We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
51
101
104
37
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
101
104
37
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mammoth site breakfast room eggo waffles a wyndham rewards member hard boiled eggs rapid city booked online national park short drive mini fridge would stay again mount rushmore south dakota crazy horse small town evans plunge motel
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 330 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Made reservations here after reading other reviews. Super 8 website indicates pet-friendly. Booked 2 nights, but upon arrival was told only some rooms were considered suitable for pets.
After much suffling of rooms, they found us one. Bathroom not cleaned up. Carpeting torn in the hallway. Rooms are TINY and bathroom area is only large enough for one person to be in. Breakfast offerings were almost non-existent. The women manning the desk were friendly, but they appear to also be the ones who take care of breakfast and cleaning the rooms. This facility doesn't equal others we've stayed at for almost the same price we paid here. Will not go back. No pool. Good restaurant very close. Mammoth Dig close and very worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The room was outdated but the staff were very nice. The hotel is located right next to a great little restaurant and the mammoth site. The breakfast was terrible. There were two types of cereal, bread, and plain circle donuts. The hotel is cheap compared to some of the surrounding areas especially near the black hills if you are on a budget. However, once we got to the black hills there were a lot of hotels that had cheap rates. Those hotels hadn't been on the travel sites but once we got there all the brochures had coupons for other hotels. We could have stayed somewhere closer to Mt. Rushmore for cheaper so make sure you read travel brochures!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WccAw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This Super 8 is about what you would expect from the chain. Clean basic room, slightly outdated. The bed was very comfortable and we did get a good night's rest. Staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked questions about local and Black Hills attractions. The breakfast was as expected...juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and cream cheese. Not especially imaginative, but adequate. The price was the lowest I found in Hot Springs at this time of year, so all in all it was an OK stay. Stayed one night. We did find the Mammoth archealogy site next door quite interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This isn't a bad place but average. It has a very friendly staff but the breakfast is a joke (almost nothing on it). The rooms are ok and not very well light and a little out dated. I really don't think this motel is worth the nightly rate that they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff. The continental breakfast was skimpy compared to other Super 8 motels.
The location is excellent for touring most of the attractions in the area. I stayed two nights, made a loop each day and saw Mt. Rushmore, Needles Highway, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Mountain and Wind Cave. The room rates are less than most tourist areas. Don't forget visiting the famous Natural Hot Springs healing waters pool close by in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews