We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grand Old Hotel!”
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The exterior architecture is beautiful. Walking in you can easily see why these types of hotels have so much more charm, warmth and class than any newer hotel could ever have.

Stopping over at the Cricket Bar was wonderful. Friendly, professional service, great drinks and food. Stop by for a drink someday to enjoy a grand hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Cincinnatian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 883 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

had to make a quick trip to cincinatti..looked on trip advisors (as i always do) and made my selection..i don't necessarily think the rating was wrong, i simply had better expectations...thelocation appeared to be fine (didn't matter to me)..the bed was average at best (and that did matter to me)...the ambient noise coming from outside my room is a bit higher than the soundproofing could handle..

Room Tip: wherever you don't hear door slams
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwtmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was just OK. The roome we stayed in looked NOTHING like any of the professional or traveler photos posted. So maybe our room was one that hasn't been updated since the hotel was built. I do believe it is possible for a hotel to have a dated look without the dated feel. This hotel looks and feels very dated- to the point it was inconvenient. We are getting married in Cincinnati and were going to use a block in this hotel for our guests. After staying here we won't use this hotel. The food was amazing and the staff was great. But we won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaisleyandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Cincinnatian hotel has character, and makes a refreshing change from American hotel chains. Of course some rooms are more luxurious than others, but the beds are always comfortable and there are always comfortable towels, bath robes, and good toiletries. Importantly, the staff are very pleasant and attentive, without being intrusive or displaying fake friendliness. I also enjoy the atmosphere as well as the food and drink in the bar. I am a little mystified as to why the hotel does not provide coffee-making facilities in the rooms. As I live in the UK and come to the US for only a few nights, when I stay in the Cincinnatian, I tend to wake up very early, and even though there is coffee in the lobby from 5.30 am, it would be nice to be able to have a drink earlier. This is really the only aspect that knocks the hotel off a 5-star rating for me. Overall, I find the hotel a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEBxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have used this property several times on our stays in Cincinnati.The staff is very attentive,the rooms clean ,the bath areas big,the hotel is right in the middle of the entertainment and restraurant district of downtown.You can walk to everthing,they have an Old English Cab you can reserve for your trips.The dining in hotel is great.Shopping is also right within an easy walk.This is an older hotel,but the service and facilities are top notch.

Room Tip: depending what and how long you are staying,there is a variety of choices
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived, late at night, I was greeted warmly by no fewer than 4 employees who all had a welcoming smile. I was surprised the room key was actually an old key... Which foreshaddowed the rest of the property, which I would compare to a 1920s mansion... Not in an old way, but classy and beautiful. The hallways were interesringly decorated and ecclectic.. someone took a lot of time picking out the decor and each piece was unique and had meaning to the local city. The room exceeded all expectations... Clean and confortable. The bathroom looks a bit dated in fixtures and tile... But the huge tub was just what the doctor ordered after a Long day of driving. My room didnt have much of a view, but I was too tried to worry much about that anyway. The mini bar is actually fairly priced, I thought 5.50 for a small bottle of wine was excellent. My only complaint was the pillows were too soft.. then I realized the firm pillows were behind the plush one... This hotel has really thought of everything with your confort in mind. Lastly, there is a very cheap parking garage less than a half block away, which further adds value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Some cleanliness issues in the room but overall good. Would recomend for location and a weekend stay. Staff was great and during check in spoke of things going on in the area and great place to eat. We loved the precinct Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#17 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,110 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,331 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Millennium Cincinnati
Millennium Cincinnati
#37 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $182 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing