We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Somerset
1 review
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My two sisters and my cousin and I spent the weekend in Cincinnatti and stayed at the Garfield Suites in downtown. I booked online and felt the cost was cheap for what we got..a full kitchen, livingroom, balcony and two bedrooms. The rooms were clean, the staff was expecially friendly and helpful, all the time. The restaraunt in the hotel was very nice with good service. The one service that really made our weekend was the motor service. They took us to where we wanted to go and then came back an picked us up. We did have to hire a taxi, from Mt. Adams, because we stayed out past thier service time. The two guys who took care of this service were so fun, informative and helpful.They also had a great workout room but we didn't use it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan on returning each time I go to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbarajeanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The rooms in this hotel are very spacious. However, they are in dire need of rehab. There is wallpaper in the kitchen, and the furniture is seriously outdated. Unfortunately, on our first night, the fire alarm was tripped by an individual smoking a cigarette outside which caused a huge inconvenience for the guests of the hotel. However, the fire department arrived promptly to ensure that the problem with the smoke in the building was taken care of. On a positive note, Cafe Martin (the bar in the hotel) has an excellent grilled chicken side caesar salad. I recommend trying it, as you would be extremely pleased. All in all, I would recommend this hotel as a "you get what you pay for" hotel, as the accommodations are comfortable yet sub-par.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divaheart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cincinnati hotels

Covington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2010

As soon as I walked in this hotel I was greeted very respectively by the staff. They are constant professionals at the Garfield. The hotel is in a great location downtown Cincinnati and the rooms are huge! I am a neat freak and I was so impressed with the super clean, well kept rooms. Hope you give this hotel a chance to impress you, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell4930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The entire staff at the Garfield are professional, kind and curtious and provided outstanding service during my stay. You get so much more than a room which makes for a wonderful extended stay. The location is great, just a couple blocks from Fountain Square, with many choices for dining. You don't have to leave to get a wonderfully prepared meal at the Cafe Martin.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel. We thought we were getting a so called "penthouse". This was one of the ugliest rooms ive ever stayed in. It looks nothing like the pictures. That I wouldnt have minded. It was the cleanliness or rather lack of. There was grime everywhere, dirty floors, streaked windows, it was awful. We tried to change rooms but they were "booked". We stayed one night and got out of there. We apparently bought guests back with us. We are now fighting a bedbug infestation that the bug experts say came from there. It is costing us thousands to fix. I am a very clean person and will not let my home have ONE bug. If you value your home and your health do not stay here, no matter how great they make it sound. Trust me, it will be a HUGE mistake.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank laurasmith08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
The Garfield Suites Hotel would like to respond first by mentioning that we have not been contacted by this guest, but would welcome a phone call to determine the name under which the room was registered, the room number and dates of stay. We are very interested in learning more about this incident and will respond immediately.

As you are probably already aware, bedbugs have impacted hotels, schools, hospitals and even movie theaters all across the United States. The Garfield Suites Hotel is, according to the Hamilton County Ohio Health Department, taking the most proactive approach we've ever seen from any hotel. It is important to mention to the layperson, that the presence of bedbugs is no indication of poor housekeeping. Unlike ants or roaches, bedbugs are not attracted to food, dirt or garbage. Like mosquitos, bedbugs are attracted to people and warm-blooded animals. They are transported by people. There is no hotel in the US that is immune from the threat of a bedbug infestation, but, with proper education, training of staff, a proactive approach utilizing pest control professionals, and a proper appropriation of money budgeted to prevention of infestation, the problem can be minimalized.

Rest assured that The Garfield Suites Hotel is doing everything possible and everything known to combat this problem. The Garfield's program of prevention and our executive housekeeper's expertise is often used as a best practices example for other hotels in Cincinnati. It is our livelihood and our mission to provide excellent accommodations and friendly hospitality to our guests. It is also my job and my obligation to our guests to clearly communicate our program that is currently in place here at the Garfield. I am very proud to confidently report that the Garfield Suites Hotel is outperforming and outspending the competition on this issue. I am glad to say that we are taking every known effort and spending a great deal of money (an estimated $70,000.00 in prevention, abatement and treatment this year ) to combat this issue as follows:

1. Intensive Training - our first line of defense is our hourly room attendants. Training the daily housekeeper on identifying the warning signs of a potential problem and then reporting the evidence to supervisors is critical. It is also noteworthy to mention that our executive housekeeper has been with us for 21 years and is very educated on this subject.
2. Daily Proactive Inspections - In addition to our hourly room attendants inspections, our managerial staff performs daily visual inspections with flashlights of mattresses, box-springs, bedding and headboards. They also remove artwork from the walls and check for any residual evidence of bedbugs.
3. Weekly Professional Inspections - The Garfield Suites subcontracts to a professional pest control company perform intensive weekly inspections of rooms utilizing high-powered light by a trained professional.
4. Bedbug-Sniffing Dog - the Garfield employs (at a very high expense) the services of a bedbug sniffing dog. Perfection Pest Control is contracted as a certified dog handler and dog that has been trained specifically to alert (bark like crazy) when detecting the presence of bedbugs, (alive or dead) or bedbug eggs. The dog is in the hotel weekly for proactive searches.
5. Steam - Bedbugs are heat sensitive and die at temperatures of above 130 degrees Fahrenheit. They are also very efficient hitchhikers. In the event of a suspected problem, The Garfield has purchased a large luggage steamer.... guest's luggage is placed in this machine, raised to a temperature of 220 degrees Fahrenheit to kill any live bugs or eggs - thus eliminating the further transport of live bugs into the next environment.
6. Mattress and Box Spring encasements - The Garfield has purchased mattress and box spring encasements - these are zippered encasements that prevent bedbugs from nesting in the beds.... although helpful, this approach isn't foolproof as bedbugs may nest in furniture, carpet, also.... we have installed these encasements on floors 4,5 and 6... and waiting for the shipment for the remaining floors.
7. Mattress and Box Spring condition - It is important that mattresses and box springs are in good, untorn condition... our beds in our hotel are all relatively new... purchased in 2009.
8. Thorough treatment to eliminate recidivism in infested rooms - When a problem is acknowledged, we remove wall plates, electrical covers, carpet to ensure the chemical treatment is 100% successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The rooms are very large for the money that you pay. The staff is friendly and eager to please!! You will not find a better value in Cincinnati. I travel to Cincinnati several time a year and I will always stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SupplyTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This hotel has an incredible staff, you feel like royality. Large comfortable rooms, every business trip feels like a true vacant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sss4822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing