We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great room - nice downtown hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great room - nice downtown hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

If your staying in downtown Cincinnati, this hotel would be tough to beat. Awesome rooms with big windows and high ceilings and nice furnishings. This is an older hotel with a beautiful lobby and wonderful service. Very cool staircase that goes up from lobby. Gym was small but perfect for a quick workout, but again the best thing is the spacious rooms, which are above and beyond your typical chain hotel room. Caught a Reds game one night with colleagues and was close enough to walk (this would be the case with Bengals during football season as well). Good breakfast, but very pricey which was not surprising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nctravlr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    239
    108
    57
    40
See reviews for
83
377
45
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is very charming...Beautifully done, just a fantastic atmosphere! Front desk personal very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean. We had the king bed and it was so comfortable. Slept wonderful! Nice flat screen tv in room. Our bathroom was very nice, but you could tell had some age on it. It had a few cracked tiles on the floor, nothing to bad. I even took a bath in the tub, and I only ever take showers in hotel rooms. Nice bath products. We used the valet service for parking, which is a little pricey. I wish I would have gotten the valets names that were on duty both evenings that we were there. It was Sunday and Monday April 7th and 8th. They were very friendly and helpful with us, unlike the morning valets on duty on Tuesday morning who were rude and did not even offer to help with our luggage to the car, and just barely acknowledged us. Huge difference!! I loved the hotel and will be back on my next visit to Cincinnati. I also would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This wonderfully restored 5 star historic hotel is fabulous from the moment you pull up until the moment you leave. Everything is beautiful, clean, delicious, comfortable, and at your service. The jazz band and club section is a great place to unwind and meet new people or gather with your friends and family, the restaurant is lovely, upscale, and worth every bite. Room service - perfection. The rooms are appointed quite nicely and some have terrific double showers and air-jet tubs. Turn down service includes cookie and clean footrest towel for your slippers. The concierge is helpful with city events and recommendations. The London Cabbie is a free service for transportation around downtown for guests. Lovely hotel and worth the little extra expense to stay here rather than a chain nearby. Expect the best and you shall receive.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarouselCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The great staff make this Hotel....it is beautifully redone...it shows it age in small ways...but the care thet staff does to take care of your needs is wonderful...from the maintence gentleman to the gentlemen at the door...to the very Lady who helped with my change in reservations....The Jazz group was better in their Piano Bar then was a the Jazz club...Bartenders were great....all were knowledgable about the City...The Staff makes the difference here...yes the Band can be heard in certian rooms...but it was more enjoyable to me to hear the band...they only palyed until 10 pm on saturday...the charge for the room was fair..the price for morning coffee delivered to your room was too much...$19.00 for a pot of coffee...that was my only cmplaint,....the price of moring delivered coffee....I'll take that problem...The Hotel was immaculate ... so nice to stay at a clean Hotel...

Room Tip: rooms on the outside facing are quiet...the atrium rooms do hear lobby noises but very slightly...th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gb53119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a long day I was looking forward to hitting the sack. Only problem there was a jazz band in the lounge and my room on the third floor overlooked where the band was and it was so loud that it sounded like the band was in my room. I went down to the front desk and was told that the band would be playing for another two hours. I was told by Adam at the front desk that "people love jazz sir and there is nothing I can do. He couldn't (or wouldn't) move me to another room. He gave me the attitude of just live with it sir. I believe the hotel has a little too much attitude for its own good. I went upstairs got my bags, checked out and went to Marriott where the people at the from desk had a better attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I had a prepaid room through Hotwire and had left my luggage at the Cincinatian earlier in the day while I went to a convention 2 blocks away. When I returned to check in they told me that they were overbooked & they had no room for me. They paid for me to go to another hotel (not as nice and miles from my convention) and provided transportation but this was not the location and amenities that I had prepaid for. They were apologetic but apparently a reservation there is no guarantee of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivecaseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The oldest hotel in Cincinnati but still a very nice place to stay. Excellent location. Beautiful lobby with an atrium, and a piano bar, if you just don't want to go out. The beds and linens were comfortable and the Wi-Fi was complimentary - a real stickler for me. Nice bath and toiletries. The staff was very helpful. Valet parking was a little costly, but we dropped our bags with the doorman and found a garage a half block away. Overall quite a pleasant trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anniebonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing