We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn
Nearby Hotels
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Hot Springs(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USA Stay Hotel and Suites(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$93
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hills Inn(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
23
9
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
9
4
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 41 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was probably on of the most charming and unique places we have ever stayed. The decor is not your typical hotel fair it is more like a bed and breakfast without the breakfast. We were origanally were suppose to stay in a smaller room but asked to switch our travel date and she upgraded us to a premeire room for the same price. We were stunned by how beautiful the room was. There is a beautiful outdoor space as well . It is in a great location in the middle of town and a great bakery down the street that serves a wonderful breakfast. There was no one to greet us when we arrived which was somewhat unusual. She gave us a lock box code to get in. She left a note welcoming us with a boquet of flowers which was a nice personal touch. I highly recommend this place.. You will not find anything like it in the Mt Rushmore area.

Room Tip: Check the pictures on the website. Not all the rooms have a private bath
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teresab38905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We booked a room in January for us and our two children for a June vacation. June 1, we received an email that advised they had given our room to someone else who had booked for a longer period than us (i.e. we got bumped for more money). But, we were told in the email that the "Good news for you, I have upgraded you to the Guest House...It is really nice, cozy and much more spacious..." Then, on June 13, we were emailed "There has been an error regarding your reservation for the night of 6/25. I only have one room in the hotel available... It is a room with a full size bed..." Not being able to secure any volunteers to sleep on the floor, we are looking for an alternative. It does appear they are refunding our money, but very disappointed in the total lack of ethics and not honoring the committment, leaving us out on the limb just days before we fly north for was to be the first leg of our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank baccusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Like having a private apartment on vacation. My brother & sister in-law were traveling with us and it was perfect! Walked to restaurant down the street & visited Mammoth site next day.

Great coffee shop for breakfast in the Inn.

Room Tip: we stayed in Suite #1.
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmbgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Spacious room with lots of sun. Overlooked courtyard. Well equipped. On second floor, so you must carry luggage up. Good location, very clean, and a nice break from cookie cutter hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The FlatIron was a fun place to stay, it is a few rooms located above a coffee shop which is full of character. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean. Our room had a kitchen area which would have been useful if we were staying more than one night. The beds were comfortable and the entire room was clean. Overall very comfortable for a family of four!

We had dinner in the coffee shop downstairs. The food was good but not great, the coffee was delicious! We would recommend the steak or tuna but found the buffalo burger and salmo to be nothing special. We would have loved to try the breakfast menu but stayed on Saturday night and the restaurant is closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TABrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews