We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garfield Suites Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$160
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$142
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$157
$135
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cincinnatian Hotel(Cincinnati)
$220
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites(Cincinnati)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$140
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$97
$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveler rating
334
243
143
107
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
243
143
107
89
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 916 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay at the Garfield numerous times a year on business trips to Cincinnati, and consistently have found it to be a comfortable, secure, and pleasant experience. Above all, the staff is makes the place, from the desk help to the shuttle drivers and restaurant service, each ready to help as needed.

Some reviewers note that the place can use updating; perhaps, but the rooms are always clean (and if not, it is quickly addressed) and certainly have ample space. I found the ambience much more appealing than the cookie-cutter sameness of many other area hotels. And the location allows for a wide experience of the downtown area, with numerous choices for restaurants and activities within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckendzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Garfield Suites Hotel through a room block for an event we were attending in the neighborhood. The good: true apartment sized suite had plenty of room--two bedrooms to be exact. The bad: the suite had the look and feel of a college apartment. It was fully equipped--full-sized appliances, etc., a wide screen TV in the living room, but old-picture tube style sets in the bedrooms. It could be a great place if the ownership would sink millions into a renovation to bring it up to current hotel standards. Our suite was fine, but shabby. Don't book here if you are used to hotel luxury and high thread count bedding.

It's in a convenient, downtown location. Self-parking with in-out privileges at $10 per night is available in an attached public garage, not a bad price for a downtown hotel in a large city.

Looking at the other reviews, many seem to feel it's a love it or hate it kind of place. For the price it rates a not bad.

One kind of quirky thing that we noticed is a fairly constant 2-3 guest line at the front desk. Be prepared to wait awhile whenever you want to talk to a desk clerk or to have your parking ticket validated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laz1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed at several hotels in Cincinnati that are priced in this range that are much cleaner and well maintained. The room was dirty, dingy and smelled horrible. Appeared to be an old apartment building (layout) that has not received any care for 20 years.
On a positive note, if you are looking for space, this is big and roomy for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsd271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The accommodation at this downtown hotel is truly huge. The room I was in consisted of a large bedroom and additional large sitting room. The bathroom was on the small side but completely adequate, and there was a full kitchen complete with oven, cook top, dishwasher and full size fridge. If you want to self cater this is definitely the hotel in Cincinnati to book, and although the mini mart across the road is expensive and not well stocked, the hotel has a free shuttle bus that can take you to the markets over the Rhine for good value fruit, vegetables and meats if you do want cook for yourself. The only downside is that the rooms have not been updated for several decades and the kitchen in particular has that definite 1970s "vintage" look and feel. However, the rooms were spotless, comfortable and well kept, and the vintage feel was more a source of humor rather than annoyance.

The other positive of this hotel is the staff. In all conversations I had, they were polite, efficient and very keen to please. All in all this is a good mid priced downtown option for Cincinnati.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sicklizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had wanted to stay at this property in spite of all the multiple bad reviews about it. However, I will never stay there now after my experience. I first received inaccurate information from booking a reservation through a .com service. When I learned I was given false information about this hotel's limited shuttle service needed for my doctor's appointment I tried to cancel. I was put on hold for so long I had to hang up. After a day of flying to reach Cincinnati I called this hotel again. Not only can you not expect a "normal, average, quality" room that you can find at the same rate at a modest chain, but you also cannot expect the same quality, professionalism in the tone and attitude of some of their staff. Expect Motel 6 (worse if you read the reviews) without the light left on for ya.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Papagotro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for posting this! This is a good and fair warning to everyone. There are many third party companies on the internet phishing for commissions. Always ask your operator if they are physically IN the hotel you are calling and not located in some offsite 3rd party call center. If the operator is NOT physically in the hotel you are calling find the correct phone for the hotel and ask to speak to an in-house reservationist. Garfield Suites is proud to be consistently ranked among the top 10 hotels in Cincinnati year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews