We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating”

Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America's International Treasure. This National Natural Landmark is an internationally renowned indoor working paleontological site/museum. More than 62 Columbian & woolly mammoths have been unearthed, as well as over 85 other species of associated Ice Age fauna. Hands-on activities for children, an educational experience for the entire family. One of the top fossil interpretive sites in North America. Open year-round. Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. New Learning Center opened May 2015, two new 53-seat theaters, universally accessible walkways, new HD Introductory video, New Digital TourGuide system.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed August 26, 2013

this guided tour was very informative. My teenagers where even kept interested. They came on this tour to humor their mother, but found it just as fascinating as I did. I could have spent hours there.

Thank cyndi3164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear cyndi3164: Thanks for taking the time to visit and write your review. Yes, it sometimes is hard to figure out what our teenagers may like. We really try to have something for all ages and believe we for the most part have accomplished that. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

976 - 980 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

As others have said, this is a very interesting and visually impressive attraction. It is an actual active dig site where they are unearthing mammoth bones that are not fossilized. The bones have remained where they are found. Upon entering the building, we watched a brief movie, then the guide took us into the dig site room. We went to 3 or 4 stations where she explained what we were looking at -- we used phones to hear every word she was saying. After she finished the narrative tour, we were allowed to go around again and take pictures. There were a number of exhibits and explanatory signs to be read, and then we went into a larger exhibit hall that was very interesting. We all enjoyed this very much (grandparents and 2 grandchildren). It was a great way to spend a rainy morning.

1  Thank dsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear dsarah: Thanks for visiting us and writing your review. We have quite intergenerational visitors (grandparents and grandchildren). We are a great place to go no matter what the weather, and a great place for research no matter what the weather. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Took the family here and enjoyed it but found it to be a little expensive. Cost was about 50 bucks for 4 of us. It is interesting but doesn't take long to go through. Lots of information about what happened and it is a guided tour. The gift store was big and had a lot in it.

Thank migamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear migmouse: Thanks for taking the time to visit us and write your review. We aren't like many other museums, and we don't get federal, state or city funds to operate, so we have to depend on our visitors admissions and related sales. Come see us again, as we continue to change and improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This site was an unexpected treasure. There was so much more here than we had expected. The excavation site and short tour were worth the visit, but the exhibition room with all of the displays was exceptional and well worth the time spent. We only had allowed an hour and a half and wished we had been able to stay longer to find out about the procedures following removal of the bones.

Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Pamela D: Thanks for visiting us and writing your review. Yes, it is hard to decide how much time a person should/could spend at various attractions. We are glad you felt you could have spent more time. Please come back and see us again, as we are always changing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have a degree in archaeology, so I was interested to see what kind of archaeology/paleontology sites we would encounter on our trip through Wyoming. This happened to be one of the first stops we made, and I was not disappointed. There are all kinds of exhibits. Seeing the actual dig site is pretty amazing. They've really moved a lot of dirt over the years. Part of the deal with them using this site was that all of the artifacts and bones have to stay on site, so there is a lot to look at. Gift shop has a lot of books to choose from. The tour is done by mostly young students, but they seemed to have everything down very well. Would highly recommend this for adults and kids.

Thank JasonGlisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear JasonGlisson: Thanks for taking the time to visit us and write your review. Wyoming, Nebraska and South Dakota do have quite a few archeology and paleontological sites worth visiting. We are glad you were impressed with what we have accomplished and how we continue to conduct research and educate the general public. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Site of Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Site of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing