We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$166
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
$166
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$172
$149
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$156
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites(Cincinnati)(Great Value!)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
60
67
35
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
67
35
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoke detectortennis tournamentthe breakfast areayogurtquiet locationspent one nightin great shapevery nice place to staynext morningnice breakfastfree breakfastshort stayflat screen tvroom ratecomfortable bedice machineroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 179 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is not near King's Island as King's Island discription says, this hotel is more then 30 minutes away.
The eating area was nice, clean and hostess was friendly. Yes, pool is outside and not totally clean, garbage and cigarette butts plus all outside pools have bird droppings. The view for both has much to be desired-abandoned property right next door
Room airconditoner was really noisy. All night long kicking in and winding up like a plane.
Big complaint: Someone went through our things while we were gone from room. Charger cords were pulled out of bag and other bags rummaged through. Thank goodness we did not leave any money/valuables in the room while we were out. Lock it up!

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room they face the back of property- not pretty use 2nd floor and up. Put your valuables away in your car- do not leave them in the room. Always check your bed for bugs. WE did NOT find any here. But always tear that bed apart.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambiIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear BambiIllinois,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Cincinnati, OH.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed at quite a few HIE over the years and this one is probably at the bottom of the list. It's not BAD but then again it's not the Renissance O'Hare either. The rooms could use some updating and a thorough cleaning. Mildew in the bathtub and stains on the ceiilng are just a few of the items noted.

My biggest issue was with the A/C. I'm not sure if it just needed a good cleaning or what but the smell it produced was pure mildew (you know....that smell you get when you put away a wet tent and then take it out weeks later....that smell).

The door to our room was also extremely hard to open.

Front desk...top notch as always.

Pool...REALLY old and patched up outdoor pool...has seen it's better days.

Location...pretty convenient to anything around Cincinnati...make sure you have a 4-wheel drive to get yourself up into the parking lot as the motel sits on the side of a VERY large hill.

Pillows...HIE does offer "soft" and "firm" pillows on each bed (notated by the clever pillow case embroidery). I'm not sure if anyone pays attention when they put the cases on the pillows though. I certainly couldnt tell "soft" from "firm". These have to be the loudest pillows around too. The type of pillow when you move your head it sounds like someone is cracking peanut shells in your ears.

Door (again)....I fully understand putting the type of handles on the door that allows the elderly or handicap the abilty to open the door...but cant someone make a 'Do Not Disturb' sign that will stay on this crazy thing and not keep falling on the floor every time you open the door? We put robot rovers on Mars but HIE cannot get a door placard that stays put. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is adequate for a night. Fairly clean rooms. Ok for a quick one night stay. Pool not very nice or clean. Quick highway access, shops and food nearby. Friendly staff. Disgusting property next door though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjgdb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've not got a lot of experience with HI Express properties, but this is a perfectly nice motel and a good place to spend a night if you are traveling through Cincinnati. The property is a bit worn, but very clean and well run. The breakfast is perfectly adequate, and the breakfast room is huge with plenty of room to accommodate several families. We didn't use the pool, but it looked quite nice for a motel pool. I'd definitely stay there again if it were at a price point of $80 or lower.

One quick point - this is a four "star" property relative to other motels on the Interstate. This isn't a Hyatt or Westin style property, nor should you expect it to be. I'm rating this in comparison to other motels on the road... Hampton Inn, Fairfield Inn, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tribe1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had a quick business trip in Cincinnati and booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express. It is very neat and presentable on the outside and is within an area where there are numerous restaurants, gas stations and places to shop.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful. My room, though, was dated and drab for my taste. I personally would not want to stay in the room for more than one night - kind of depressing, However, the star of the room was the bed - maybe one of the most confortable I have slept in. And at the end of the day, that's what we're looking to find.
The bathroom was very small but the double queen room had ample space.
I stayed on the fourth floor away from the elevator and it stayed very quiet; although the older AC unit continued to make noise the entire stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnzGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews