We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average-but close to the sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
florida
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“average-but close to the sites”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed there during our visit to Creation Museum and other sites in the area. Our room has some pink stains on the wallpaper and some stains on the carpet, it looks like they tried there best to clean it. Our rooms were clean other than that and we had good sleep. There is an old abandoned motel behind so we drove anywhere at night for food, the pool is in a lower area next to this abandoned motel. Not much within walking distance. the breakfast was the usual HIE breakfast, except this one was out of fruit on the day we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilstowerwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    63
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
77
29
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here recently because of a family funeral. It was very nice that they offered a bereavement rate. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and plenty of hot water for our morning shower. Yes, there are a couple of stains on the carpet, but we've seldom stayed in hotels where that wasn't the case. The hot breakfast was very good. Now that we know this hotel is so close to family in Western Cincinnati, we would definitely stay here for every overnight visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is not near King's Island as King's Island discription says, this hotel is more then 30 minutes away.
The eating area was nice, clean and hostess was friendly. Yes, pool is outside and not totally clean, garbage and cigarette butts plus all outside pools have bird droppings. The view for both has much to be desired-abandoned property right next door
Room airconditoner was really noisy. All night long kicking in and winding up like a plane.
Big complaint: Someone went through our things while we were gone from room. Charger cords were pulled out of bag and other bags rummaged through. Thank goodness we did not leave any money/valuables in the room while we were out. Lock it up!

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room they face the back of property- not pretty use 2nd floor and up. Pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambiIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear BambiIllinois,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Cincinnati, OH.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed at quite a few HIE over the years and this one is probably at the bottom of the list. It's not BAD but then again it's not the Renissance O'Hare either. The rooms could use some updating and a thorough cleaning. Mildew in the bathtub and stains on the ceiilng are just a few of the items noted.

My biggest issue was with the A/C. I'm not sure if it just needed a good cleaning or what but the smell it produced was pure mildew (you know....that smell you get when you put away a wet tent and then take it out weeks later....that smell).

The door to our room was also extremely hard to open.

Front desk...top notch as always.

Pool...REALLY old and patched up outdoor pool...has seen it's better days.

Location...pretty convenient to anything around Cincinnati...make sure you have a 4-wheel drive to get yourself up into the parking lot as the motel sits on the side of a VERY large hill.

Pillows...HIE does offer "soft" and "firm" pillows on each bed (notated by the clever pillow case embroidery). I'm not sure if anyone pays attention when they put the cases on the pillows though. I certainly couldnt tell "soft" from "firm". These have to be the loudest pillows around too. The type of pillow when you move your head it sounds like someone is cracking peanut shells in your ears.

Door (again)....I fully understand putting the type of handles on the door that allows the elderly or handicap the abilty to open the door...but cant someone make a 'Do Not Disturb' sign that will stay on this crazy thing and not keep falling on the floor every time you open the door? We put robot rovers on Mars but HIE cannot get a door placard that stays put. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is adequate for a night. Fairly clean rooms. Ok for a quick one night stay. Pool not very nice or clean. Quick highway access, shops and food nearby. Friendly staff. Disgusting property next door though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjgdb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've not got a lot of experience with HI Express properties, but this is a perfectly nice motel and a good place to spend a night if you are traveling through Cincinnati. The property is a bit worn, but very clean and well run. The breakfast is perfectly adequate, and the breakfast room is huge with plenty of room to accommodate several families. We didn't use the pool, but it looked quite nice for a motel pool. I'd definitely stay there again if it were at a price point of $80 or lower.

One quick point - this is a four "star" property relative to other motels on the Interstate. This isn't a Hyatt or Westin style property, nor should you expect it to be. I'm rating this in comparison to other motels on the road... Hampton Inn, Fairfield Inn, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tribe1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had a quick business trip in Cincinnati and booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express. It is very neat and presentable on the outside and is within an area where there are numerous restaurants, gas stations and places to shop.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful. My room, though, was dated and drab for my taste. I personally would not want to stay in the room for more than one night - kind of depressing, However, the star of the room was the bed - maybe one of the most confortable I have slept in. And at the end of the day, that's what we're looking to find.
The bathroom was very small but the double queen room had ample space.
I stayed on the fourth floor away from the elevator and it stayed very quiet; although the older AC unit continued to make noise the entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnzGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati-Eastgate
21.2 mi away
Best Western Clermont
Best Western Clermont
#14 of 52 in Cincinnati
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Forest Park
Comfort Suites Forest Park
#28 of 52 in Cincinnati
153 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Cincinnati
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
Address: 5505 Rybolt Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45248-1029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our western Cincinnati hotel is centrally located to where you want to be! Located only 10 miles from downtown Cincinnati, the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West is central to Cincinnati's business centers and tourist attractions. Located off I-74 at exit 11, Rybolt Road, and only 15 miles from Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport, your hotel is within just a few minutes of 4 Cincinnati convention centers. Duke Energy Convention Center, Northern Kentucky Convention Center, Wyoming Civic Center, and Sharonville Convention Center are all within fifteen miles of our hotel. Our Cincinnati accommodations also offer close proximity to many corporate businesses, including Proctor & Gamble (P&G), General Electric (GE), Kroger Company and Chiquita Brands. Getting to tourist attractions is easy from your western Cincinnati hotel, which is only a short drive from downtown Cincinnati and Newport on the Levee. Sports fans will appreciate our close proximity to the stadiums of both the Cincinnati Reds and the Cincinnati Bengals. Other nearby attractions include Kings Island and the Argosy Casino in Lawrenceburg, IN. Your hotel offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access along with a Hot Breakfast each day. The hotel also features an outdoor pool with sun deck, a fitness center and a business center. Come and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Hotel Cincinnati
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing