We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not too clean”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not a big fan of this place! Our room wasn't that clean. We used the hide a bed couch and under it there was a bunch of popcorn, there were candy wrappers on the window ledge...just not gone over very well. We went down for some breakfast, and it was almost entirely gone and cleaned up over a half hour before breakfast was supposed to be done. There was a bowl of oranges and a bin with some cereal. No milk even for the cereal. Then we were in our room and housekeeping just opens the door to come in. No knock. We were finishing packing up and in she just flew the door open to come in! We told here we were almost done, and she politely said "Okay", for the record, we still had an hour till checkout. So, I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am really sorry about the the short comings on our part. I have hired quite a few new people here over the summer and they missed the mark on that. Thanks for your comments. Breakfast is always closed at nine thirty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    104
    75
    36
    29
See reviews for
178
120
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kimball, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This review goes out to all people of color and ethnic backrounds that are not WASP. You might get a cold shoulder and not even a hello. This might be a clue that you should turn around and find friendlier accomadations. Use cash at this hotel as my card # was stolen and used the day I arrived. My room was not cleaned and my luggage bag was rifeled through and items are missing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am sorry you feel as though we stole something from you. We have never had anything stolen from here reported to us by a guest or employee as long as I have been here. I have been here for almost two years. I am not going to stoop to an unprofessional level and say things about yourself as you did myself or my staff. I spoke to you after you accused my housekeepers, my desk clerks, and myself of stealing something from your bags and or your credit card. Not to say that someone or sometime something could not happen, people are people and you can't always prevent stolen items. You could have stored you items here in our safe if your were concerned about them. Free of charge. Many people leave expensive items at home for safe keeping. However my desk clerks are the only ones on duty so it is impossible for them to have taken the items between the times you say they would have. My housekeepers have turned in I-pads, smart phones, camera's and other items that were worth much more. I myself mailed the items back to the guest. I don't steal and resent the fact that you accused me of stealing from you. I wish you luck in finding some resolution to the theft. Perhaps you found the missing item that you claimed was stolen in your items upon your return and I hope you called the credit card compamy and police about your card and found the thief whom took the items as I suggested to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hot Springs is an inexpensive choice for an overnight when touring the Black Hills. You get what you pay for though, as this two story Best Western (no elevator) has definitely seen better days. It's OK for one night -- but when we thought we might get stranded here for a second night (due to thunderstorms not mixing well with our motorcycle) -- we were dreading it. It's clean enough. The beds are comfortable-ish. The bathroom is barely bigger then a closet. Wi-fi is good once you get the correct password. TV is fine. The walls are thin, so pack your ear plugs. We had no problems with the staff: Arlene (the afternoon clerk) kindly managed our early check-in request. The evening clerk (who others have complained about) was fine once we gave her a little love. The early AM clerk was very helpful when we locked ourselves out. We left by 6 AM to beat the rain and crowds to Rushmore, a great strategy, as we were one of the first vehicles to arrive. We won't stay here again but will try some other town (maybe Spearfish?) next time.

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms have been converted from smoking to non-smoking, so I recommend avoiding those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Substrata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left of Center
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found many black hairs in the shower (And many long black hairs and my husband has no hair, and he was the first one to use the shower ) and some broken crayons. And a leftover ring. It's like it was never touched after someone left. Close to attractions and a few places to eat. Just know most dining options close early. ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel76bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am so sorry about the hair in the tub. I have had some new staff in the housekeeping department. I have re-trianed the staff on cleanliness and held a meeting with all housekeepers to prevent this in the future. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have never written a review before but found the attitude of the front desk person "Sandy" and others so outrageously bad that I felt compelled to write.
When my room key did not work, I asked Sandy to reprogram the key. She went into a huff and said that the problem was mine and she did not want to reprogram the key unless my room mate was with me. I said my room mate was unavailable and I needed to get into my room. She huffed and puffed and reprogramed my key. When I politely commented that I would not stay at the facility again due to her attitude, she said "good".
When I got into my room there were no towels, so I called down to the front desk to get some. Someone came up with towels, knocked on the door and said "here are the towels for your room" in a very kurt way with, with no apology, The person acted as if I was putting them out by asking for towels.
I recommend that you do not stay at this facility due to the defective key system and the front desk's attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gar10821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I would like to apologize for the staff rudeness and lack of service. I have taken action against this person for her lack of service and poor attitude. Thank you for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had trouble with the password they gave me to log onto my computer, as I went downstairs to ask for assistance, she finally told me it was the wrong password and gave me another key envelope and left.
The morning clerk was fine as I checked out as he was friendly. The older female clerk needs to find another job not dealing with people.
The continental breakfast was normal, but not enough seating, so sat outside in the nice weather. The tv was ok, just wish it was on an open table so you could move it to watch as you are on the desk working. I've had sliding shelves that made it so you could pull out the TVs.
Next stay in Hot Springs, I'll try another motel, as this was a lot of money for no more than motel 6.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandew16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
On behalf of our team i would like to apologize for the rude night clerk. I appreciate your feedback. I will take your comments and re-train my staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Dingy, dark, uninviting. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. Bathrooms were noisy and bright. Air conditioning was loud. Breakfast was a zoo with people all over the place and the staff was disorganized and slow. Check-in was unfriendly and slow. When we checked out, the desk person apologized for the bed saying many of the customers were complaining about the same thing. (I can't understand all the raving reviews....was this the same hotel?)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If you could please give me more information on your stay so that I may address the issues. I attempted to look at your reservation and we do not have anyone under your name. Please contact me so that I may address your concerns. Thank you for your comments.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#7 of 9 in Hot Springs
95 reviews
24.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Address: 737 S 6th St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-2963 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Baymont is conveniently located on U.S. Highway 18/385 in the Black Hills. Our Baymont Inn and Suites Hot Springs, SD, hotel lets you quickly reach the best natural attractions in the area, like Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park and more. We are also less than 1 mile from the largest mammoth research facility on the planet, The Mammoth Site. Wake up to a wonderful free breakfast featuring hot waffles, fruit, danish, cereal and much more. Each of our rooms feature a comfortable bed, microwave, refrigerator, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer, coffee maker and more. Use our free Wi-Fi to fine-tune your travel plans as you go. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Our Baymont Hot Springs, SD is pet friendly. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and truck / RV parking is included. Our hotel is the perfect launching pad for exploring the natural wonders of the Black Hills. Head to the Mammoth Site, a working archeological dig, where you can view fossils of mammoths and other Ice Age creatures. Take a scenic drive along Needles Highway to Custer State Park, just 25 miles away, to watch roaming herds of bison, antelope, mountain goats and elk. En route to the larger-than-life granite sculpture of Mount Rushmore, stop by Crazy Horse Memorial to visit the monumental tribute to the revered Native American leader. View the breathtaking Cascade Falls, only nine miles away, before digging into the subterranean geological wonders at Wind Cave National Park and Jewel Cave National Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hot Springs
Hot Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing