We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location in the center of Cincinnati, near Fountain Square and many good restaurants. Excellent and professional staff. One of the nicer hotels in town and one with more charm than the others. A good alternative to the big chain hotels.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    224
    104
    54
    38
See reviews for
80
361
44
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night over for the Flying Pig marathon. Left the car with the valet, and no issues with that. Excellent bell service. The bellman let us walk around the room for a minute and made sure we liked the room and there wouldn't be any problems before we left. Location is nice for fountain square and the rest of downtown. I think the hotel was last renovated in the 1980's and the decor shows. It has been maintained well, though. Overall a very nice experience. I didn't use any of the restaurants or bars in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

If you visit downtown Cincy and want a very nice luxurious experience then this is the place! The restaurants have great food, the service was excellent and the rooms were spacious and very clean! We ordered room service and it was prompt and delicious, we also had the breakfast buffet and dinner there was really good too! It's within walking distance of just about anything surrounding downtown also. The only downside was the parking was getting renovated so it ended up being 28$ a night but no complaints here...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the one night stay here for the Flying Pig run and Cinco De Mayo celebration. The location was wonderful, but depending on how many times you need to get to your car, you may end up shelling out quite a bit in tips. Bring comfortable walking shoes, and stay local here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a 4 or 5 star hotel and the Palace restaurant is first class. If you stay there be sure and also visit the corner of 12th and Vine to see a real urban rebirth. This hotel is not lke a chain hotel at all. They have a London Taxi at you command and it is 2 minute nice walk to fountain Square and a 10 minutes nice stroll to the Red's Ball Park and the Banks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffhallusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Cincinnati. We wanted a hotel close to the Great American Ballpark and we could not have found a better hotel. We travel to different cities to catch baseball games and The Cincinnatian Hotel is probably the nicest hotel we've stayed in. The guest rooms, modern in design, were just gorgeous. The room had a 'home feel' vs. a 'hotel feel' with all of its decor. My husband especially liked the ceiling fan. However, it was the bathroom that received the most oohs and ahhs from the family. It had a huge rainfall shower (first time my kids have ever begged to take a shower on vacation), jetted tube, heated floors and huge vanity. The bathroom was almost as big as the guestroom. Oh, and it had a TV in the bathroom. The kids did not want to leave. Big bathrooms are a huge plus for us when traveling with kids!

We were only at the hotel for one night, but we did have breakfast in the restaurant. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Another feature about the hotel that I loved was the room key. It was an actual key vs. a card. It's not something you see very often and it just made the stay seem more unique.

The hotel was a perfect location for our family. We could walk to the ballpark and several restaurants and shops were located nearby. We would absoulutely stay here again if our travels bring us back to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed the weekend of April 27, attending the Il Divo concert at the Horseshoe Casino.

Check-in at arrival time was simple and quick. We called earlier to coordinate dining and shuttle service. Concierge was very helpful. You receive an actual brass key when you check in, which reinforces the branding of this being a classic hotel in Cincinnati. Everything about our experience was top of the line.

Dining and cocktails at the Cricket Lounge was very enjoyable. Great Happy Hour, and live jazz band on the weekend.

Our room was exceptional! Nice dressing room attached, but separated from the bathroom. large soaking tub is hard to resist. Comfortable seating, ironing board and iron, and cookies with turn down service enhanced our stay.

My compliments to Matt! The hotel has an old English Taxi that it uses for shuttle service. Matt was fast and friendly, and offered great recommendations. I don't know how he managed to pick us up so fast after the concert.

From the front desk, bartender, concierge, bell man, valet, and everyone else. You can tell that this hotel has invested significantly in outstanding service. This is quite an accomplishment.

The hotel is close to Fountain Square, and other fine restaurants and bars.

My only minor quibble is that the mattress was a bit firm, but the pillows were so comfortable.

We stumbled upon this hotel by accident on Priceline. Of the three 4 star hotels downtown, this one was the most expensive, so I never really considered it. I was actually trying for 21c. We'll definitely make a point of coming back to this hotel, though. Each time I called the hotel I was greeted with a warm and friendly person on the other line. I've not had that experience at 21c.

I highly recommend the Cincinnatian Hotel for it's great service. They spoil you!

Oh, I forgot to mention that I also ran into Il Divo in the lobby the next morning. If the hotel is good enough for Il Divo, then it must be good, right?!

Room Tip: I'm told each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing