We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this! Amazing site!”

Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America's International Treasure. This National Natural Landmark is an internationally renowned indoor working paleontological site/museum. More than 62 Columbian & woolly mammoths have been unearthed, as well as over 85 other species of associated Ice Age fauna. Hands-on activities for children, an educational experience for the entire family. One of the top fossil interpretive sites in North America. Open year-round. Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. New Learning Center opened May 2015, two new 53-seat theaters, universally accessible walkways, new HD Introductory video, New Digital TourGuide system.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have a degree in archaeology, so I was interested to see what kind of archaeology/paleontology sites we would encounter on our trip through Wyoming. This happened to be one of the first stops we made, and I was not disappointed. There are all kinds of exhibits. Seeing the actual dig site is pretty amazing. They've really moved a lot of dirt over the years. Part of the deal with them using this site was that all of the artifacts and bones have to stay on site, so there is a lot to look at. Gift shop has a lot of books to choose from. The tour is done by mostly young students, but they seemed to have everything down very well. Would highly recommend this for adults and kids.

Thank JasonGlisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear JasonGlisson: Thanks for taking the time to visit us and write your review. Wyoming, Nebraska and South Dakota do have quite a few archeology and paleontological sites worth visiting. We are glad you were impressed with what we have accomplished and how we continue to conduct research and educate the general public. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

948 - 952 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is an excellent family destination and offers so much information about the times of the mammoths in S. Dak. We were there during July and so fortunate to actually see a dig in action. I have been before and find it so interesting to see how much the dig changes from past times. All with just a tiny pick and a tooth brush. Each time I visit I learn something new. All children visiting this area should see this, what a treasure!

1  Thank FortWorthNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear FortWorthNative: Thanks for visiting us again and writing your review. Yes, we do keep changing and offer different activities (summer) for all ages. Thanks also for calling us a treasure!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were looking for places in the Black Hills that we thought our 11 year old grandson would enjoy. We read some of the reviews on TripAdvisor about the Mammoth Site and thought we'd take a chance. What a surprise! This is a fascinating place. Our guide did such a good job explaining how the mammoths ended up in this place, how the excavating is done, etc. We would highly recommend this for anyone interested in learning more about these prehistoric creatures. And kids familiar with "Manny," the wooly mammoth from the "Ice Age" movies, will find this fascinating.

1  Thank Abaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Abaker: Thanks for visiting us and bringing your 11 year old grandson. We are glad you both enjoyed your visit. come see us again, as we keep changing as we continue to excavate and make improvements. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

So very interesting on how this place became what it now is to those who stop to experience this piece of history! From the way it was formed, to the finds still being excavated, such an amazing, thought provoking place!

Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Teri C: Thanks for visiting us and writing your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and found us to be provoking and amazing!! Come see us again, as we continue to excavate and improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

A Hot Spring must, very interesting and actual mammoth digs. Nice gift shop and overall nice experince to see the resting place of these great creatures. Great price for fam of six 40 bucks.

Thank papiof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothtoo, General Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear papiof4: Thanks for visiting s with your family and writing your review. We think we are a must visit also when people are coming to the Black Hills. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Site of Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Site of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing