We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dipping Sauce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolly's Grill and Cellar

Woolly's Grill and Cellar
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Woolly's Western Grill is located in the Southern Black Hills in Hot Springs, SD, Woolly's is a family owned and operated restaurant, coffee bar, and lounge. We specialize in steaks and grilled foods but also serve up a great variety of fresh dishes! Woolly's caters to just about everyone, from families and couples all the way up to travel busses and special events!
Des Moines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dipping Sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I can't remember what it was called but it's a buffalo burger with a dipping sauce like a french dip. Very good. Sweet potato fries were great and there were plenty to share.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    126
    61
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mackinaw City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this restaurant with a tip from a random store clerk. Great food and fun atmosphere. Very busy home-town restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badlands, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive, with rather mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I guess I wouldn't go out of my way to visit Woolly's Western Grill again. We wanted to sit on the deck, but were told not to because the flies were bad. So we sat in the rather large, pole building type setting and ate our meal. Being from South Dakota, when we go out to eat steak, we expect it to be fabulous, and we are willing to pay a bit more for it.

The steaks were very overdone, and by the time anyone came around to check how things were, others in our group were already finished eating. We talked to the very friendly manager, and she offered us some chocolate cake for dessert. We obliged, only to find out the very expensive dessert was added to our bill. Sorry, but we won't be going back to Woolly's when we visit Hot Springs.
You've got a good idea going, but some things need to be "fixed."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank badlands1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great food, awesome wait staff! Everyone very friendly, courteous, and knew their menu. Helpful with suggestions. Keep up the good work!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Service has improved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After initially being disappointed with the service, things have improved noticeably. Service is much better, especially when visiting during non-peak times. The staff and management seem to be really trying to improve both the service and the menu items. Meals that are consistently good are burgers, steaks, their fish sandwich, and the Mexican dishes. Desserts seem to be getting better. My only gripe is that during most of the year, the restaurant is closed on Sundays and Mondays. Bottom line: good place for a pleasant, unhurried meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Detective101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolly's Grill and Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Woolly's Grill and Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing