We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in Cincinnati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First stay in Cincinnati”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my one of my friends weddings. My first impression walking in was wow! A walk in the past. This hotel is beautiful. It is a little congested when parking. I stayed in a corner room with two queen beds. It was very spacious. The room itself was clean and the beds were pretty good. I had a nice view over the city.

My other friend stayed in a room down the hall with her husband. Their room was pretty small compared to mine.

All in all the hotel was clean and had pretty nice retro look and feel. I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughes3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
September 25, 2013

Hughes3432

Dear Hughes3432:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be clean and comfortable. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

As a historic hotel, we have a small number of queen and king size beds in the category in which your friend was assigned. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. If we did not acknowledge your friend’s requests our inability to fulfill a larger room type at the time of check in, I apologize.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    703
    261
    102
    40
See reviews for
377
610
107
1,021
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel because I was attending an International Convention. The hotel is beautiful. If you like art deco, it's decor will really appeal to you. Every day I found something new to like, and I think many of you will too. Take the time to look at the architectural features in the lobby, the restaurant, and the hallways. The elevator call buttons are even nice.

The rooms are more than adequate. They're a good size and have a small refrigerator (something I think is a nice touch in a regular, non-suite or extended stay hotel room). The bathrooms are a little small, but they are adequate.

The hotel is well situated so you can walk to almost everything. There are several restaurants nearby and there's even a nail salon in the small attached mall.

All in all, I liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharcatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
September 25, 2013

CharcatB

Dear CharcatB:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the architectural beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be adequate and comfortable. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Hilton is a great place to stay downtown - close to everything, beautiful facility. Staff is very helpful, as you'd expect from a Hilton. Stayed on a Friday night and the hotel was very busy, bar was full of people (overpriced drinks but what do you expect from a hotel bar?). Breakfast buffet is a bit overpriced for what you get. Hotel room was on the top floor, great view of the city and the riverfront. Oddly configured room but well appointed and stocked. If you're looking for a downtown luxury hotel, stay here. I've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to get a great view of the city; there are plenty of elevators so you shouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
September 24, 2013

William N

Dear William N:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff to be very helpful. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you too for your feedback regarding the price point for both our Bar at the Palm Court and our breakfast buffet at the Grille at the Palm Court. Our pricing is comparable to that of our full service competitors in this market. Nevertheless, we regret that this was a concern.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated in Cincinnati downtown very close to Fountain Sq. The building is French Art Deco from 1931. It is a perfect balance between historical heritage of the building with new creature comfort amenities. The room I stayed in was very spacious, clean to the extreme. Air conditioning was very efficient however maybe a little bit too noisy. TV channels selection is excellent, comfort of sleeping is amazing. Wi-fi internet is available also in the room, however was getting a little slow in the last days of my stay. The staff was very efficient, nice and informative. Thank you for the hospitality, I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
September 24, 2013

Sirmiff

Dear Sirmiff:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found your guestroom to be spacious and clean. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you too for your feedback regarding the noise transference you experienced from the AC unit in your guestroom. We are as I write this, taking steps to clean all of our AC units throughout the hotel. We hope and trust this will rectify the issue of noise that you’ve expressed. I do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused for you during your stay.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Was here on business for a trade show held at the outstanding hotel in downtown Cincinnati. This hotel first opened in 1931, but it has all the modern amenities to provide the comfort of a modern hotel without detracting from the character of a grand hotel like a Waldorf Astoria in NYC. I've been a guest here for over 50 years and the Netherland only adds character with age. There is nothing tired about her age and the front desk staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping and parking valet were all top notch and what you'd expect at a hotel with 5 star credentials. My wife ate breakfast at The Grille At The Palms and said it was superb as well. Great food and great service at a very fair price. We were both 100% satisfied with our stay and can't say enough positive things about this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
September 24, 2013

Kenneth W

Dear Kenneth W:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and your continued patronage over the past 50 years! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be top notch. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Also thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant The Grille at the Palm Court. We are well known for our food and beverage services and are very pleased that you and your wife were 100% satisfied with your overall accommodations.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
440 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. I fell in love with this hotel. It's nostalgic but not outdated. Very elegant. It is located in a great area with easy walking to the square and fountain. Many restaurants in the area and very close to the football and baseball venues. Wonderful and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonfo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
September 24, 2013

Jomfo1969

Dear Jomfo1969:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our facilities to be very elegant. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel gives great service, great location. Clean and friendly. Beautiful lobby with employees that are willing to assist with all of your needs. I would stay at this Hilton the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
September 20, 2013

Spencer H

Dear Spencer H:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff to be very helpful in assisting you with all of your needs. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,062 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
995 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
854 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing