We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nightmare on Fifth Street” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nightmare on Fifth Street”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Where do I begin? I guess I'll start with room #1. The first room assigned to me was very, very small. Here's the deal - my reservation had me staying there for FIVE days. Hint to the hotel - don't give a doll-house sized room to someone staying for five days. I may have been able to endure it for one night. But five days? Are you serious? Think strategically about how you assign your rooms. Perhaps you can't help what size the rooms are. But you can think through who you might give a Tom Thumb room to.

I could barely breath in the tiny room, so I called down immediately and asked for another room. I was initially excited about room #2. It was larger and I thought it would work. Until I went to the bathroom and saw ants crawling all over the base of the toilet. Fainted.

After I came to, I called down and asked for yet another room. I would not be staying for five days with ants. It was just totally disgusting.

Room #3 was okay. I mean, it is an older property, so I wasn't sure how much more to expect after this. I probably could have played room shuffle all day. This room still did not meet my standards for cleanliness, so I called housekeeping and let them know what needed attention in my room. When I returned to inspect their work, there was still random hair in the shower. Irritated, I just cleaned the hair off myself. The room just did not look great. Cracked paint. Dingy, stained towels.

I just should not be cleaning up hair that is not mine in a Hilton bathroom.

There were so many problems, I could go on and on, so I'll just highlight. The bathroom tub was a bit clogged, so water drained out very slowly. So I took a great shower EVERY DAY with water up past my ankles. Yay. I was sick of telling the hotel what was wrong with their rooms so I just dealt with it.

When I would call down to ask for things like extra towels, the person would consistently act like they were hurrying to get off the phone. In fact, once when I called, I asked for extra towels. The person said okay and almost hung up. I asked him if he wanted to know how many extra towels I wanted. Many that I talked to here truly acted like I was getting on their nerves.

The hotel's fitness center was actually a gym open to the public and it closed at 9 pm everyday. Seriously? Many business travelers may need to work out later than that. But it wasn't too sad. Because that gym was one of the most beat down gyms I have ever seen. It is seriously in need of an overhaul. The good news was that I burned extra calories trying to hurry up and get out of that dusty place.

At one point when I was finally checking out, I was asking the concierge a question and letting him know that I was trying to figure out how to get my big bag and myself to a place where I could find a taxi. He gave me instructions and watched me fumble around with my bag and never offered to help. You can't be serious. It was raining outside and I had to walk through puddles and rain to get to the place where I could find a taxi. When I spoke to the concierge, there were multiple staff members there and none of them offered to help me. It was not easy to get where I had to go (which was still in the hotel) and I couldn't believe they did not offer to help.

I will NEVER, EVER, EVER stay here again if I can help it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
November 6, 2012

Malie

Dear Malie:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by extending my apologies for the series of concerns and disappointments that you have written about. I'm presently traveling on vacation but would be happy to speak with you personally in this matter when I return on Monday, November 12th. If you would like to provide me with a means to do so, please e-mail me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com or call and leave a message for me at 513 564-6401. I'll happy to review the matter with you then and resolve this to your satisfaction.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    631
    234
    90
    37
See reviews for
308
545
97
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't spend the night in this fabulous Art Deco building. But I did have a "fine dining" experience. It was nice to be pampered. When sitting, the waiter removed the white napkins from two of our place settings and replaced them with black ones. Because I had never experienced fine dining before I wasn't quite sure what that indicated. I found out later that two of us had on black pants and the switching of the napkins was to prevent while lint getting on our black pants. We each had a "white gloved" server and the "dance" (as I call it) that they did was phenomenal. We were each served at the precise moment in time. Spectacular! The food was superb and we were each given a "compliments of the chef" dish before dinner. I can't recommend the rooms because I didn't stay there but I can recommend Orchids at Palm Court in the Netherland Hotel. You have to witness it to love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A huge room, comfy bed, great buffet breakfast and located within walking distance of major attractions put this hotel on our list of hotels to revisit. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We will come here again.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbtraveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with lovely decor and a brilliant bar/restaurant. My room on the 18th floor was very large and comfortable with a nice view of the river and neighboring Kentucky. Located in the heart of Cincy, the hotel has proxinity to many attractions. Be sure to visit the Cincy Art Museum while in town as it is quite a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night due to a friends wedding.
Anytime we stay away from home we stay in a high end hotel.
Our room looked nothing like the picture on the website and was way overpriced for what it was.
Our Cadillac came back from the valet with a scratch down the fender.
After several phone calls we were only compensated $24.00 for our parking.
We were asking to be partially refunded for the room. The manager refused to work with us.
After all, who likes hearing your neighbors urine hit toilet water at 2am?
Very disappointing for several reasons......
The next time we stay in Cincinnati it wont be at the Hilton Netherland.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to a nicer room because you don't get anything extra for your buck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suunnykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
November 2, 2012

Dear Suunnykid:

Thank you for taking the time to write to us on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by extending my apologies to you for the concerns you have raised. I am presently on vacation, but if you would kindly contact Matthew Coffey, our Assistant General Manager at Matthew.Coffey@Hilton.com or, write to me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com, we'll be happy to look into the matter.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Created in 1931, sensitively restored in the 1980s, this national historic landmark is, without exception, the best hotel I have stayed in for many years. Exquisite surroundings that rejoice the heart; vast rooms with pleasant desks to work at; the best beds of any hotel I’ve known, for once with pillows to match (they don’t push back!); restaurant staff who accommodated a group of 20 with remarkable courtesy and efficiency; discreetly superb cuisine; a pleasure from beginning to end. Only suggestion to make: more space for lunch to avoid lineups (perhaps a second, simpler, bistro-pub restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask for a large room -- there are smaller ones. Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger41France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel. We’re the type that enjoys historical architecture, so we enjoyed touring the Art Deco building. Be sure to pick up a brochure for your self-guided tour, which includes interesting tidbits such as it was built in about one year (1930-1931) and once contained a fully automated parking garage.

The Belevedere Club on the sixteenth floor, a Hilton Honors perk, made our visit much more comfortable. There is a computer room, as well as complimentary wifi access, continental breakfast, and evening snacks. Alcoholic beverages are available for sale. Step out onto the terrace for some great views.

Each person on the staff we interacted with was very friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a spacious junior suite, probably since the hotel was sold out due to a sixteenth century academic conference. The layout was a bit old-fashioned, but comfortable. The only issue with the room was that the water run-off in the bedroom bathroom tub was a little slow. On the first night I was standing calf-deep in blue tinged water at the end of my shower. This was less severe in the living room bathroom, and might be due to a mismatch between the powerful shower head and drain capacity.

Wifi is available in the rooms through the standard Hilton/AT&T service for a daily fee, and it is free in the lobby. There was also some wiring work going on; we received a notice under the door each evening asking us if we would like to be moved, but we stayed without any problems. We just had to remove our personal toiletries from the bathroom.

The Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza is a very centrally located hotel with character. I would love to stay here again if I need to travel to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sokaiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing