We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had booked this hotel 6 months ago as part of our road trip. Over the last couple of weeks though I had read lots of 'iffy' reviews and decided to try and move hotel, unfortunately everything seemed to be booked up or a lot more expensive. We decided to stay, check in was great, Jeff was really helpful. The room was nice and big and we had a sofa in front of the tv. However, the hotel overall is in need of a little TLC as it is looking a little sad and not exceptionally clean. The guest laundry facilities were out of order and part of the poolside was coned off as it was unsafe. Free wi-fi was a great addition. Breakfast was ok, it was pleasent enough. It all seemed to be going ok then came check out. We stood at the desk for 25 minutes while they tried to sort out a printer and then proceeded to see to other guests that had 'jumped' the queue. I was a little exasperated and dropped my keys on the desk and told them to check me out in their own time. I feel a little IT and customer relations training may be in order.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATTNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments.I am sorry the guest laundry was out of order. The dryer did break on us and is in repair status. Things at times do break and unfortunatly it did. I am sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    96
    71
    36
    28
See reviews for
155
115
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

An average Best Western, quality caring staff, but no protein for breakfast. An average Best Western, quality caring staff, but no protein for breakfast. An average Best Western, quality caring staff, but no protein for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have, apples, oranges, yogurt, cold cereal and oatmeal, hard boiled eggs. What would you like to have as far a protein? Please advise and I will see if we could accommodate your needs better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
custer, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The weather was nasty and in order to use the heater I had to stand on a chair and reach up to the ceiling over the vanity. and then there was no temp. adjustment. When you put the heat on it ran steady and never turned off, you had to climb up and turn it off until the room got cold and then go through the process again. The alternative was to curl up under the 1 blanket they gave you and shiver.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Perhaps you have to wrong hotel in mind? We don't have ventilation above the vanity because we have air/heating units in the wall. Our heaters have temperature control knobs to turn it up or down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Best Western Sundowner Inn was very good. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room was good with 2 queen beds, desk, chairs, flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. The parking was excellent and the breakfast was very good with adequate choices. The location was good, about 20 minute walk along the river to town. We did not use the Indoor Pool, but it did not look appealing even though the weather was hot. The price for the room was a little high, but to be expected in this popular scenic area. Overall, a very good stay at this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveler65575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Can you provide me with more feedback on the conditon of the pool so that I may address the issue with maintenance? I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This truly is the "dog" of the Best Western chain. The staff was ornery and ignorant. We waited 10 min to check in while 2 staff persons(including manager) helped with 1 other checkin. No courtesy apology.Then there was no hot water for a shower. Then the wifi did not work, even after the ornery staffmember came and tried to fix it. Then there was smoking housekeeping staff within 2 feet of the door. Last, the "exercise room" was equipped with one vintage "fan" stationery bike and an elliptical from the Pleistocene age, that's all. When I tried to use the elliptical for a few (maybe 10) mnutes past the posted closing, I was roundly reprimanded by another lovely staffperson who told me "you can't use this past 10pm because it shakes the whole building and will keep people up." Imagine a structure so sturdy that it shakes with one small woman on an old elliptical? Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chumbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am sorry your stay was not a pleasant one. We were extremely busy that is why there were two of us checking in people when normally there is only one. I was training a new person so I wouldn't call someone whom was training ignorant. We all have to learn something new at a new job. In an effort to help expedite the process I was doing everything I could to help. We stated we would be with you as quick as we could. I am sorry about the staff member smoking outside the door which I don't believe that person worked here because everyone whom worked the night you were here was already inside or not here yet because she didn't come in until 10. and is not a smoker. It's possible it was a guest. However, I am sorry about that person smoking outside the door. The exercise room has hours posted right on the wall and you decided to use it anyway close to closing time which is not a problem. However, at ten minutes past we did politely ask you to leave the exercise room. We have received complaints from past guests when someone is using the exercise equipment at a later part of the evening. Therefore we do have to close it at ten to keep others from being kept awake. We would love to accommodate any guests request if it is reasonable and we don't get complaints from other guests. We would have been happy to have you stay as long as you wished hadn't we had rules for that reason. Perhaps you should re-visit how your treatment and name calling of us whom did nothing but treat you with respect and politeness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel was excellent; rooms were huge and well furnished. People were friendly and all went well. Breakfast area was a little crowded. It would have been nice to have an elevator for luggage but only one flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes, breakfast can get a little crowded if many people come down at the same time and especially in the prime busy season. Sorry it get a little crowded. I am pleased your stay was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Best Western convinced me they are one of the premium mid-priced hotels to stay at. Will in the future search out Best Western occomidations when traveling. We have previously shopped around for price vs amenities but have found Best Western to stand out in both catergories.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I really appreciate the feedback. Sometimes people do forget to match apples to apples when comparing hotels so kudos to you for doing your homework.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
24.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
24.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Address: 737 S 6th St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-2963 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Baymont is conveniently located on U.S. Highway 18/385 in the Black Hills. Our Baymont Inn and Suites Hot Springs, SD, hotel lets you quickly reach the best natural attractions in the area, like Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park and more. We are also less than 1 mile from the largest mammoth research facility on the planet, The Mammoth Site. Wake up to a wonderful free breakfast featuring hot waffles, fruit, danish, cereal and much more. Each of our rooms feature a comfortable bed, microwave, refrigerator, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer, coffee maker and more. Use our free Wi-Fi to fine-tune your travel plans as you go. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Our Baymont Hot Springs, SD is pet friendly. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and truck / RV parking is included. Our hotel is the perfect launching pad for exploring the natural wonders of the Black Hills. Head to the Mammoth Site, a working archeological dig, where you can view fossils of mammoths and other Ice Age creatures. Take a scenic drive along Needles Highway to Custer State Park, just 25 miles away, to watch roaming herds of bison, antelope, mountain goats and elk. En route to the larger-than-life granite sculpture of Mount Rushmore, stop by Crazy Horse Memorial to visit the monumental tribute to the revered Native American leader. View the breathtaking Cascade Falls, only nine miles away, before digging into the subterranean geological wonders at Wind Cave National Park and Jewel Cave National Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hot Springs
Hot Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing