We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD! Needs renovated...But right downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewed June 13, 2012

You can't beat the location, but we were greatly misled by the photos. While the lobby looks fully renovated the rest of the hotel leaves much to be desired. The rooms were clean I guess, but all the furniture and decor is really old Goodwill type furniture. The people in front of us checking in where complaining about their room and as soon as we stepped off the elevator we knew why. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 915 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have had the best possible service at this hotel. It is affordable, clean, and extremely convenient to downtown Cincinnati activities.

I will be sure to revisit this hotel for every stay in the area.

I look forward to my next event in Cincinnati and my next stay at Garfield Suites.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Garfield suites is the best I've stayed at the Garfield suites for 2 yr in a row for the flying pig weekend. We had the 3 bedroom penthouse suite and it was beautiful. The 2 bedroom suite is also very nice. The staff are awesome anything we needed they saw that we had it. Going back next year for the 3 year in a row thank you Garfield suites for helping me make memories.
Tanya

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marathongirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Totally outdated hotel. This place needs a makeover. All the furniture in the rooms is from the 1960's. The pull out sofa bed was a joke, no padding on the mattress at all. No ice machine in the hotel, you have to go to the front desk and ask for it. Elevators were very slow and took forever. You are also two blocks away from a very bad part of Downtown. The staff was helpful in getting us reservations at restaurants which was good being that it was a busy weekend and waits were over two hours in some places other than that not much to like about this place, very disappointing. I guess there is something to be said about staying in decent hotels and this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay at the Westin or the Cincinnatian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on June 9, 2012. Some of the online reviews were mixed, so I was curious to see the hotel. This is a suite hotel. Each room has a full fridge, stove, and kitchen. The rooms are huge, although the furniture and fixtures are very dated. In a hip hotel, this would be considered ironic. The room rate from Expedia was $122 for the night including taxes which included free parking in a nearby garage. The hotel has a small restaurant and bar. The staff was friendly. Even though the hotel does not have an ice machine (because each room has ice trays), the front desk brought me a bag of ice for my cooler as I was checking out. Another couple in our group received an upgrade to a two bedroom suite with a balcony for free. The location is very close to Fountain Square and some decent restaurants.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank nalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently spent two night at this property. The staff was kind and helpful, and the shuttle bus was very convenient. The location is good if you want to walk to restaurants downtown. But, the hotel needs renovation. Our room was not as clean as it should have been. The rugs looked soiled and the bathroom needed a good scrub. The suite concept is so attractive when traveling, and a centrally located hotel is a plus. it's unfortunate that this hotel has not been kept up because it could be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floor looked a whole lot better than our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a great stay at the Garfield. We were fortunate to be booked into the Ulysses Grant suite on the 16th floor. It is a 2 story room with an additional stairway going from the second floor up to a private patio on the roof - just amazing. We thought the room had lots of character. We walked to the Reds game and back and felt completely safe at night. We were able to walk most of the downtown area easily from the hotel so the location is great. The staff is friendly and they do have free parking. It greatly exceeded our expectation for the price we paid. We'll definately stay at the Garfield next time we go to Cincinnati.

Room Tip: Ask for the Grant suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t777jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,124 reviews
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#17 of 51 in Cincinnati
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range: $99 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing