We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful and Nicely Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful and Nicely Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is well situated in the middle of downtown Cincinnati within walking distance to many nice restaurants and venues. We stayed just one night, but would love to stay longer next time and explore more of the exciting downtown life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank AARich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    630
    234
    90
    37
See reviews for
307
545
97
897
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Netherland Plaza has a lot of history and the self guided tour is fun, as you wander around and think of all of the famous people that have stayed there. The property has been overhauled a bit, but it still has some smaller rooms, which is what we stayed in. Even though it was smaller rooms it is located in the heart of Cincinnati. Lots of great restaurants near. Great bar area within the hotel as well. This is a solid choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBigRed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located in the middle of downtown Cincinnati with access to sky walk. Numerous business, restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. A few blocks away one will find the nicely renovated waterfront area; the location of the National Underground Railroad Museum, more restaurants and the cities two major league football and baseball stadiums. Upon entering the hotel guests are greeted with a beautifully appointed lobby area and friendly hotel staff. Restaurant has live music during evening hours and Sunday brunch. Rooms are clean and well appointed but some are very small. Aside from street parking, there are two other parking options; valet and self parking. If you choose self parking be sure to pay close attention to hotel staff's directions to the parking tower. The route is a bit difficult to negotiate and there is little or no signage to lead you there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank secled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for a Business trip. No free "in room" wi fi although, if you are Hilton rewards member, you can use the business center for free. My room was upgraded for the night and was very large with a King size bed. Bathroom was small, but adequate. Great work out facility in basement!!! Bar was very attractive but the drinks were slight for the price and service was OK. Oh, and you can hear people in the hall and the doors slamming shut- might need ear plugs Great location for downtown activities. I will consider other options next time but maybe not. Again- place is OK!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndamendment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
April 18, 2013

2ndAmendment

Dear 2ndAmendment:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati while on business.

We are pleased to hear that our staff upgraded your accommodations during your stay. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed The Gym, our complimentary full service health club provider located in the hotel. We receive many compliments about the size and scope of equipment and services that they offer. We’ll share your thoughts with them directly.

Thank you too for sharing your concern regarding Internet services at the hotel. As you noted, we offer a complimentary business office in the lobby in addition to complimentary wireless Internet services in the lobby and restaurant. I would be happy to review these options and your status as an HHonors member for the potential benefits that we offer there with respect to Internet services. You are welcome to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a perfectly nice hotel, although the rooms don't live up to the art-deco style of the function rooms and lobby bar. The charge for wireless internet irked me - when will this disappear? - and overall, especially taking into account the expensive (and extremely inefficient) valet parking, the value left me underwhelmed.

That being said, it's a great location right across from Fountain Square and if you secure a room at the top of the building, there are some great views across the river into Kentucky... and even into the Reds stadium.

The service was very good and well-informed, and I enjoyed my stay on the whole.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you love Art Deco and find yourself in Cincinnati, this place is a must. When you book a room, remember this is a historic property, so the experience will be different from staying at a hotel built in recent decades. Rooms are smaller, but well appointed and comfortable. Be positive to have a drink in Palm Court - an expansive, lush area assured to leave you feeling the grandeur of days gone by. This property is like a living museum for French Art Deco, embellished with rich materials of marble, rosewood and brass. Ceiling murals complete the experience.

It is conveniently located in downtown, close to restaurants, galleries, theatre, and Fountain Square (another "must"). Take a short walk and you're at the waterfront, featuring National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, baseball park and cozy pubs.

I discovered this gem on my first trip to Cincinnati. Although I was staying in a nearby hotel, I had to enter this place once I saw it (it was so incredible I was willing to risk getting thrown out!). I politely explained my architectural fascination to the lobby staff and they provided a "tour" booklet that guided you through the property history and highlights. Sensing my enthusiasm, they graciously let me explore the public areas of the property. This has become my hotel of choice on every trip I have made to Cincinnati.

Bravo Hilton!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swilrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really beautiful hotel. It felt like you were transported back to the 20s. Even though everything didnt feel new, it still felt very nice. Wonderufl for a largre group, we stayed as part of wedding and found the location to be great. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing