We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good”

Woolly's Grill and Cellar
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Woolly's Grill and Cellar is located in the Southern Black Hills in Hot Springs, SD, Woolly's is a family owned and operated restaurant, coffee bar, and lounge. We specialize in steaks and grilled foods but also serve up a great variety of fresh dishes! Woolly's caters to just about everyone, from families and couples all the way up to travel busses and special events!
Reviewed October 12, 2012

There were not too many options for dinner the night we stayed in Hot Springs. The menu at Woolly's was very limited and the service and food were good. The only disapointment was no one seemed to know the prices of the artwork on display near the cashier. I made the mistake of asking and it took forever to get answers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJLIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoSchro, Guest Relations Manager at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thanks for stopping in and having dinner at our restaurant! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the food. Our apologies for it taking a while to get you the prices of the artwork, as I'm sure you've already figured out we sell a lot of great food, but not as much art. Regardless, we apologize for the delay and are grateful for your review of our restaurant. Next time you find yourself in the area please stop in again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 419 of 465 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a great new york strip steak dinner, server seemed quite young but she was very polite and fast. Good price, cooked perfectly. Wife had a meat salad, it was a large portion, in her words, "awesome." Definitely going back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoSchro, Guest Relations Manager at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hey Joe, thanks for reviewing our restaurant. We are very pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed the NY Strip and meat salad and it always makes us happy to hear our guests calling our work "awesome"! We look forward to serving you the next time you are down in the Southern Hills, thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was so pleased to find such a beautiful-inside and out, delicious restaurant, right next door to the Woolly Mammoth Dig. With an eclectic menu, and amazing prices, we were wo excited to find it. Friendly, efficient waiters and owners. We loved dinner so much we came back for breakfast and lunch the next day. The coffee bar is so good, and we loved our Prime Rib dinner. YUM!
Thanks Wooly's for being our home away from home. I just wish we lived closer. I would be there every night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eekfrog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoSchro, Guest Relations Manager at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

It was our pleasure serving you! Thanks for stopping in and having both dinner and breakfast at our restaurant, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your prime rib and our coffee bar! Next time you are in the area you know there is always a table for you. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped in early on a Friday evening in late September and were seated without any wait. The restaurant was bright, comfortable and had a friendly family atmosphere. Our salad was fresh, the steaks (prepared as requested) were pretty good and we especially liked the potatoes.

The restaurant, a cold ale and supper with friendly service hit the spot after a long day of driving. Not exceptional, but a solid, reasonably priced choice for a good meal in Hot Springs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Poppy-GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoSchro, Guest Relations Manager at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thanks for stopping in and taking the time to review our restaurant! We are very happy that our salad, steak and especially potatoes along with a nice ale hit the spot after your long day. Next time you are in the Black Hills area we hope to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here after trip to wind cave it was recommended by one of park rangers and it wasnt disappointing! My husband and I both had steaks which were pretty good and son had chicken tenders that he polished off. Prices were about average for this type of restaurant, its nothing fancy, but definitely worth trying! !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BJLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoSchro, Guest Relations Manager at Woolly's Grill and Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for stopping in and reviewing our restaurant! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your steaks and your son liked his chicken tenders. We hope you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills and your experience at Wind Cave, next time you're in the area we hope to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolly's Grill and Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Woolly's Grill and Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing