We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Old Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
312 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Grand Old Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A 1930 Art Deco Palace. Lobby spaces are works of art. Rooms are updated and fresh, with big screen TV'S. Staff was extremely welcoming and professional.
This is a classic old high rise beautifully maintained. Across from Saks and Macy's. Mortons and Hathaway Diner in the building as well as Orchids - a phenomenal restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
September 20, 2013

ChrisFromCincinnati

Dear ChrisFromCincinnati:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be updated and fresh. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Also thank you for your excellent comments about our restaurant, The Orchids at the Palm Court. We are well known for our food and beverage services and are please that you found our restaurant to be phenomenal.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    685
    249
    97
    40
See reviews for
353
597
105
979
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We attended a wedding here, and got a special rate (which was just slightly better than comparable hotels nearby, but we stayed here because of the convenience factor). I usually try to request a room with a view/quiet/large window/etc but this time, I decided to wing it. Wrong choice! We got the darkest, noisiest room with a view of the cigarette butts of the rooftop below and the world's smallest window. Every time our neighbors had conversations, it was like they were talking to us, sitting on our bed! Thank g-d we didn't spend that much time in the room. It was also quite hard to get ready for the wedding, since the bathroom lighting was ridiculously dim. The counter space was nonexistent, so my makeup kept falling on the floor and into the sink. There was no magnifying/lighted mirror that I was thought was standard at these kids of hotels. Wifi didn't work, even when it said I was connected.
We did check out our friends' bridal suite, which was lovely, and had a nice view. Also, on the positive note, the location is great (we even found some nearby street parking... my husband is a parking genius!), and the beds were reasonably comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and a view of the city/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_winter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
September 20, 2013

lady-winter2

Dear lady-winter2:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati in conjunction with the wedding you attended!

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the guestroom that you stayed in. I apologize that you were dissatisfied with the size of this accommodation and the noise transference that you have described. If you would like to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com, I would be happy to review the matter in more detail.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, well keep, nice rooms comfortable beds very good location to do what you want without leaving the area would stay again. A little difficult to find a place to park to check in but first time in the area also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
September 16, 2013

Robert B

Dear Robert B:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be stylish and comfortable. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hilton Netherlands in Cincinnati. We returned because of our excellent experience the first time, and were pleased to have a fantastic stay the second time around! We were given a spacious corner king suite with a beautiful view of the city. Wearing the comfortable robes provided, dining on our in-room meal that was promptly delivered, sipping a bottle of wine, we felt very decadent! The staff was professional and friendly, the room was clean and the decor was gorgeous! Our entire experience was very positive - we highly recommend this gorgeous hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
September 16, 2013

Patricia W

Dear Patricia W :

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and décor of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be clean and gorgeous. Also thank you for your kind words regarding your in room dining experience. We are well known for our food and beverage services and are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and felt decadent as you enjoyed your wine. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Historic Hotel with interesting past. Somewhat European in style. Friendly staff. Immaculate rooms but a bit on the small side. Excellent service. Great food with super brunch and very good rehearsal dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
September 16, 2013

Journey 55

Dear Journey 55:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and style of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be immaculate. Also thank you for your kind words regarding our food and beverage services. We are well known for our food and beverage services and are very pleased that you enjoyed your rehearsal dinner. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I LOVED this hotel. The staff really go the extra mile to ensure you are happy. My hairdryer didnt' work so they got a replacement and left a box of chocolates and bottle of water for my "trouble." You HAVE to try the restaurant there for dinner! OMG, AMAZING!!!!!!!!! The chef was named "Chef of the Year" and its a well deserved title! The room was huge and beautiful. Not a modern hotel, but "pretty." Awesome gym as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and this hotel exceeded my expectations in service. The staff was eager to help and extremely pleasant. I loved the décor, the location and the room was spacious and clean. We had a few issues that could have made our anniversary a bad experience but the staff's commitment to excellence turned it around for us. The only thing bad I can say about the hotel was the $25 valet parking fee was ridiculous, given it does have in and out privileges, but the wait for our car often exceeded 30 minutes and one time we even had to walk past 5 cars and up a steep ramp to get our car, oh and we were in heels. Other than that this is a great hotel, could be a little cheaper but the staff and service makes it worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank anonymousisfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
September 16, 2013

anonymousisfine

Dear anonymousisfine :

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be extremely friendly. You can be sure that we’ll share your comment with our team in general.

Thank you too for your concerns regarding our nightly rates for valet parking. As I noted in my reply to your Electronic Guest evaluation, our nightly rates for valet parking are comparable to that of our full service competitors in this market. Nevertheless, we regret that this was a concern. Also I apologize for the delays you experienced in the retrieval of your vehicle during your stay. I have forwarded your concerns to Greg Detmering; the Valet Parking Manager with Central Parking Systems, our valet parking service provider, to insure this does not recur. We hope and trust that our team member’s services helps to convey our sincere interest in responding to you in this matter.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing