We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Frist, this is an amazing hotel. If you like history, this is the hotel for you. The pros: it is downtown, there is ample parking ($15/daily) across the street, it is easy to navigate and get around, staff was extremely friendly, shopping and restaurants nearby. Cons: our room was a little small (we had a pack-and-play), but not terrible, the bed was not a king as requested, there is a party venue down the street that played loud music, but tolerable.

We should have requested a larger room as our friends with a child did when we got there. They were accommodating for our friends, we just didn't think about it. We really enjoyed the staff. They were friendly and answered all our questions.

I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Cincinnati and want to stay in a fun location.

Room Tip: Request a larger room if you need one. Ours was smaller, but OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    717
    267
    102
    40
See reviews for
383
624
108
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Charging for internet connectivity in this day is about as class-less as it gets...you can get free WIFI at Motel 6 or McDonalds...your policy is cheap and class-less for a fine, classy hotel. Waited 30 minutes for someone to come take bags to valet parking...After 30 minutes I called and they said it would be another 10 to 15 minutes...we dragged our own 9 bags to valet parking...dreadful service for a classy hotel...extremely displeased with both these issues and will not stay at a Hilton again because of this lack of respect and service... I have the feeling this is a Hilton Policy issue and not Netherland Plaza issue since when I asked about the interned connectivity issue at front desk, the clerk read response from a computer screen instead of speaking to me directly, which further irritated me. I am extremely displeased with the service I received during my stay at the Netherland Plaza!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
May 24, 2013

Daniel R

Dear Daniel R:

Thank you for speaking with me this morning regarding my correspondence to you and your experince at our hotel. I appreciad the addtional perspective you added.

Let me begin by again expressing our apology for your dissatisfaction.

As we discussed, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet service in the hotel lobby and in the restaurant. In addition, we have a complimentary business office in the hotel's lobby that is also accessible to our customers.

Thank you too for reiterating your observations about our front desk agent who checked you into the hotel. While I regret that he didn't make consistent eye contact with you, he was reviewing your account to see if you had purchased or were otherwise eligible for complimentary wireless Internet servicin the your guestroom. Nevertheless, we regret that this was a concern.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director


May 17, 2013

Daniel R

Dear Daniel R:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this morning. And thank you for complete our electronic guest evaluation form.

As a former Cincinnatian, I would welcome the chance to hear more about your experience. As I noted in our brief conversation, I was not aware that you had experienced a long delay with our bellman as you departed the hotel. From your description, it is obvious that our team did not call to apprise you of this delay. As I noted, we will remove $50.00 from your guestroom folio as a gesture of good faith in this matter.

I will be in and out of the office throughout the afternoon. I would welcome your additional feedback.

When your travel plans return you to Cincinnati, please contact my Assistant Julie Heink at Julie.Heink@Hilton.com and reference this letter. We will be happy to oversee your reservation and insure that your stay is very comfortable.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Julia Morgan, Director of Front Office Operations



May 17, 2013

Daniel R

Dear Daniel R:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with a member of our front office team during your stay. I wanted to take this opportunity to respond to you personally.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati with the Corbett/Wahler Wedding. As a leisure traveler, your comments are very important to us.

Please accept my apologies in addition to our team mates for the concerns that our pricing for guestroom Internet service caused you. We offer complimentary service in the hotel’s lobby and restaurant areas as well as through our business office in the hotel’s lobby. Our pricing for this service is comparable to our full service competitors in this market. And we find that many travelers are using their own Internet services and would prefer the lowest, unbundled guestroom rate. Nevertheless, we regret that this was a concern.

If you would like to review the matter further, please contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com.

Sincerely,

Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, the hotel is absolutely stunning especially in the bar area and the restaurant. The rooms are exceptionally large for an older hotel and the bathrooms as well. Was really surprised by the amount of space in the rooms.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful - love staying at the HIlton! Provided me a disposable razor when I discovered I forgot one.
The only thing I would not recommend and hence the 4 stars - was the food at the hotel bar - perhaps it was what we ordered, but the lobster salad was far too salty and the other things we ordered were also not good. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant - I think the food might have been better than the bar food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a great view of the city Rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba,N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were traveling back from Florida and decided to check out the new casino in Cincinnati. We stayed at the Hilton because they are part of the shuttle service to the casino. I would probably love this place if I were spending time just to visit Cincinnati, but it isn't good for a spur of the moment overnight. We didn't want to use the valet park for $25.00, so did the self park for $15.. I don't recommend this because the trip with luggage from the self- park is long and difficult. It's worth the extra $10. and tip if you don't want the hassle. We couldn't wait around for the shuttle, so walked to the casino, an easy walk and the streets appeared safe. Certainly, the hotel is beautiful, but I wish they would update the mattresses. The bathroom is tiny and old with a pedestal sink, but little room for bathroom kits. We wanted a small bite to eat around 8PM but found very little take out available in walking distance . I realize that we did not fully appreciate the wonderful aspects of this hotel, but I wrote this review for those who, like us, travel frequently and are just passing through the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
May 19, 2013

Cuba,N.Y.

Dear Cuba,N.Y.:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your overnight stay with us on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your "quick" overnight trip to Cincinnati as you were traveling home.

Thank you too for sharing your experience with self parking in the nearby Tower Place parking garage. While your comments don't make mention of it, we do provide baggage service from the Race Street doorman for the hotel. Nevertheless, I apologize that this was an area of concern.

Thank you too for sharing your suggestion that we add to the shelf space in the bathroom. We are reviewing options for this and hope to make an improvement in the near future to address this concern.

Should your travel plans return you to Cincinnati, please contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com and I'll be happy to oversee your reservations for you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were a little small but given that its a historical hotel it's to be expected. The staff was amazingly nice and very helpful. Very beautiful lobby. Location is within walking distance to stores and restaurants .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amhuff26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was recently in Cincinnati for work and had the good fortune to be booked at the Hilton Netherland Plaza. This hotel is a beautifully preserved masterpiece of the Art Deco era, but has been tastefully updated. It is located in the heart of downtown within walking distance of many fine restaurants, but also with easy access to the local freeways. The staff was very helpful (as are most folks in Cincinnati) and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. If you do stay here, ask about the legend of the "Lady in Green."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank pgatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Checkin was very good, room spacious. However our room had a metal 4-poster with a metal horizontal bean subbing for a headboard. As a result it was completely uncomfortable for reading or watching TV in bed. The hotel attempts to fix this by providing a lot of pillows (6 pillows with pillowcases, not a very green solution) but they don't stay in place. They do not provide a TV channel to get local sports (we wanted to watch the Reds on Fox Sports Ohio) in room or bar. With tax and parking, the room was $200/nt, poor value.

Room Tip: Maybe a different type of bed is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYTRAVELERDAYTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
May 14, 2013

HappyTraveler

Dear HappyTraveler:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the four poster bed guestroom that you stayed in. We have not had a comment regarding the configuration of this bed previous to receiving yours. We apologize that this was a concern for you. There are only two guestrooms in the hotel that are equipped this way and we will take this opportunity to review them both. Thank you.

With respect to our televisions, we offer Fox Sports Ohio as one of the choices on our televisions. Our signal is high definition delivered through our flat screen television sets. With regards to the guide, on the television remote control, there is a button marked “guide” that provides the channel selection information that you were seeking. I apologize that you had difficulties with this.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,257 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,077 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
868 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing