We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star public areas, 3 star rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“4 star public areas, 3 star rooms”
Reviewed March 26, 2006

This is an old hotel with impressive public spaces including the lobby, bar, restaurant, and ballrooms. The hotel is fun to explore - but be warned that the staff will interrogate you about your presence unless you are dressed up. Our room, though clean, was small, dark, and oddly shaped. The bed was very confortable but the rest of the room was tired. There was one small window in the corner of the room. The small bathroom was at the end of a long, narrow hallway in our room. The room clearly had been divided at some point in the past. The map on the back of our door showed that most of the rooms on our floor were a bit larger than ours. We booked on Priceline so we are satisfied about the value we received. Another thing to note is that the weight room and pool are not in the hotel. You have to walk a short way through a shopping mall on the lower level to reach a separate health club with which the hotel has privileges. We encountered a loud group of young men loitering in the mall. We weren't bothered by it but others might be uncomfortable, especially if you change your clothes in your room and don't expect to be leaving the hotel to reach the pool.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sniper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    706
    263
    102
    40
See reviews for
377
612
108
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for the Golf Show at the Convention Center. The room was just okay, I was disappointed in the size of our room and bathroom (the tiniest I've seen in awhile)- but hey, we weren't there to stay in the room all weekend, we were working- and the hotel is like a million years old. The closet was a little musty smelling, it wasn't the end of the world. I personally liked the beds- that kind of thing is just personal preference. I loved the little easy to use alarm clocks. The bar was fantastic, with unbelieveable restoration on the ceilings and walls. It was pretty crowded each night we went. The morning buffet suited our needs. Good service at the desk and by the waitstaff.

All in all, I would stay at the Hilton again if I had to, we will definitely be back at the bar when we do the show next year, but I prefer the modern upscale hotel across the street (The Millineum). One thing I will say about Cincinnati, whoever thought up the idea of skyways is a genious. I don't think I went outside in the freezing cold once all three days I was there!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hvanness331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 12, 2006

This hotel is not all it's cracked up to be. The rooms are extremely small and the bathroom's are worse. I also had house keeping come clean the room in the morning which was normal, but the bad part was the comforter that they put on the bed was stained with BLOOD (it also took them approx 25 minutes to respond when they said they was sending someone immediately). This is totally unacceptable. The restaurant was o.k. if you like to only eat and not have anything to drink with your meal. We waited 15 minutes one morning for the wait staff to ask us what we wanted to drink. Oh yeah one more thing, Don't make a long distance call from your room because it cost me 5.14 to just connect the call and .89 for each additional minute. I used think Hilton hotels we great but now I will probably never stay in one again.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2006

My daughter and I stayed one night for the United States Equestrian Federation's Horse of the Year dinner and we loved it! Such a gracious old building, updated but maintaining the feel of the '30's.
Our room was HUGE with a great view of the river and the stadium.The bathroom was a little on the small side but I didn't see that as a problem. The beds were very comfortable with top grade linens.
Every staff member we dealt with was pleasant and helpful. We used the valet parking and that was very convient and easy to use.
Food was excellent and very nicely presented.
I would stay in this hotel again and will recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 2, 2005

Prior to my trip to Cincinnati, I spent a great deal of time researching which hotel to stay at. I went with the reviewers of this site and stayed at the Netherland Hilton. Boy was I disappointed!!!

The art deco is great there, as well as the bar, but that is where the compliments stop. I will outline the problems that I had below:

Rooms: We paid market rate for the room (ie no special deals). The room we stayed in was very small. Think mid to low end New York City hotel size. I will say that the small bathroom was updated w/a deep tub and one free standing sink. However, the room itself had a queen bed that was the most uncomfortable bed that I have ever slept on. The website claims they have "Hilton Beds". If a very, VERY soft bed that hops all over the place when the other person moves is their "Hilton Bed", then I will no longer be able to stay at Hiltons. Literally, after four (4) days, my back was in pain (and I have never had back problems)! I was so ready to leave, just so I could get a good night's rest.

Parking: According to their website, self parking is $15.00/day. It doesn't menion that self parking is very inconvenient and does NOT have in/out privileges. Thus really, valet is the only way to go unless you are not going to drive while staying at the hotel.

I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2005

Just got back from a trip to Cinci July 22-25th, and had a fabulous time. We were absolutely awed by the Netherland Plaza, located downtown in the Carew Tower. We were treated like royalty by all staff, very professional, friendly and "Hiltonesque". When you check in, grab one of the little black & white booklets on the history and a walking tour of the hotel--definately explore!!

The brass, marble and Brazilian rosewood panelling throughout are stunning. Wander around and check out the Hall of Mirrors, the mezzanine, and eat or drink (or both) at the Palms!! There is a beautiful fountain and a grand piano with music in the evening. The bartender was great, catering to my three kids' with panache (12, 9, and 7).

When you are in the Palms, look up at the murals on the ceiling, and try to find the hidden "outline" of the Carew Tower which is in each painting! The Hall of Mirrors was decorated for a wedding the night we looked, and it was absolutely breathtaking.

Walk to Fountain Square in the evening and check out the free entertainment there. Also, there are some nice and reasonable restaurants adjacent to the square. The Cincinnati Zoo and Kings Island were fun, too (it was 100 degrees both days!).

By the way, our room was huge, and the beds were sumptuous--THE most comfortable bed in a hotel--EVER!

We will be making this an annual trek!

Helpful?
5 Thank scorpio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
855 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing