We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average for downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Below average for downtown”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I'm an everyday business traveler and found many aspects of this stay to be less than satisfactory. I'm fairly confident that the room I was provided was the smallest room I've stayed in. The rooms are also quite outdated, as the bathroom and closets are also small and inconveniently styled. The toilet has a kind of "gas station style" to it, not anything like you'd have in a home or hotel room. One of the telephones was also out of order.

I paid to have dry cleaning completed while on-site, and for some reason the bags were not brought back as advertised....I had to pick them up myself from the valet.

The worst part about the room was definitley the carpet....it had a very sticky feel to it. I've only experienced that in one other room (Holiday Inn, Terre Haute, IN). You should never expect that disgusting feeling in a name brand hotel located in a large city. I was repulsed to walk around in the room.

There were a few good items to note: The hotel provides access to a full gym in the lower level, free of charge. The front desk staff also seemed relatively friendly. The common areas of the hotel are well decorated and the lobby/restaurant have a good atmosphere at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bretts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
October 4, 2012

Bretts11

Dear Bretts11:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor survey for your stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Thank you too for providing your feedback regarding your stay. I would be happy to speak with you personally in regards to your comments. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com or 513 564-6401 to do so.

We apologize for the concern that our guest room bathroom commode caused. It is period correct for the hotel. We will certainly consider your feedback as we consider improvements to the hotel for the future. We are in the process of installing a new case good piece with refrigerator and safe along with an LG flat screen television. This furniture has made the small number of rooms we have remaining in our inventory of the size you described, more comfortable. Nevertheless, we regret that this was a concern.

Thank you too for sharing your concerns regarding our laundry service. We normally deliver laundry back to the guest rooms between 5:30 and 6:30 pm. Again, if you'd like to contact me, I'll be glad to review the matter in greater detail.

And finally, thank you for your "sticky carpet" comment. Unfortunately, the metering device for our air freshening process inadvertently went from 10% to 100%. This resulted in a much higher concentration of product being delivered to the carpet and resulted in the condition you have described. We have addressed this through a cleaning process and will continue to do so.

Thank you again and please feel free to contact me personally when your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    712
    266
    102
    40
See reviews for
380
621
108
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got this hotel by chance through Priceline "name your own price". How fortunate for us! I am interested in design and architecture so the Art Deco features and original finishes including Rookwood pottery were a delight. Dont miss the small guide book near the entry to the restaurant. It takes you through a "walking tour" of the hotel and explains key design elements along with the history of the hotel. Be sure to see the " Hall of Mirrors", the "Continental Room" and the Palm Court restaurant as areas of design interest.
The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable.
Staff were about the most friendly I've encountered anywhere. A special thanks to Amber who gave us a room with a view of the river and to Caleb who stopped us on our way out of the hotel to help us with driving directions.
Unfortunately I cannot name own price on Priceline for hotels in Cincinnati as I would want to make sure I got this hotel only.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Only downside was noise of rooftop units on other buildings. This loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during Oktoberfest. The location is excellent. The rooms are older and in need of updating, but it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms are small. Overall this was a good stay not exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kytraveltrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
September 27, 2012

KYTravelTrio


Dear KYTravelTrio:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to Cincinnati and the Netherland Plaza! We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati for Oktoberfest.

Thank you too for your comments on our guestrooms. We are pleased to know that you found your guestroom to be clean and the beds comfortable. We’ll certainly share this comment with our Housekeeping team. Thank you.

We are in the midst of making a variety of improvements to the guestrooms including a new piece of furniture that incorporates a guestroom safe and refrigerator. We are installing new LG high-definition televisions along with this. We anticipate completing these improvements in the next several weeks. We also look forward to many additional enhancements in the near future.

Thank you and if I may answer additional questions for you, please don’t hesitate to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed several times at this beautiful old hotel in downtown Cincinnati. The staff is always courteous and helpful, and the rooms are always clean. Any issues that I have had were always resolved quickly. Because it is a historic hotel, be prepared for very small bathrooms!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river (on the back of the hotel) and on the highest floor possible. The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UABecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was my first visit here and stayed in a suite on the 22nd floor. First, the accommodations were very nice and my bed, which is usually too soft or too hard was just right. I forgot my razor and called housekeeping who delivered it within 5 minutes even though they were busy with a major event in town.

The decor at this property is unmistakably art deco in design and was quite impressive. From the steel elevator doors to the accents, this is a throwback to a congenial time and everywhere you look you can see these distinctive accents.

I ate at Orchards Restaurant which has won many awards including the AAA Four Diamond designation. The food was superb as was the service. This is one place you have to try if for no other reason than to enjoy the lavish decor and surroundings (also Art Deco).

I would like to go back to Cincinnati and if I do I will definitely stay at this property.

Room Tip: One side overlooks the skyline and I would ask for a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night while in town to watch the Reds play. When checking in, the front desk overheard us talking that it was my birthday. She upgraded us to a room with a view! We had 2 queen beds, which were heavenly. Plenty of pillows. Nice sized walk in closet. Small bathroom, but very clean, and oversized fluffy towels! Be careful not to knock items off the bathroom shelf, as they can end up in the toilet! Oopps! We ordered room service and had breakfast in bed! We both had "The American" breakfast/ $13 each. Total bill with tip was around $35. They called and made sure that we had everything we ordered, nice touch. We were on the 21st floor and could hear the music from the "Octoberfest" going on around the fountain area, but we didn't mind. It is such a convenient location to stay. Valet parking is $24. We were not in town long enough to use the fitness facilities, but seemed very nice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We are Hilton Diamond members and have stayed at plenty of Hilton Hotels. I reserved the room and paid for a king size bed. When we checked in and entered our room we had what looked like two full size beds. My husband called the front desk and they sent someone up to show us another room. When we walked into the second room it was a smaller size room with one queen size bed. I was not happy because I had paid for a king bed and wanted a king bed. We were told that that was the king size offered in all Hilton Hotels. I knew that was a lie!!! After being disappointed and told there was nothing else available because it was New Years Eve and all the rooms were booked I figured I had to deal with the larger room and the two small beds. My look of disappointment must have bothered the young man that had showed us the other room because five minutes after being back in our room there was a knock on the door and we were escorted to a corner room with a king size bed. The bed was perfect and the room was even better. We were able to watch the New Year's Fireworks from our room and enjoyed the rest of our stay.
The front desk was not willing to help but I later found out that the young man that showed us around was a Bellboy and he personally went to the manager to further assist us. We thank him for his help!!!!

Room Tip: If something doesn't seem right ask to speak to a manager because you will not get service from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlnorton00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
September 24, 2012

JLNorton


Dear JLNorton:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your New Year’s Eve stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati. As a Diamond HHonors guest, your comments are very important to us.

Thank you too for sharing your experience with your guestroom assignment. I would be happy to review this with you if you would like to contact me with your confirmation number or the HHonors number that you stayed under. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

In the meantime I’m pleased to hear that a member of our guest services team responded to your request for a king size bed. I’ll certainly share your comment with our staff.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,252 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,075 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
866 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing