We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Grand Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just returned from our most recent stay at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Since discovering this treasure a couple of years ago, I make sure to visit at least twice a year because it is an experience that is worth repeating...often! From the moment you step into the lobby, until you bid good-bye, there is only outstanding service coming from the entire Netherland staff. The hotel is absolutely lovely - it is like stepping back in time with the French Art Deco design showing up at every turn and plenty of nostalgia from the past showcased around the hotel. The food at the Orchids at Palm Court is fine dining at its best, while the Bar at Palm Court is welcoming to everyone: guests, tourists, sports enthusiasts (yes they show ballgames), shoppers, etc. I look forward to the gym and pool in the lower level – they are the best we’ve encountered and I don’t even like to work out! With the easy access by Skywalk to the “just the right size” Macy’s, restaurants and other stores, you really never have to venture outside. Whether you plan on staying put in the hotel or venturing out, you can’t beat the location. I’m already wondering about my next reason to visit Cincinnati just so we can visit our beautiful old friend, the Netherland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
January 25, 2013

Mermaid1960

Dear Mermaid1960:

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your doing so!

Thank you very much for your excellent comments! As a returning guest, your thoughts are especially important to us. We are delighted to know that you found everything so convenient to the hotel. And especially pleased that you had occasion to enjoy both Orchids at Palm Court and the Bar at Palm Court during your stay! I’ll be sure to share your thoughts directly with the appropriate members of our team!

Thank you and please call on me whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    718
    267
    102
    40
See reviews for
383
624
108
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a wedding crowd there for the weekend, Friday and Saturday nights. The rooms were nice. You are downtown and within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. The hotel restaurant is very highly rated. The breakfast buffet was very good. The lobby/hotel is historic and opulant. The hot water could have a little hotter, but, really it was fine. The temperature controls in the room worked well. The lobby and registration staff were very helpful and could "play". I gave "Kyle" a hard time everytime I saw him at the front desk. He remembered me each time! Very well done!
I could well rate this Hotel as Excellent.
We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Our room was very nice...south side. My parents room was on the northwest corner with three windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoliPAresident1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our second stay at the Netherland hotel, and we could not have asked for a better experience.

First, I must advise that if you are traveling to this property as a couple, you should definitely spend a little extra and reserve one of the King Whirlpool rooms, with access to the Belvedere Lounge. The whirlpool is large enough for two, separate from the shower, and very clean; and the Belvedere Lounge provides free drinks (with the exception of alcohol), free snacks, free evening Hors d'œuvre (which are outstanding), as well as a free continental breakfast (not all that great...better ordering from room service).

The King whirlpool room is also very large and roomy, with a closet to hang your clothes. They have recently renovated the rooms and installed large flat panel TVs. Also included is a small fridge and safe.

Secondly, you must order room service for at least one of your meals. The food is outstanding. We ordered room service for dinner two nights and one breakfast. All of the meals were excellent and reasonably priced. The restaurant is very good about calling to check on your meal. If there are any problems, they are quick to correct it.

Finally, ask for the 16th floor or higher. The 16th floor houses the Belvedere Lounge, which is very convenient. It is also very quiet on the higher floors.

This hotel is beautiful and situated in the middle of downtown. It is easy to get to, provides valet parking (although self-parking is available), and has the friendliest and most accommodating staff. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the King Whirlpool Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazy, West Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had the privilege of staying at the Hilton Netherland Plaza while in Cincinnati on business. The stay was perfect. The hotel is lovely. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The food was excellent. We had no problems at all in any aspect of our stay. This is one hotel we look forward to staying at again very soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Netherlands plaza after seeing the hotel via it's website. It is an awesome hotel with old world charms, beautiful french art deco design features, a friendly and accommodating staff and a great location in the heart of downtown Cincinnati. The front desk staff had upgraded our room prior to arrival and it was very nice with an excellent view of the Cincinnati waterfront. The morning breakfast was very nice and extensive. We are sorry we did not try the Orchids restaurant because the menu was enticing and the room was over the top beautiful.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms on upper floors have views of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is one of the most magnificent of all Art Deco buildings in the US. Service is excellent -- I was helped by the concierge several times, and he was as approachable as could be, not the condescending type you can run into. Enjoyed the food in the bar, the piano, and the Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a chain hotel that looks less like one in the lobby but feels immediately so as one enters the room. The room was clean with a view of the river through large windows. However because of how big and deep the hotel structure is, it lacks an airy and comfortable feel because of the lack of light in the building. What stood out most is the helpfulness of the staff, especially the friendly and caring Chinese lady chambermaid who asked about how my flu recovery was each day. She made all the difference to the stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
January 9, 2013

SMSJH


Dear SMSJH:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciated the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Thank you too for taking the time to recognize a member of our Housekeeping team as having been especially helpful. The person you have referenced has worked with us for more than twenty years. We will be sure to pass on to her that her kindness was recognized.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,261 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,077 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#13 of 51 in Cincinnati
868 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing