We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Cincinnatian hotel has character, and makes a refreshing change from American hotel chains. Of course some rooms are more luxurious than others, but the beds are always comfortable and there are always comfortable towels, bath robes, and good toiletries. Importantly, the staff are very pleasant and attentive, without being intrusive or displaying fake friendliness. I also enjoy the atmosphere as well as the food and drink in the bar. I am a little mystified as to why the hotel does not provide coffee-making facilities in the rooms. As I live in the UK and come to the US for only a few nights, when I stay in the Cincinnatian, I tend to wake up very early, and even though there is coffee in the lobby from 5.30 am, it would be nice to be able to have a drink earlier. This is really the only aspect that knocks the hotel off a 5-star rating for me. Overall, I find the hotel a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEBxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    256
    117
    59
    41
See reviews for
90
398
47
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have used this property several times on our stays in Cincinnati.The staff is very attentive,the rooms clean ,the bath areas big,the hotel is right in the middle of the entertainment and restraurant district of downtown.You can walk to everthing,they have an Old English Cab you can reserve for your trips.The dining in hotel is great.Shopping is also right within an easy walk.This is an older hotel,but the service and facilities are top notch.

Room Tip: depending what and how long you are staying,there is a variety of choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived, late at night, I was greeted warmly by no fewer than 4 employees who all had a welcoming smile. I was surprised the room key was actually an old key... Which foreshaddowed the rest of the property, which I would compare to a 1920s mansion... Not in an old way, but classy and beautiful. The hallways were interesringly decorated and ecclectic.. someone took a lot of time picking out the decor and each piece was unique and had meaning to the local city. The room exceeded all expectations... Clean and confortable. The bathroom looks a bit dated in fixtures and tile... But the huge tub was just what the doctor ordered after a Long day of driving. My room didnt have much of a view, but I was too tried to worry much about that anyway. The mini bar is actually fairly priced, I thought 5.50 for a small bottle of wine was excellent. My only complaint was the pillows were too soft.. then I realized the firm pillows were behind the plush one... This hotel has really thought of everything with your confort in mind. Lastly, there is a very cheap parking garage less than a half block away, which further adds value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Some cleanliness issues in the room but overall good. Would recomend for location and a weekend stay. Staff was great and during check in spoke of things going on in the area and great place to eat. We loved the precinct Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I reserved a room at this hotel for a much needed weekend getaway based on the pictures online. We stayed in a queen atrium view room and were shocked when we opened our room door. Dated blue carpet and 1980s decor. Nothing at ALL close to the contemporary, luxury look of the rooms as displayed on the website. We were kept awake until 2:30 am by loud people at the bar due to the balcony overlooking the atrium. Our a/c malfunctioned and our room was near 80 degrees with hot air blowing all while the thermostat was set to 70. Then, upon waking, we had NO hot water and were only told the hotel was aware and "working on it." Needless to say, I left a supposed "4-star" hotel without being able to have a shower and my husband took a freezing cold one. Upon checkout, the staff asked how our stay was, and so we shared. We received nothing but "I'm sorry. We appreciate your staying with us." Horrible experience, and the worst hotel stay I have EVER had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieqreitz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here after a New Years Eve wedding- so to be honest, we didnt really sleep all that much in the hotel. However, the time we did was pretty darn good! We had two double beds and the sheets were very nice, and the room HUGE. Oddly set up and the furnishings while well maintained and clean were 80-s wedding singer chic. The only TV was in a separate area from the beds and was so far away it made watching it pointless if you wanted to see it from bed. There were two sinks, one out of the shower room and one in a separate divided area, which was great with three people sharing the sinks. Nice Molton Brown toiletries.

The food in the restaurant for breakfast was good, but the service VERY hit or miss. Some great people and some really questionable people who just didn't get that the customer always comes first. I used to work in the service industry so, yes I get it, but deal! You can do it! The guest is paying your check so dont tell her that she is wrong! ;-)

The design of the hotel is kind of opulent and old timey "luxury" in some places and sketch 80's glam power suit in others. There are strange neon things around and this huge atrium that has primary colours and odd installations all over. It just looks super dated, and if they were to update to be a bit more botiquey- they might benefit.

Front desk staff while efficient, kind of abrupt and not chatty at all.

Room Tip: We had guests overlooking the atrium and they said it was very noisy all night. We faced out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MossiDivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room was a little small but with luxurious bedding and towels. Staff were helpful when asked but didn't offer any information freely - they have a complimentary taxi service which we found out about later - very valuable! Staff at the associated Cricket Lounge were not very friendly at all which just leaves a bad taste in my mouth, especially in Cincinnati where everywhere else we went we were met with delightfully friendly and sociable people.

That all said, no complaints on cleanliness or quality of the room, and the food at the Cricket Lounge was superb. If you are a light sleeper don't go for an atrium room - you get the noise coming up from the lobby and Cricket Lounge.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms get all the noise from the lobby and Cricket Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
995 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,218 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing