We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GRAND OLD HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
925 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“GRAND OLD HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Cincinnatian is centrally located in downtown Cincinnati. We stayed there while attending a conference at the Duke Energy Center.

The hotel originally opened in 1882 and is designated an historic hotel. It has been remodeled and now contains over 140 suites. Each suite is quite large, quiet and comfortable.

The hotel offers free car service to close by venues and provides a shuttle to the airport and other further venues for a fee.

Service is excellent at the hotel. There are shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    219
    103
    54
    36
See reviews for
79
352
44
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

When traveling I normally stay at an upscale major hotel. Spoiled by their service and accommodations, it was hard for me to make the decision to stay at a Boutique Hotel. Since I was looking for a special night out the idea of staying at a Boutique Hotel was the perfect solution. So, we went online and found The Cincinnatian Hotel. At over 130 years old and after reviewing some pics of the rooms, I didn't expect anything more than and expensive night out. When we drove up to the Valet area, we were immediately greeted with a warm smile, and welcoming service. We weren't rushed to give up the keys to the car and run inside. The Valet took their time, answered a few questions, and took our luggage into the lobby. As we entered the lobby I got an immediate feel of familiarity. The original staircase, and antique motif made me feel right at home. The front desk clerk was even more pleasant and professional showing pride in his work and the place in which he works. We were handed an actual brass room key which only added to the charm and walked to the elevator then directed to our room. As we walked down the short hall you could hear a slight creak coming from the floors. And the housekeeper passing us by with her red wagon treated us as if we had lived there. So friendly. We walked into the room and it was everything I thought it would be and more. Not as drab as the online picture made it to be. A large King bed, a tray of snacks, a wooden work desk, and an armoire with a tv inside. The bathroom was large with a separate vanity area, and a second one inside the water room where the oversized bathtub was. The room was luxurious but, not overdone. We headed downstairs to The Cricket Lounge and grabbed the most mouthwatering burger and fries. The bartender was friendly and the atmosphere remained very inviting. Once we finished our meal we headed back upstairs to get ready for the concert. When we called for our car, the front desk clerk recommended we use their complimentary London Taxi service. I thought...that was so cool. We were able to hop right in the taxi and head to our destination with not wait. The driver handed us his card and said to call for a ride back or anywhere in the city we needed to go. Now that's great!! We left the concert about 11pm, called the driver, and asked for dining recommendation. He was very knowledgeable of the area and drove us to the restaurant of our choice. We decided to walk back to the hotel since it was just down the street and was surprised to find chocolate chip cookies and milk waiting for us with the turndown service. What a great way to end the night. With lots of pillows, a down comforter and the great mattress I woke up having a good nights sleep. We proceeded to check out with the same quality service we got when we arrived. Looking for old charm and superior service?...Stop by The Cincinnatian....a true city treasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here one night for a special occasion birthday celebration and had a fabulous stay. Parked at a nearby lot for half the price of the valet parking at the hotel. The lobby was beautiful. The staff were very helpful. We were upgraded to a king room upon arrival and had a lovely, big room that was beautiful and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the supplied bathrobes were an extra special treat! The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Great American Ballpark. We got delicious room service breakfast. Check out was easy. One very, very small problem was that the ice bucket was too small for us to put our bottle of champagne in. We had to use the bathroom trash can!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyLynKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
SallyLynKY- Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday stay with us. We do appreciate our guest’s comments.
In the future please do not hesitate to call with any issues you have. We do our best to find a solution to the problem. I know our Room Service or Front Desk staff would have been happy to loan you a larger ice bucket while you were with us. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were given a choice of places to stay by Horseshoe Casino and this is the one we picked. The hotel is much fancier than what we are used to. The casino shuttle dropped us at the front door. There was a doorman outside and another gentleman greeting us in the lobby. Since we used the casino shuttle we did not use the valet. The staff was very friendly and greeted us as we came in. Our room had windows that overlooked the atrium which was very noisy all night. It was interesting to look at the old stairs and imagine what it was like before elevators. We did not eat at this hotel, so I cannot review that. The room was very large and the bathroom was large. You can tell the hotel is old because the door frame was not square. Everyone was very friendly and we felt like royalty. We did not go outside the hotel, so I cannot talk about food or shopping. Since the casino paid for our room, I do not know about the price for the night.

Room Tip: The room had a window that overlooked the atrium which was noisy from people talking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TN2ndHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed this beautiful old gem. The building was full of great old character. It was kept very clean. The location is perfect for walking around the city. The staff was very helpfull and polite. The hotel restaurant had great breakfeasts, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

In town for our Anniversary and some friends put us up in the Cincinnatian so I can not comment on price but or room was beautiful!! Very modern tile floors plush rugs cozy bed... But the bathroom blew my mind sleek black tile floors, a radio, tv a jetted soaking tub.. That drys itself when you are done.. 4 shower head in the large shower.. Great bath products and robes..I spent more time there in the room!
2 small issues was that the shower door was closed but the bathroom almost flooded.. And we were street side and heard a lot of traffic noise.. But I was extremely satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

On our first trip to Cincinnati we stayed here for a couple of nights. Did not know too much about the city but this hotel was very easy to get to and located in the downtown area. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Valet parking and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. Rooms are in the process of being renovated but we had a very nice room with hardwood floors and large walk in showers. Very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbvtfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#3 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing