten hear in the past a number of times we always found the food to be good. The salad bar was great with fresh choices. Our server was fine, but unfortunately the entrees were not. I ordered the Napa chicken and it was so tough that I could hardly eat it. The green beans were not good. The rice pilaf was fine but tasted like it came out of a box. My wife ordered the rib eye and it had so much gristle and was so tough she was able to eat only half. If I rated that dining experience it would have qualified as terrible. Because of our past experiences I gave it an average.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grumpygramps13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Owner at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, grumpygramps, since you are regulars I am quite sure you know Vicky and how she would have bent over backward with regards to any issues you had with your meals so they could be made more to your liking. With regards to my grandmother's rice pilaf recipe ( I am pretty sure she is rolling over in her grave with your rice box comment-NO this rice is made to her specification each and every day at Woolly's). In fact, besides honoring one grandmother every day at Woolly's we honor two, our Au Jus recipe comes from another Grandma which includes a bunch of reduced-red-wine which she loved to show me how to do. Having said all of this though we sure appreciate your repeated visits to Woolly's and as always we strive to learn how we might improve in every area. Therefore we actually appreciate constructive criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being that this restaurant was rated #1 in the list of all restaurants, I would have to disagree with that. Website says "Casual but Refined", I agree with Casual but not with Refined. 1891 Steakhouse and Bistro's food is WAY better. You do get a lot of food here, but taste was just ok. The ribs were very tender and meaty though a couple were dry, all with very little sauce or smoky flavor. The buffalo sirloin was thin and chewy, not bad. Very good salad bar and dessert selections. Sauteed veggies were watery, bland and overcooked. The green beans were suggested but were kind of dry and tough. Biggest complaint though was that they had no beer that was brewed there though there were big signs everywhere saying there was. Our meals were served right after we returned from the salad bar. Hmmmm.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisdeanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Owner at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Chrisdeanck, glad you enjoyed much of your evening at Woolly's especially the amazing 18-foot salad bar. So sorry that we didn't have any of our great craft brew available the evening you were here (we still, even after 4 years now of brewing, have stuck with our small batch size and occasionally run out). Though we also always feature all the great craft brews from around the state of South Dakota (so you won't go thirsty). In addition, for the wine drinkers, we always offer samples of our Woolly's labeled wines (a very nice red blend as well as our signature white wine). Thanks again for dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here could have earned a higher rating, but our experience was tainted by a bush-league level of service, none of which was our server's fault. I should have run when I learned that the only salad is at a salad bar. Salad bars are for truck stops, and this place pretends toward the throne of fine dining. We ordered an artichoke dip appetizer, which could have been great, but was so over-microwaved, it formed a dry bark on the side, and it came out while we were eating our salads. To make things more awkward, our entrees came out while we still had salad and appetizer on the table! Who the heck is expediting back there?! Answer: no one. The wine was sluggish to arrive, but at least they had a decent wine list (I was scared at the fact that black box is the house wine). On to the best part (though, unfortunately, also with an asterisk to it): I ordered the Walleye entree, and it was excellent! Let's get that right-- beautiful piece of fish, cooked perfectly, blistered cherry tomatoes and artichokes and capers... it was everything I wanted it to be, and I loved it. But... I ordered the smashed red potatoes with that and they were excellent... but... they covered them in BEEF gravy. The gravy, too, was excellent, but what chef serves beef gravy with fish? Everything was weirdly unsophisticated like that, from our waiter who announced that if we wanted anything, tell him now, as he had a 10 minute break coming up, to the girl who clears tables by climbing into every booth with her legs curled up like a 4-yr old to do so, this restaurant seemed to be a bunch of polite and well-meaning teenagers with no one at the helm. For the prices, they need to fix that.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Owner at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Dave, we really appreciate all your kind comments about the food and server. As a family-owned, operated and managed business there are always things we are ready and willing to work on. We appreciate your sharing your suggestions with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Woolly's has style. The cuisine is ambitious, the food tastes great. The service and the ambience are fine. Along with your meal, you have access to a rich and varied salad bar. You can really dine well here.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Owner at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Arn E, all of us at Woolly's appreciate your dining with us and pointing out some of the areas of service and dining we have been focusing on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolly's Grill and Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Woolly's Grill and Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing