We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Historic Hotel of America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Hotel of America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with lovely decor and a brilliant bar/restaurant. My room on the 18th floor was very large and comfortable with a nice view of the river and neighboring Kentucky. Located in the heart of Cincy, the hotel has proxinity to many attractions. Be sure to visit the Cincy Art Museum while in town as it is quite a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    653
    239
    92
    38
See reviews for
331
557
99
942
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night due to a friends wedding.
Anytime we stay away from home we stay in a high end hotel.
Our room looked nothing like the picture on the website and was way overpriced for what it was.
Our Cadillac came back from the valet with a scratch down the fender.
After several phone calls we were only compensated $24.00 for our parking.
We were asking to be partially refunded for the room. The manager refused to work with us.
After all, who likes hearing your neighbors urine hit toilet water at 2am?
Very disappointing for several reasons......
The next time we stay in Cincinnati it wont be at the Hilton Netherland.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to a nicer room because you don't get anything extra for your buck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suunnykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
November 2, 2012

Dear Suunnykid:

Thank you for taking the time to write to us on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by extending my apologies to you for the concerns you have raised. I am presently on vacation, but if you would kindly contact Matthew Coffey, our Assistant General Manager at Matthew.Coffey@Hilton.com or, write to me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com, we'll be happy to look into the matter.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Created in 1931, sensitively restored in the 1980s, this national historic landmark is, without exception, the best hotel I have stayed in for many years. Exquisite surroundings that rejoice the heart; vast rooms with pleasant desks to work at; the best beds of any hotel I’ve known, for once with pillows to match (they don’t push back!); restaurant staff who accommodated a group of 20 with remarkable courtesy and efficiency; discreetly superb cuisine; a pleasure from beginning to end. Only suggestion to make: more space for lunch to avoid lineups (perhaps a second, simpler, bistro-pub restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask for a large room -- there are smaller ones. Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger41France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel. We’re the type that enjoys historical architecture, so we enjoyed touring the Art Deco building. Be sure to pick up a brochure for your self-guided tour, which includes interesting tidbits such as it was built in about one year (1930-1931) and once contained a fully automated parking garage.

The Belevedere Club on the sixteenth floor, a Hilton Honors perk, made our visit much more comfortable. There is a computer room, as well as complimentary wifi access, continental breakfast, and evening snacks. Alcoholic beverages are available for sale. Step out onto the terrace for some great views.

Each person on the staff we interacted with was very friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a spacious junior suite, probably since the hotel was sold out due to a sixteenth century academic conference. The layout was a bit old-fashioned, but comfortable. The only issue with the room was that the water run-off in the bedroom bathroom tub was a little slow. On the first night I was standing calf-deep in blue tinged water at the end of my shower. This was less severe in the living room bathroom, and might be due to a mismatch between the powerful shower head and drain capacity.

Wifi is available in the rooms through the standard Hilton/AT&T service for a daily fee, and it is free in the lobby. There was also some wiring work going on; we received a notice under the door each evening asking us if we would like to be moved, but we stayed without any problems. We just had to remove our personal toiletries from the bathroom.

The Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza is a very centrally located hotel with character. I would love to stay here again if I need to travel to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sokaiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights while attending a conference. Upfront disclosure: I am very wary of older, renovated hotels with lavish praise of the lobby, artwork, and historic aspects, but rooms which lack such "amenities" as adequate electrical outlets and bathrooms with counter space. That said, the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza has done it right. There is well-deserved lavish praise of its historic aura, but our room was a comfortable size, electrical outlets everywhere,with sleek updated bathroom, immaculately clean, and nice amenities including refrigerator, drinkable in-room coffee, comfortable chairs, large flat-screen TV and pillows from soft to firm.

The Palm Bar is well worth taking time for a visit. We had pre-dinner drinks one evening, and enjoyed the ambience of renovated art work, the wall of mirrors, and excellent service, a very pleasant sense of the way hotels used to be. We also had an excellent lunch, with the best butternut squash bisque I've had anywhere.

The Belvedere Club (on the 16th Floor) was an unexpected pleasure, as a perk of my Hilton Honors membershp. We had breakfast there, which was free and generous. Hors d'ouvres and a cash bar in the afternoon made a pleasant break before dinner. The Belvedere Club is furnished like a men's club, with a separate room for the computers.

The location was ideal, easy walking to the convention center, restaurants, and shopping. We had no problems with noise from the street.

We would happily stay again at the Cincinnati Netherland Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbmNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
October 29, 2012

SBMNewMexico


Dear SBMNewMexico:

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate it.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. The hotel is a historical landmark, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed this aspect of your visit.

Thank you too for your excellent comments regarding your guestroom. We are very pleased to know that you and your husband were comfortable for your four night stay. We are happy to know that you enjoyed breakfast in Belvedere Club, our Gold and Diamond HHonors Lounge.

We’ll also convey your favorable comments regarding the Butternut Squash soup that we offer in the Palm Court Grille to our team!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights here and loved it. It is beautiful, the location is perfect, and my room was comfortable. Everyone I spoke with was very friendly. I did not have wifi and I didn't care at all. Forcing me to not work and enjoy a relaxing weekend is fine with me, and I knew it may be an issue before arriving from reading reviews. My only complaint is that you can really hear everything outside. There was a concert the first night, so this encouraged me to go out and enjoy it, but on quieter nights I realized that I could hear every little noise outside from the 21st floor. Overall, great stay!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank number2cac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
October 24, 2012

Number2CAC


Dear Number2CAC:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your three night stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your excellent comments about our staff and your guestroom. I’m pleased to report that as I’m writing you, our new ATT Stay Connect wired and wireless program is up and fully operational. This terrific new service provides great flexibility for our travelers in terms of the amount of bandwidth they need and the number of devices that they may use.

Thank you and again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights this weekend for a meeting. Every element will be appealing to those who like to look back at what real hotels looked like in the 30s-50s. The rooms were updated well although some may not yet have wireless access. The hotel is working on this, so you may want to specify a need when you book. You can spend half a day just touring the facility as it is beautiful and FULL of art deco work at every turn. The lobby restaurant and bar is unbelievable. It is attached to a mall area and is attached via skywalk to Macy's. Right next to Fountain Square, so it can be a little noisy if a night activity is going on there. Don't miss going to the top of the Carew Tower of which the hotel is a part. It is a neat elevator trip to the overlook. Food we had was very good, and there are lots of other choices near the hotel. Live jazz music in the bar on Friday night. This is a real hotel, and it is worth seeing and staying in.

Room Tip: Great views of river and Fountain Square if you can ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing