We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, Beautiful Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel offers some of the very best service I have ever received. It is a beautiful hotel ,updated well and the air conditioners work extremely well ! The Belvedere Club (Executive lounge) is great for snacks or meeting with other registered guests of the hotel. The grille/ bar is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. Orchid's , the hotel's restaurant provided the finest service I have ever received, the food is also wonderful . I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors Diamond or Gold member they provide you with an upgrade , if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEF2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the time we arrived underground at the Art Deco lobby off the parking garage, we were treated to a combination of time travel and up-to-date comfort. The Art Deco extravagance of the lobby and restaurants is balanced by quiet, restful colors in the bedrooms. We had a wonderful view westward over downtown Cincinnati, including the sweep of the river. The breakfast room is a treat with murals full of ancient historical scenes with buildings slyly evoking landmarks in downtown Cincinnati. The buffet and service were superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Arielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The lobby and bar/restaurant certainly live up to their claims. It is an amazing example of Art Deco design at its best - well preserved and tasteful. We had a room on the 16th floor. It was a large room with a king bed and a Jacuzzi tub, but it wasn't special. You might think we were asking too much, but the room was $250 per night. At that price, I really want high end finishes and an amazing bathroom. The furnishings were okay, kind of like what I would find at my mom's house. It was a mishmash of traditional and modern - the desk chair was pleather with chrome and the bedroom furniture was simple. The closet was tiny with a pull string for a light. The bathroom was all marble and a Jacuzzi tub had been added kind of like a hot tub room. It was an old Jacuzzi tub - loud but adequate. We did have access to the Belvedere Lounge for free breakfast, appetizers and drinks - no alcoholic. This lounge was on our floor and had an amazing terrace filled with HUGE pots of herbs...beautiful but a little sparse. The service was okay, some were very solicitous and some were clueless when asked simple questions. The doorman who didn't know which direction McCormick's and Schmidt's was ...one block from the entrance. The concierge who wasn't where we should go after the Reds game - really??? Overall we enjoyed our stay, but we probably won't stay there again when we visit Cincy for the Reds, Bengals or the casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view...ours was of the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

June 24, 2013

KimAndAl

Dear KimAndAl:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for sharing your concerns with the furnishings in your guestroom. We will be installing new furnishings into the rooms beginning in July. We look forward to the improvements that this will bring for all of our travelers.

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistency that your report in our staff’s ability to provide information to you about attractions in the area. We normally receive really excellent comments in this regard.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Love this old art deco 1931 hotel. It's beautifully maintained and has the most beautiful bar i've ever seen. close to cincinatti red baseball stadium. beautiful efficient elevators. fine sunday brunch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGAUDZELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hilton in Cincinnati is a beautiful art deco hotel built in 1930, with excellent service and friendly staff. Highly recommended! The adjoining Carew Tower has excellent panoramic views from the 49th floor rooftop observation deck - well worth the $2 charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hilton Netherland Plaza is an older hotel but very nice. It has an old elegance about it. The lounge is very nice. The elevators need to be updated. There isn’t very many elevators and they are small. It makes it difficult to get to and from the rooms. Because of the elevator issue, getting a room on a lower floor would be better, that way you have an option of using stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldBull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stayed here for two nights. Our room was very clean and the staff friendly. The bathroom was tiny, but that is expected in an older hotel. We walked to the Great American Ballpark. Parking is costly. We used valet for $25 a night

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teachmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,121 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#8 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,357 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#17 of 51 in Cincinnati
887 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $148 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing