We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here this past New Year's Eve and had a great experience. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. We were fortunate enough to get a corner room on the 18th floor with a great view of Fountain Square. The room was large, very clean and well-decorated. The bedding was of good quality and very comfortable. The bathroom was decent size and immaculate, but there was very little counter space to put anything. We had dinner in the hotel at Orchids at Palm Court and loved it. The architecture and high ceilings conveyed a feeling of old-world elegance. Food and service were top-notch and made for a memorable stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
January 28, 2013

Helen5176

Dear Helen5176:

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor of your New Year’s Eve visit with us. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your celebration.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We are especially pleased to know that you had a chance to dine with us at Orchids at Palm Court! I’ll be sure to share your comments regarding your stay with our entire team.

Thank you and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    696
    256
    100
    40
See reviews for
371
606
106
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although we were not staying at the Hilton, we did stop in for a visit to the bar. As soon as you enter the hotel through the doors, you realize that you are in a unique place. All the beautiful woodwork and brass details and terrific art deco design is carried through the lobby and into the bar and restaurant area. The original ceiling paintings have been preserved and also continue on to the upper walls in this large area with very high ceilings overhead. This hotel interior is a feast for the senses. The large stage on one end of the room featured a terrific jazz ensemble as well. The wait staff were impeccable in manner and service yet friendly and personable. We felt special in this special place that provides a really memorable experience. It was a pleasant surprise to find this hotel in downtown Cincinnati comparable to the finest preserved hotels in Manhattan! This is not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here many times....one of the most beautiful hotels you will ever stay at from a architecture standpoint. Truley a landmark in Cinci. The restaurant is also very good. The only downside is since it is such and old hotel, each and every room is unique...the space in each room is different than the last one you were in I'm sure of it. It igives it a neat flare, but some rooms are VERY SMALL. This hotel took a long time to get HD TV's and wireless, but I am happy to report it has them now!!! The staff is very friendly and service is great. I enjoy my trips to Cinci in a big part to this hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask how big the room they are putting you in is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
January 25, 2013

M N

Dear M N:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for again choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati. As a returning guest, your comments are especially important!

Thank you too for your patience while we made the transition to flat screen, high definition television service and wireless Internet service. We are delighted that these improvements are installed and are looking forward to the additional improvements in the guestroom soft goods that are coming soon!

Please call on me anytime I can be of assistance to you at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our queen room was nice, but small. The bathroom was really small. I did notice mold on the bathtub tile. Ask for a view of the river. We had a nice breakfast buffet at the restaurant. We stayed here, because the shops that were attached to the hotel would give us something extra to do at night. I was very disappointed that most of stores were out of business or had moved. There were shady people and vagrants wandering around the tower and sky walks. I never saw any security. Also, we tried to valet park, but with a F250 truck, we were told that there was overnight parking a few blocks away. The manager at the lot made us go over at 8 am every morning to pay for the day. That stinks! Probably will stay at the Hyatt next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
January 25, 2013

Cindy H

Dear Cindy H:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay in TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let met begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

It was disappointing to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your guestroom bathroom. If you would like to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com or 513 564-6401 I will be happy to address this issue.

Thank you too for your comments regarding shopping in the nearby Tower Place Mall. We are happy to say that the City of Cincinnati has stepped in on this project. We look forward to a redevelopment plan for this important city asset.

Please accept my apologies too that you had difficulty parking your truck. Unless the vehicle was oversized, we should have been able to accommodate your need. Again, please contact me and I’ll be glad to address this for you.

Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Netherlands Plaza for one night for a friend's wedding. The room was clean, the rate was very reasonable, and check in/out was easy. However, I really wanted to be sure to post online about their customer service. I'm at the beginning of my 2nd trimester of pregnancy, and am still dealing with morning sickness (aka, all the time sickness). I wasn't able to eat much at the wedding, and was having a hard time keeping anything down. We got back to our room after midnight and I called down to ask if it was possible to order something from room service, but unfortunately the kitchen was closed. I asked the front desk if there was somewhere nearby that my husband could go to to pick up Saltines or something because I wasn't feeling well, and the nice guy at the front desk said he would figure something out for us. 5 minutes later he showed up with a plate of crackers for me! We didn't even have to leave the room! I figured I would get charged $15 the next day on the bill, but there was no charge. I wish I would have caught his name so we could have left a note for the manager about how wonderful the service was, and how this person really went above and beyond. If I ever go to the Cincinnati area again, I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonVoyageDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Netherland Plaza again, this time for a work conference. The hotel itself is quite nice...has an old school vibe to it, centrally located in downtown and connected to shopping and a skywalk. Checked in and was told I was upgraded due to my diamond status. If this room was an upgrade then a standard room is a closet! Outside of the Ws I have stayed at in NYC and San Fran I have never seen such a small room. Couldnt even open the bathroom door fully before hitting the toilet, which is gross if ou thin about it.
Pros: location, great beds and pillows, great conference room and catering
Cons: room size, breakfast at concierge lounge was terrible and valet parking is a bit confusing. Had to circle around the block since the attendant isn't at the front door (there was a sign, but I didn't see it). Also, you can hear the water running through pipes when everyone gets up to take a shower. Kinda killed my typical 15 minute snooze after wake up call.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or you'll be sharing closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJ321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
January 19, 2013

JimJ321

Dear JimJ321:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati. As a Diamond HHonors customer, your comments are especially important to us.

Thank you too for the many positive comments you made regarding your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and our services.

We appreciate your additional feedback regarding the size of our bathrooms and the upgrade that was provided to you as a Diamond HHonors member. I would be happy to address this as well as hear your additional feedback regarding Belvedere Club. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

We also noted your comment regarding the sound of "running water" in your guestroom. While I don't know the room that you stayed in, we did have a Pressure Relief Valve (PRV) fail on one of the hotel risers. This is being corrected this coming week and will address this problem. Again, I'd be happy to speak with you directly.

Thank you again and please call on me whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,

Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just returned from our most recent stay at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Since discovering this treasure a couple of years ago, I make sure to visit at least twice a year because it is an experience that is worth repeating...often! From the moment you step into the lobby, until you bid good-bye, there is only outstanding service coming from the entire Netherland staff. The hotel is absolutely lovely - it is like stepping back in time with the French Art Deco design showing up at every turn and plenty of nostalgia from the past showcased around the hotel. The food at the Orchids at Palm Court is fine dining at its best, while the Bar at Palm Court is welcoming to everyone: guests, tourists, sports enthusiasts (yes they show ballgames), shoppers, etc. I look forward to the gym and pool in the lower level – they are the best we’ve encountered and I don’t even like to work out! With the easy access by Skywalk to the “just the right size” Macy’s, restaurants and other stores, you really never have to venture outside. Whether you plan on staying put in the hotel or venturing out, you can’t beat the location. I’m already wondering about my next reason to visit Cincinnati just so we can visit our beautiful old friend, the Netherland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
January 25, 2013

Mermaid1960

Dear Mermaid1960:

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your doing so!

Thank you very much for your excellent comments! As a returning guest, your thoughts are especially important to us. We are delighted to know that you found everything so convenient to the hotel. And especially pleased that you had occasion to enjoy both Orchids at Palm Court and the Bar at Palm Court during your stay! I’ll be sure to share your thoughts directly with the appropriate members of our team!

Thank you and please call on me whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing