We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel for a room or an event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel for a room or an event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our first stay at this hotel was two years ago when we had booked rooms and a brunch for my daughter's wedding. The hotel is incredibly beautiful and well maintained. I was particularly impressed with the service of the catering manager, Kelly Carrigan who was efficient, well organized and always attentive to my needs. We had 50 out of town guests that stayed at this hotel and a brunch to organize. It was a challenge organizing everyone's accomodations because each guest had different needs with regard to their room size, length of stay, and parking needs. I couldn't have asked for a better person to work with! Everything went off without any problems and all the guests raved about their stay.
We booked a room over Christmas weekend this year while we were visiting our children and new grandbaby. There were 3 adults staying in our room. I booked a queen suite which had 2 queen beds in the bedroom and a separate living room area. It also had 2 full bathrooms - which was a wonderful surprise! Our price included the brunch everyday which was very good - with both hot and cold foods, fresh squeezed juices and they would special order an omlette if you desired. The biggest treat was the Sunday Brunch on Christmas! This was in the main dining room and the food stations covered half of the ballroom! The food and presentation were outstanding, as well as the service of the wait staff!
The pros of this hotel are the outstanding service in every aspect of the hotel and the beautiful decor. The cons are the parking - which is done through a separate garage company. But there are skywalks between the buildings so you don't ever have to go outdoors. The other con is the lack of free internet. If you want wireless in your room, it is an additional $10 a day. However, if you book a room with "Belvedere Privileges" you will have access to a special lounge with free computers, sodas, appetizers, and continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a room with "Belvedere Club Privileges". It is well worth the few extra dollars to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmgsolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    694
    254
    99
    40
See reviews for
364
604
106
992
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

I recently stayed here with my husband, and I'm not sure I would stay again. The staff was nice and the lobby was beautiful, but the rooms are very tired looking and extremely small. I understand that the hotel is old, but its time for an update. Also, the walls are so thin that we had trouble sleeping- you could hear everything, from the people next door to the traffic below (and we were on the 26th floor). I did like the location, but I think there are better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lous22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

While traveling "home to Ohio" from Georgia this week, we spent a lovely night at this beautiful, historic, art deco hotel. With cold temps and snow falling, downtown Cincy was alive with people in town enjoying holiday concerts and decorations and the outdoor skating at Fountain Square. The hotel is across the street from the square so an easy walk for sure. Front desk staff was cheerful, professional and welcoming. The hotel bar and restaurant were jammed with well-dressed folks having fun and the gingerbread city set-up in the lobby is one of the finest you'll ever see. A welcome note from the hotel manager welcomed us to our room with warm chocolate chip cookies and cold milk. My wife preferred the chocolate-dipped strawberries that we're there too. Our room was well-appointed, clean and very comfortable. And the valet parking guys were gracious and happy to mind our car which was full of presents for the rest of the trip. We thank the hotel manager and staff for an enjoyable visit and look forward to our next trip to "Zinz-zinnati"!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Since reviews are mixed let me say that Deluxe Room 2511 WAS Deluxe in every way. We had asked for upper level w/ river view in a quiet location and were nicely accommodated. Here are the particulars: the general area of the room is 15'x18' not counting entrance and bath. There are (2) closets - one is a walk-in that is 2.5' x 6' and the other is the standard clothes closet. We had (2) very comfortable beds w/ nice bedding and four pillows each, desk w/ chair, x-tra chair, club chair w/ ottoman, and large armoire w/ older style RCA TV. The bathroom was small but fine. Counter space is a 4' long shelf over the sink and water closet. The room had a coffee maker, which I really appreciate. We parked across the street on Race at the Tower Plaza for $15 (24 hrs.). As others have said the lobby is grand style Art Deco and is amazing. The Palms Court lounge was very busy w/ parties and locals. Walk to everything downtown or use the Skyway, lots of restaurants nearby and Fountain Square within sight. Check-in was smooth and friendly as was check-out. I have absolutely nothing but good things to say about this hotel. I would recommend it and would reserve there again on a return trip.

Room Tip: High level is always Best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I'll start by saying, overall I really enjoyed the hotel. The lobby area makes the hotel feel a little more grand than the actual rooms. Here are my pros and cons:

Positives:
1. The location! This hotel is in the heart of Cincinnati. You are literally next door to Saks and Macy's, walking distance to the square, several blocks away from the Arena and Stadium.
2. The lobby is absolutely beautiful. They did a great job of historically preserving the hotel and educating the traveller on the history. I was almost able to picture myself having tea with Winston Churchhill in the restaurant.
3. Great food options nearby. The #1 ranked restaurant in Cincinnati was in the lobby area of the hotel, Bruegger's bagels and Starbucks were a block away, Morton's Steakhouse and a Brazilian restaurant were attached to the hotel (shared with the Hyatt)
4. Access to a gym with a pool ( better equipped for men-- but have lots of elipticals)
5. Service was superb! Great management.
6. We stayed in an "executive room" and had access to the conceirge level. Very nice perk

Negatives:
1. Hotel internet has a cost. There are two computers in the lobby area that are for guests to use but they are SLOW. The computers in the conceirge level are only accessible during the hours that the lounge is open (breakfast and cocktail hour). I recommend using the computer at Kinko's for 20 cents a minute attached to the Hyatt
2. Parking is a pain! You have to pay $5 for any time under 12 hours (even if you are just in the room for an hour) and $15 for any time over 12 hours. We paid about $45 for the weekend to park!
3. The rooms DESPRATELY need an update. Someone posted in an earlier post that the "80's called and want their decor back" and I think the statement stands true. They were clean-- but incredibly disappointing.
4. The beds were just so-so. My pillow was too soft and the mattress uncomfortable. If I were to stay there again, I might bring my own pillow.

Bottom line: Would I stay here again? Depends on the rate. The location is AWESOME and the hotel has charm that the Hyatt next door does not. However, the rooms are nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The elegance and sophistication of the art deco common areas is long forgotten by the time you reach the guest room floors. Tiny "suites", no bathroom counters and exposed pipes along the ceiling come as a cost when staying in a historic landmark.

What I cannot overlook is the 1980s decor in the rooms. As a Diamond Level traveler with Hilton, I received a suite near terribly noisy elevators, dirty carpet, out dated furniture, uncomfortable beds, chipped paint and sterile white walls. The small tube tv tells me that this hotel is way over due for an update. It was like staying in my parents bedroom from 1985, but much dirtier.
This hotel needs to update the rooms, period. No argument can be made about the room decor being antique, its just dated. Unless you must stay downtown, there are much better Hilton options very close.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank regionalcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed on the Diamond Member floor but everybody and location within the hotel was a joy to interact with and I saw others being treated the same. From the valet, to the front desk to the greeting from the concierge as I walked by. People would ask if they could assist me if I looked lost. The valet always held the door. The night service staff remembered me from the day before and asked if I enjoyed the treats from the day before and made a special trip to see that I got more. The lounge had nice quality food and view. The cookies are to die for delicious and warm. The hours are very manageable. The hotel is attached to shopping and has a wonderful restaurant onsite as well as many options via closed skyways that would be nice. My room had a 2 person jacuzzi and was huge. Very quiet room even though I was by an elevator. VERY NICE property and staff!!!! Wish all Hiltons were so attentive to their client's needs and preference.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Today123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing