We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cincinnati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cincinnati”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

beautiful old hotel updated with all amenities. One of the hotels for my Optimist International Convention. It rained the entire weekend and the hotel had umbrellas available for anyone who needed one. The room was very spacious and the room had a walk-in closet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank B2268QPbarbaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    725
    269
    102
    40
See reviews for
388
627
108
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding that had a block here-hurray for us. Great location, amazingly spacious corner room, friendly faces everywhere. We've stayed here before but it just gets better. The hotel seemed to be full but we never heard a peep from our neighbors. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank julesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ona, West Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a nice hotel but not what you expect for the price..It is very dated and the rooms need serious updating! It is very elegant and historical downstairs though and would be a beautiful place for a wedding or something like that. What I enjoyed the most about it was the location bc you could walk to the ball park or riverfront..Also beware that if you drive a large truck such as a F150 FX4 forget finding parking bc your vehicle wont fit in the parking garages anywhere! Also this hotel is very close to a lot of party spots and there is a plaza about a block away that has lots of concerts on the weekends so if you like to go to bed before 3 am forget it bc even if you are on the 20th floor like we were you can still hear all the noise and music and it will keep you up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
July 10, 2013

Edward_Mahon

Dear Edward_Mahon:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your staff and our staff and that you found the hotel well maintained. We’ll be sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate members of our team!

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton the night of the wedding. We also purchased the special occasion package which included a bottle of chilled champagne, strawberries dipped in chocolate and a room-service breakfast the next morning. The ice for the champagne was melted when we got there and the strawberries were looking a little deflated, but that's mostly because we didn't check in until close to 11pm. I'd assume they put those in the room at around 3pm when they prepared the room for us - perhaps this would've been better if they'd waited until we had checked in and then delivered it to the room fresh. Other than that, the room was great, very spacious, quiet and clean, and the bed was quite comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mallory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family doesn't mind spaces that are a little awkward or that might "need a little updating". Amazingly, that's not the case here at the Netherland Plaza. The common areas are gorgeous. There are way-finding signs in appropriate places to help you get around. There are historic photos of what the rooms used to look like. The common rooms are spotless. When a hotel staff has pride in a property, it shows. We were talking about how lovely we found the hotel to our server at the Sunday breakfast buffet (which is truly a value), and she gave us a brochure for a walking tour of the hotel, explaining the history of the building and the facts about its construction. Later, we were debating trying to see the Hall of Mirrors, as there had been a wedding there the day before and we were unsure if we should try again. A staff member approached us to offer assistance. She turned out to be the banquet manager! She whisked us directly up to the Hall of Mirrors and answered all of our questions about the space. So indicative of the staff of this hotel - we were always greeted, always made to feel welcome.

Our room was clean and well appointed. We had a suite with a pull-out sofa in the living area and a king bed, with two full bathrooms and a mini-fridge. My kids declared it the most comfortable convertible sofa that they've ever slept on, and that's huge. The two bathrooms were clean and the toiletries provided were of good quality. Our room allowed access to the Belvedere Club, which was a great benefit. It was never busy, and it was fun to get food and drinks and sit out on the terrace. The kids loved the pool, which was a nice size. We didn't use the gym, but we had to walk through it to get to the pool. It looked like a regular health club, not the typical hotel offering.

Valet was a little confusing to us, only because the bell stand is right at the hotel entrance on Race Street and valet is further down the street, under the hotel. I had tried to research how that all worked, but hadn't done enough research, apparently! It actually is a smooth process, looking back now. At the time it seemed a little frantic. So for someone like me - here it is: Valet for the hotel is off of Race Street. Don't get fooled by what looks like a valet stand by the hotel's doors. That's just for a bellman, who is not part of the valet service at all. If you look down past the hotel, you will see a big sign that says "Valet". Drive into there. Down to the left is the valet stand. They are attentive and are working hard. This level of the hotel is where the Gym at Carew Tower/pool is located. If you go through the waiting area doors and turn left, you can follow that hallway to the bank of elevators that will get you to the hotel lobby. It's very simple.

Our disappointments? They are all minor. We called for the linens for the sofa bed and housekeeping didn't come until we called again. I will take some blame for that, though, in not calling before we went to dinner. The cupcake store at the street level was closed during our entire stay (it closes at 4:00 pm on Saturday and is closed on Sundays and Mondays). The staff member at the Gym at Carew Tower decided to shock the pool an hour before it was to close, which was 7 - 8 p.m. (IIRC), so we couldn't use it for the rest of the night. In-room movies were $16 each.

We used the hotel as a two-night base for a city getaway. We went to various museums, the aquarium (took a taxi over and walked back), and ate at a mix of restaurants - including having Graeter's sundaes for supper one night sitting around Fountain Square. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperHeritageTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked into our two bedroom suite which was superior. Walked to Reds game . Wish Tj Maxx which is down stairs had been open earlier next morning. Hotel was so well kept for an older historic building. We would stay again in a heart beat and highly recommend it. The bedding was like sleeping in the clouds!,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gymlady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed just one night. The staff was very friendly. The hotel appeared to be busy and that's good. The hotel is older but well maintained. Our room was on a corner and had a great view of Cinci and the Ohio River. This is not an ultramodern hotel but rates at least 3 1/2 to 4 stars. We checked the bedbug registry and this hotel had no reports of the critters. A number of nearby high end hotels were not so lucky. It influenced where we stayed. Would I stay here again? Yes indeed and I recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 22nd floor. Accommodations were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
July 10, 2013

Ed_Mahon

Dear Ed_Mahon:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your staff and our staff and that you found the hotel well maintained. We’ll be sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate members of our team!

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,286 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#16 of 52 in Cincinnati
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing