We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had a huge room. There was the bedroom with a king size bed, a sitting room and there was a dining table.
Things are a little dated including the bathroom.
On the whole, the experience was good. Only other item of note was that the room overlooked the inner bar/restaurant area rather than the outside. This meant it was a little noisy when there were people in the bar. The rendition of Happy Birthday was the most welcome thing at midnight after a long day.
However, would definitely stay again if I was back in Cincinnati.
Breakfast, off a menu, was good and reasonably priced for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoofTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. The next time you travel with us we would be happy to show you a room that faces the exterior of the hotel. That way you can experience that side as well. Some people prefer the interior as many have balconies over looking the atrium and its a great way to listen to the jazz band. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    260
    120
    59
    41
See reviews for
91
407
48
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Cincinnatian is an absolutely wonderful place to stay if you are looking to stay in the downtown Cincinnati area! My husband, two children, and I stayed here for a couple nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is both beautiful and historic! Each and every staff member were very welcoming and amazingly kind! We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant each morning and were never disappointed! Every item that we tried on the menu was just delicious! The large, clean rooms, beautiful hotel, convenient location, delicious restaurant, and top-notch customer service made our stay an excellent experience! We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
What a wonderful review. I am so glad your family had a nice stay with us. We truly hope you all can come back for another visit!! I will pass on your kind words to the staff of the hotel and restaurant!

Thank you!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I love the historic nature of the hotel. If you get a chance take the stairs for a mini trip back in time. Our room was huge. In addition to our king-size bed, we had a comfy sofa and chair. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, but the bathroom was tired...it really could stand to be updated. The tile (not historic) was cracked and dingy looking, but as I mentioned it was clean, and we had plenty of hot water. We had 2 sinks which is a real plus, but the one sink's countertop had been burned...looked like someone was careless with a flat iron. If the bathroom had been nicer I would have given the hotel 5 stars. It took me a couple mornings to figure this out, but there is no coffee in your room - but if you go down to the lobby they have very nice fresh brewed coffee with to-go cups set out for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please be sure to tell them you have stayed before and that you would like a room with one of the newer bathrooms. We would love for you to experience that.
Also- if you don't want to come to the lobby for the coffee, feel free to call the bellman and he would be happy to bring a warm cup to you!

See you soon I hope!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, walking distance to so many different places, and a superb staff. The charm of a historic hotel, but the amenities of an updated bathroom and amenities. Lovely lobby and bar area to enjoy in the evenings. We will definitely be visiting again as soon as we can!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrush16848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Yay! Thank you so much for your kind words!!!! I hope you have a chance to return on one of our special event nights. For Example: tonight is our Third Thursday dining event. We have a fun blue grass band serenading our diners!!! Come back for another fun visit!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Pros
- Friendly service
- Great modern room with great big shower, nice confy bed, new tv, IPhone docking station (IHome), free WiFi
- Awesome location
- Great old school feel

Cons
- Old, dingy carpet in hallways
- No dedicated parking garage; nor did they validate

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you got to try one of our newer rooms. Our hallways are the next stop on the renovation train. These hallways have seen a lot of people in the last 132 years. :)

Thank you again.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

So the Cincinnatian might look like a stuffy hotel on paper BUT. I checked in, and there was a dog behind the counter. I asked my host about the puppy who smiled and said the dog belonged to a guest and was hanging out while the guest was taking a nap. Already, I loved it. The hotel is part of history in Cinci, and that's a cool feature. The rooms have personality, and it feels unique and different. THE BIGGEST difference between this hotel and a chain down the street is the people working. They are focused on the guest experience, but they also have fun in their jobs. I heard sincere laughter and saw warm smiles. Housekeeping brought me a cookie when they turned down my sheets. I had to go to work SO early, and the entire staff really cared enough to get me there ON TIME, after a restful sleep. What a magical relaxing place!

Room Tip: Every room is awesome -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
This Review warms my heart!!! Thank you so much. Our service is very important to us and we truly appreciate your kind words. We very much look forward to your return!!

Thank you again.
Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at this hotel. While the lobby and corridors are a bit dreary and dated, we had a fantastic room with two very comfortable queen beds , a wonderful and roomy living room, and a great bath complete with jacuzzi style tub. The room also had a very nice balcony overlooking the interior corridor. ... Although we did get mooned by another guest who didn't close his blinds while dressing !! Room service was quick , affordable , and prepared a yummy breakfast for four all for under. $60. The gym is a bit dated but surprisingly very very well equipped. The staff was extremely attentive including the bellhop Adam. that provided a free and last minute shoe shine before we headed out for dinner. Overall great stay and we look forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jadams5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!!! I am glad to see the changes we started making. I will be sharing your kind comments with Adam our bellman!
Thank you again.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,252 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing