We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you need to believe what you read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sometimes you need to believe what you read”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I made reservations by phone on June 22, 2012 directly to this hotel. I requested and received a fax confirmation from the same person I spoke to at the hotel. I informed him that we would be arriving late in the day. When I get to the hotel with my tired family, after checking in and going to the room, the room was not what I ordered on the phone. The older woman at the front deck, check my faxed confirmation, and stated, the room you checked into matches the room you were given. I stated, “this is not what I wanted” and I called to get what I wanted. She then proceeded to say they were “full otherwise”. She also stated that the employee who made the reservation “would be fired for the mistake”, which I doubted when she said it. A poor attempt to make me feel better. Then she did nothing to help us find another room elsewhere in town. My wife & I looked up on the map, for other places to stay. Not easy, two days before July 4. I have stayed at Best Western before and received good value for the money. This time, they caused the mistake, then did not help us to find a room elsewhere. She just stood there looking dumb and mad at us for taking her time with this problem. We found a place on our own, no thanks to her. I had read a posting on tripadvisor.com of a similar experience with the front desk help. I should have believed it.

Room Tip: Always call and get written confirmation. Have a backup plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I am sorry your expectations were not met. I would like some details on your stay so that I may ensure it does not happen in the future. If you would please contact me with the details of your stay, I will gladly look into the issue and make sure future guests expectations are met. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    104
    75
    36
    29
See reviews for
178
120
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Let me begin by first saying that I travel a lot for business, and I go all around the country. As a result, I am prone to staying at various hotels. All of them are usually the same, get in, get out, and you are about 100 bucks down. With all this being said, let me tell you that this hotel is not just one of those places.

For this specific trip, it was not for business. I took the family down to see the sites (and trust me, there are many) for a short, 3 day vacation. Upon entering the Hot Springs area, I was a little hesitant as to which hotel I should go to. When they weren't over priced, they were low quality. When the were lacking in quality, the prices were out of budget. The prices seemed fair, and the reception was very welcoming and helpful. We went into our rooms, and it was perhaps one of the most well kept establishments I have been to yet.

In addition to all of this, the privacy was spectacular, and the breakfast in the morning was top notch. The employees catered to every small thing we wanted, and my entire family had a fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We visit Hot Springs every couple of months. Best Western is our most favourite place to stay. We tried couple of others before, it didn't worked. Here employees are more professional, rooms are clean, excelent breakfast, best wi-fi and the pool is unbelieveable. We recomand any one to visit and stay in this fantastic place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time in reviewing our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you back again in the near future. We look forward to makeing you stay as wonderful as your first stay. Once again, thank you for your review. Have a great day.



Thank You,
Deanna Elmquist
General Manger
Best Western Sundowner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very friendly. My room was clean and neat and I really enjoyed the quality of the free breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: The pool was very popular. I got in late and was tired, o I appreciated my room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We here at Best Western Sundowner Inn would like to thank you for your review of our location. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We would love to have you back again in the near future. Please come again soon and once again thank you for your review.



Deanna Elmquist
General Manager
Best Western Sundowner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My family always wanted to visit the Mt. Rushmore and this is the closest best hotel we found coming from Denver. This is a very clean and secure hotel with good and friendly staffs. My kids really like the swimming pool and hot tub and I liked the exercise room. One of the hotel employees made waffles for all of us, I never seen that before in any other hotels.

Room Tip: Better Wifi connections in 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Although this little town may be your only option on a long day, keep driving! This was awful. The food in the a.m. was the best part. Other than that, it was dirty, the carpet was gross, and the room smelled like smoke. Ugh Ugh Ugh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vichig562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello,
I apologize for not meeting your expectations while you were staying here. Please let me know what room/ and or rooms were dirty. I would like to rectify that immediatly. I would also like to invite you back to stay here free of charge on your next visit so that our staff can exceed your expectations on a future visit. I once again offer my sincere apologies that your stay here at Best Western was not wonderful and would like to be given the oppotunity to make it wonderful on your next stay.


Thank You,
Deanna Elmquist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here during a family trip to SD. The hotel is very clean! Was impressed with how clean the rooms and bathrooms were. The pool was kept clean, and the hot tub was awesome! Nice place to relax after a day of sight-seeing!
The staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was great! Definitely will return when visiting the area again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britishish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey regarding our property. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western in Hot Springs. We hope that you come again soon. We would love to have you back.


Thank you,
Deanna Elmquist
General Manager
Best Western Sundowner Inn
Hot Springs, South Dakota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#7 of 9 in Hot Springs
95 reviews
24.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Address: 737 S 6th St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-2963 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Baymont is conveniently located on U.S. Highway 18/385 in the Black Hills. Our Baymont Inn and Suites Hot Springs, SD, hotel lets you quickly reach the best natural attractions in the area, like Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park and more. We are also less than 1 mile from the largest mammoth research facility on the planet, The Mammoth Site. Wake up to a wonderful free breakfast featuring hot waffles, fruit, danish, cereal and much more. Each of our rooms feature a comfortable bed, microwave, refrigerator, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer, coffee maker and more. Use our free Wi-Fi to fine-tune your travel plans as you go. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Our Baymont Hot Springs, SD is pet friendly. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and truck / RV parking is included. Our hotel is the perfect launching pad for exploring the natural wonders of the Black Hills. Head to the Mammoth Site, a working archeological dig, where you can view fossils of mammoths and other Ice Age creatures. Take a scenic drive along Needles Highway to Custer State Park, just 25 miles away, to watch roaming herds of bison, antelope, mountain goats and elk. En route to the larger-than-life granite sculpture of Mount Rushmore, stop by Crazy Horse Memorial to visit the monumental tribute to the revered Native American leader. View the breathtaking Cascade Falls, only nine miles away, before digging into the subterranean geological wonders at Wind Cave National Park and Jewel Cave National Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hot Springs
Hot Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing