We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here for New Year's Eve for 4th Consecutive Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stayed here for New Year's Eve for 4th Consecutive Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is now our tradition; to stay in Cincinnati at the Hilton Netherland Plaza during the New Year's Eve holiday. I must say check in was one of the most professional I've ever had. I should have gotten her name. She was thorough and QUICK! Made me feel like I was a VIP. Upgraded to a Junior Suite which is always nice. This time we faced the river so didn't have a view of the fireworks on top of Macy's at midnight. We didn't dine this year at Orchids as I booked the stay late. We ate at Morton's which is connected to the hotel, so didn't have to go out and brave the weather. The hotel was quite festive that evening, always nice to be a part of the subdued revelry that goes with this stately hotel. The bed was so comfortable. Ordered breakfast through room service which was excellent. A great way to ring in the New Year. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    694
    254
    99
    40
See reviews for
364
604
106
992
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Since the issue with bed bugs has grown out of control, I am always very careful about where I stay. I have done a lot of research online and have yet to see a review of a Hilton Hotel that involves bugs or any other unpleasant surprise. We decided to stay at the Hilton Hotel in downtown Cincinnati. It was a bit pricey but had excellent reviews so we went with it anyway. It did not disappoint! The hotel is beautiful! And...the CLEANEST hotel we've ever stayed in! I definitely recommend a Hilton Hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly for walking to the Reds or Bengals game and they have an hourly shuttle to the Horseshoe Casino. This hotel is excellent and the staff is very helpful. I recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Everything you could want in a city stay was at your fingertips, the shops in the Hotel plaza include Macys, so if you get tired of your clothes you did not even have to go outside to get more. The Hotel is beautiful, I was there on New Years Eve and I was so impressed with how special they made us feel. GYM and valet and restaurant were my favorite. And the historic restoration!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Randal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The stay was for a family outing. Everything went well as a whole. Checking in and out was smooth and the room was large enough and very clean. Could have used a later check out since we were out so late. The hotel is a nice place to stay. We have stayed there several times and the experience has been pleasant each visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel has great history and is beautiful and classic. The staff is polite. But there were small problems that should not exist in a hotel of this caliber. The robes were pathetic and worn, the walls are thin, the bathroom was tiny, and the T.V. check out system was out-of-order. We had to call twice to have luggage service and the room service breakfast was ordinary and overpriced for what we got. But great location downtown, great restaurant and bar, and excellent bed. It was nice but could have been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
January 6, 2014

Ronald N

Dear Ronald N:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Electronic Guest Evaluation form. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for your positive ratings in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati for New Year’s Eve. As a leisure traveler, your ratings and comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your stay. I noted in your reservation that you had requested “terry” robes. Our robes are those specified by Hilton Hotels. I regret that they were a disappointment. We are also very disappointed to know that our Room Service breakfast was not satisfactory. Normally we receive really excellent comments about this area of our business. As a gesture of good faith in this matter, I will ask my colleague Matthew Kolb, our Director of Revenue Management, to adjust the charge off of your bill. I hope and trust that this helps to convey our sincere interest in this matter.

Thank you too for sharing your concern about your arrival in the lower level of the hotel and your concern about finding your way to the guest elevators. We’ll certainly consider your comments as we plan for the future here.

And finally, I apologize that our guest service staff lost your first call for luggage assistance. We’ll review this carefully with our team in this area.



Page 2


Mr. N, many thanks for your valuable feedback. Should your travel plans return you to Cincinnati in the future, please contact my Assistant Julie Heink at Julie.Heink@Hilton.com and reference this letter. We will be happy to personally oversee your reservations and insure that your stay is an especially comfortable one.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Todd Kelly, Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Director
Matthew Kolb, Director of Revenue Management
Julia Morgan, Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and this is the hotel selected by the bride. Some of the rooms were nice and spacious and some of our family stayed in the smallest shoe box like rooms we had ever seen. The rooms could have been cleaner and there was some noise heard through the walls. The lobby was nice and the restaurant looked lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
January 6, 2014

Kathleen L

Dear Ms. L:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Electronic Guest Evaluation form. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for your positive ratings in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati for a wedding. As a Silver HHonors Traveler, your ratings and comments are especially important to us.

Please accept my sincere apology that you discovered hair in the bathroom sink and a dirty light switch in guestroom 609 upon your arrival. We normally receive really excellent comments about the work of our housekeeping staff. You may be certain that we will review this carefully with the team members involved in preparing your guestrooms (607 and 609). Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Please also accept my apology that there was noise transference from an adjoining guestroom. We’ll review this in order identify the source of this issue and minimize it for the future. We also regret that some of your party expressed concern about the size of their guestrooms. As a historic hotel, we do have a small number of rooms remaining in our inventory that are smaller than you would find in a newly built hotel.

Ms. L, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,

Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Yat Sen Jerome, Director of Housekeeping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing