We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relive a civil war battle”

Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Republic
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Willows, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relive a civil war battle”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to be able to use the only narrative cd for the driving tour. The drive was free for us because we have a National Parks pass purchased for $10 last month. I liked the way we could drive the entire 5 mile drive or walk on as many trails as we wanted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    69
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long but educational walking tour”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Not sure if bicycles are allowed but that may be a better way to get around this Large area of historic buildings and places. This is pretty much an all morning or afternoon event, and you need to make sure you take enough supplies to accommodate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blackstarryskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
Level Contributor
237 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really nice tour”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Before stopping, I didn't know much about this battle. In history you learn more about the battles fought with Lee, Grant or Sherman. It was a very informative tour. You don't have all the spectacular monuments that are found at some of the larger battlefield sites, but what is there is very interesting, particularly the Ray home & springhouse, which are the original buildings that were there at the time. The loop road isn't really long and only has 8 stops, but some stops have hiking trails off of the parking lot if you want to spend additional time & want more information. We also saw many walkers, runners & bikers, so it must also be a popular place for the locals.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JStarkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Info about the early Civil War”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wilson's Creek was the location of the second major battle in the Civil War. The first union general to be killed in action during the civil war was killed here. The park is set up for a brief 5 mile loop road tour with 8 stops and access to narratives via a cell phone call, or a more in depth visit by hiking any where in the park. A farm house (Ray House) built in 1851 that was used as a field hospital is the only building from 1861 that remains standing in the area of the battle. Volunteer docents are often manning several stations in the summer to explain what life was like in 1861 for the soldiers and families living in the area. The visitors center has a 25 minute video available on demand but the museum is being renovated and not open to the public.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoy this park 3-4 times each month. We run, walk and bike the 5 mile route. We see lots of animals regularly including deer, turkey's, armadillos. I spotted a cougar once! A great way to spend a sunny day picnicking or learning about the Civil War.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JezzyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilson's Creek National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Wilson's Creek National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing