We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We booked a room in January for us and our two children for a June vacation. June 1, we received an email that advised they had given our room to someone else who had booked for a longer period than us (i.e. we got bumped for more money). But, we were told in the email that the "Good news for you, I have upgraded you to the Guest House...It is really nice, cozy and much more spacious..." Then, on June 13, we were emailed "There has been an error regarding your reservation for the night of 6/25. I only have one room in the hotel available... It is a room with a full size bed..." Not being able to secure any volunteers to sleep on the floor, we are looking for an alternative. It does appear they are refunding our money, but very disappointed in the total lack of ethics and not honoring the committment, leaving us out on the limb just days before we fly north for was to be the first leg of our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank baccusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Like having a private apartment on vacation. My brother & sister in-law were traveling with us and it was perfect! Walked to restaurant down the street & visited Mammoth site next day.

Great coffee shop for breakfast in the Inn.

Room Tip: we stayed in Suite #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmbgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Spacious room with lots of sun. Overlooked courtyard. Well equipped. On second floor, so you must carry luggage up. Good location, very clean, and a nice break from cookie cutter hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The FlatIron was a fun place to stay, it is a few rooms located above a coffee shop which is full of character. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean. Our room had a kitchen area which would have been useful if we were staying more than one night. The beds were comfortable and the entire room was clean. Overall very comfortable for a family of four!

We had dinner in the coffee shop downstairs. The food was good but not great, the coffee was delicious! We would recommend the steak or tuna but found the buffalo burger and salmo to be nothing special. We would have loved to try the breakfast menu but stayed on Saturday night and the restaurant is closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TABrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

The Flatiron Guest Suites made for a very pleasant stop in Hot Springs. The staff are very welcoming , helpful and accomodating. They truely treat you as guests. Georgia from reservations told us all we wanted to know about the local attractions. The food served in the restaurant was a very nice surprise....very innovative and tasty dishes. Their white chicken chili was the best. Suites are very tastefully decorated and there is even a TV with a VCR player and some movies perfect for all ages.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

I loved staying at the Flatiron!!! It is so different and unique and has a comfortable, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere!!! The unit we were in felt like a home and I loved that it had a kitchen and we could make our breakfast or pack a lunch before we headed out for the day!! It's convienient having the coffee bar right downstairs and the patio and yard area is beautiful!!! The Flatiron is such a different and special place!! We will always stay here whenever traveling through South Dakota!!!

3  Thank dorydawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

I was really impressed with this place. I stayed there during Rally Weekend. I'm not a biker, but wanted to check out Sturgis. I also saw Mt. Rushmore and Crazy horse. I didn't get a chance to check out the Mammouth Site, but want to go back next summer.

The drive to Hot Springs from Denver was shorter than I had expected. It only took 5 hours door to door.

When I got there to check in, the staff couldn't have been friendlier. After settling in the suite, we headed downstairs to have a drink on the back patio where they serve beer and wine. It was gorgeous. Before long we were talking with some other people, some were tourists and some were locals. While we were originally planning on going out to eat, we opted to stay there for dinner (bbq) because we were enjoying the atmosphere so much. Then the live music started. I don't remember name of the musician, but she was great.

On Saturday, we went downstairs, had a big piece of quiche and a cup of coffee before heading out to Sturgis for the day.

I highly recommend the Flatiron. Its a really cool place, in an otherwise sleepy town.

I posted a photo of the patio area. Its a little out of focus. Behind me is a nice grassy area and a gazebo where the performer played.


.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean_LaFoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
1 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
286 reviews
1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
1.2 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
0.1 mi away
Red Rock River Resort
Red Rock River Resort
#5 of 9 in Hot Springs
108 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn

Address: 745 N River St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-1412
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range: $39 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn is 1 hour away from ALL the best attractions the Black Hills of South Dakota has to offer and is now open year 'round! Make us your home base for your vacation! The FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn is beautifully decorated with it's own unique style for each Suite. The FlatIron was built in 1911 and has been renovated with a unique European Flair. There are 4 Guest Suites in the building each with full kitchens and private baths. We also have 2 Massage Therapists on the main level and a Yoga Studio! Make the FlatIron Inn your Black Hills Destination! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flatiron Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing