We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Hotel Still Making History”
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

If you are seeking an authentic historic experience you will not find it at the Cincinnatian, but if you would like a hotel that combines a long history and convenient downtown location with deluxe recently renovated rooms and outstanding service, then this is the place.

The building was built in the 1880s, but the interiors are largely modernized. Every amenity is available, from excellent lighting and technology to some of the best showers anywhere. The bar and restaurant provide attentive service and good food, and room service was courteous, precise in fulfilling orders, and spot on time.

Most impressive in this hotel however is the service, from the front door through the entire experience. Attentiveness and courtesy prevailed. A concierge sits in the lobby adjacent to registration all the time, providing information and ensuring that guests are not kept waiting. It was almost impossible to open a door yourself, as the bell staff was always ahead of you to do it. A bowl of fresh fruit was always available, complimentary, and morning coffee and tea were the same. When there was a delay with rooms not ready at the promised time, we were kept informed on the progress. A box of chocolates was sent up minutes after we obtained the room with regrets for the delay.

The hotel is well located for downtown shopping and dining. There is a selection of first rate restaurants in the downtown area. Cincinnati is an interesting city, and the Cincinnatian provides a top notch experience with highly attentive service in an historic setting.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 032611s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Cincinnatian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 882 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in town for my husband to run the Flying Pig Marathon. We chose it based on the fact that it was the first hotel we found in our search that allowed a one night stay for the weekend as opposed to both Friday and Saturday night. The hotel was only a block from the fitness expo and a great location for getting to the start and finish of the race.

I can’t say enough great things about the staff -- incredibly friendly at check-in. The concierge was full of information about the weekend events, gave us a map and later helped me with instructions to get around as a spectator. They granted us a 1:00pm checkout at no charge saying it was no problem at all. We were delayed getting back to the hotel after the race and that was no problem as well. We didn’t check out until about 1:45.

We were upgraded to a junior suite, room 315. The room was beautiful, fully remodeled but it maintained that historic charm. The bath was very nice as well with a large stall shower and modern shower heads, and a deep bath tub complete with a small flat screen television. The room was spotless, linens new and bed comfortable. There was a small safe in the closet. The flat screen tv lowered electronically into the dresser as well. The rooms still operate by metal key so you will be carrying keys around. Not a big deal, but worth noting, no electronic keycards. We received turn down service, or at least the cookies that come with it because we were in the room and let them know we didn’t need anything.

After all these good things to say there is one major complaint that is more of a minor warning than anything. When we finally went to bed and shut off all the lights we realized there was a massive spotlight right outside the windows. There were darkening blinds on the windows, but no drapes. Gaps between the windows and the blinds let in so much light. I literally could have read in bed. Some drapes really need to be installed to be pulled across the windows.

There was also loud piano music just below the balcony by the elevators near our room. Pleasant, but since we went to bed at 9pm for the marathon the next morning, not the best for us. Fortunately it ended about 10 or 10:30.

With the excellent service we received and the beautiful rooms I would not hesitate at all to stay here again. We likely will again next year for the race. I will just be sure to pack my sleeping mask and earplugs next time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel is older, but that does not diminish the care that they give it. It is so very, very clean throughout the entire hotel. I even looked under the bed and yes it was clean too. The desk personnel were very nice and extremely helpful in getting me directions to get around the city. Their restaurant, The Palace had awesome food, wonderful service, but due to price, it is a treat not somewhere you probably want to eat more than once during your stay (it is very comprable to the Hilton menu prices though). Clean surroundings, chef created fresh and some organic foods, respectful, nice, helpful staff equals great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4CEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

After arriving at this hotel it was easy to see that the four and one half star rating that was on the online booking service was an exaggeration. The decor looked outdated rather than antique. The quality of the room was awful. The furniture was in bad shape and the room in desperate need of a makeover. One high point was the bar area and the friendly bar staff. However drinks were overpriced and a hotel employee rudely scolded us and several other bar patrons for being too loud. I could not believe this as we were at a bar and it was well before midnight. If you like to stay up past ten o'clock and are looking for well-kept rooms this is not the place for you. My stay at the Cincinnatian soured my feeling toward the city of Cincinnati and I do not plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiscob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We used the Cincinnatian as our family hotel on the event of my mother's death and burial. Family members came from many different directions and all enjoyed their stay. The food was very, very good. The staff was professional and welcoming. I was most impressed with the amazing art work all over the hotel. It was helpful to have a positive hotel experience at such a difficult time for my family.
Thank you, Cincinnatian

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The hotel staff was very courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank BettyW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just returned from a two-night stay at The Cincinnatian. I was in town with colleagues for a conference -- some stayed at the bigger "conference approved" hotel, but we stayed at The Cincinnatian. We DEFINITELY got the better deal -- our Business Queen rooms were nicer, more reasonably priced and only a block farther away from the Convention Center. Plus, we were right across the street from Fountain Square and it's nightlife and restaurants.

The Cincinnatian's amenities, including the garden tubs and bathrobes in our rooms, had our friends in awe. We didn't have to wait in line for hours and hours to check in and check out, service was great and the staff was friendly -- what more could you ask for? Thanks, Cincinnatian -- I'll be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,108 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,327 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Millennium Cincinnati
Millennium Cincinnati
#37 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $173 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing