We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See A Real Excavation Site!”

Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America's International Treasure. This National Natural Landmark is an internationally renowned indoor working paleontological site/museum. More than 62 Columbian & woolly mammoths have been unearthed, as well as over 85 other species of associated Ice Age fauna. Hands-on activities for children, an educational experience for the entire family. One of the top fossil interpretive sites in North America. Open year-round. Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. New Learning Center opened May 2015, two new 53-seat theaters, universally accessible walkways, new HD Introductory video, New Digital TourGuide system.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“See A Real Excavation Site!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was awesome to actually see the REAL bones the the ground. The story around how this place gathered Mammoths is so interesting. It is a great place to take your family and the extraordinary care the people digging these bones take. It was a very good decision to take a detour and visit this site!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CYang2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
DearCYang2013: Thanks for visiting us and writing your review. We are rather unique in that we leave the bones in-situ (where found) so researchers and visitors alike can appreciate our discovery and research. Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    295
    52
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were based in Custer, SD for the state park, Crazy Horse, and Mount Rushmore. The Mammoth Site is well worth a visit, excellent guided tour and afterwards as much time as you need to re-view the bones and take photos, followed by the museum and gift shop. Very informative. Would be even more so if we'd have gone at a time when the palaeontologists were working. The drive from Custer is only about 40 minutes and goes past Wind Cave NP, Alternatively you can take the slightly slower road through Custer State Park. In either case it's a pretty drive with a fairly high chance of encountering deer and/or Bison on the way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ActiveRetiree64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear ActiveRetiree64: Thanks for visiting us and writing your review. We are just a short distance from many of the attractions in the central Black Hills. It is a beautiful drive and many animals are to be seen. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and shared your views with Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fuel your inner geek!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This site was a little out of the way but so worth it. The tour was very informative and we got to take a ton of pictures. I would recommend this site for kids as well because there is a lot to see even though its all in one room. I would love to go back and see more in years to come.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Sara: Thanks for taking the time to come visit us and write your review. Please do come back as we are continuing to excavate and conduct our research. We have many new exhibits in 2014 and will be celebrating our 40th anniversary of discovery. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stop here if you're passing through!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I was hesitant to go here because a lot of the reviews I read were from people who brought their kids to The Mammoth Site, but my husband and I took a chance and stopped in on our way to Mount Rushmore and I'm so glad we did! We both found it very interesting and worth the money. The tour itself was about 30 minutes and then we spent another 30 minutes walking around. Our tour guide was very sweet and knowledgeable. A great value! I recommend going even if you're an adult without kids!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weebs628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Weebs628: Thanks for taking the time to visit us and write your review. We think we have plenty to please people of all ages, so we are glad your comments confirmed that. We have come a long ways in 40 years since the discovery and have many "mammoth plans" for our future. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Fossil Site/Mammoth History”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice museum/active dig site. I don't see how very young children would like this but adolescents and up should find it fascinating. They really do try to accommodate all questions and have it set up so that you can see all that they are doing. You can learn a lot here. The $9 tour fee seemed reasonable to us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RandAinIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear RandAinIndiana: Thanks for taking the time to visit and write your review. We have a varied audience and have educational programs (summer) for kids 3 & up. We continue to develop educational programs based on our research. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Site of Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Site of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing