We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Left Without Ordering” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinese Imperial Inn

Chinese Imperial Inn
Ranked #1,081 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
570 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“I Left Without Ordering”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Based on the good reviews I decided to try this place. Apparently they were having a melt-down the evening I arrived. I was the only customer there except for another person at the counter waiting for a take out order. A woman was rushing back and forth from the register to the kitchen and back again shouting things to the kitchen in Chinese, trying to get the takeout ready, answering the phone, adding up the bill and ignoring me, of course. Finally two little girls who looked to be about eight years old came out with a glass of water for me. I sat there and watched this lady running back and forth and guessed they had an abundance of take out orders and a shortage of help that night. I never saw the Chinese menu some of the other reviewers mentioned and after five minutes or so I finally got up and left. I noticed most of the reviews were from 2012 so maybe something has changed. If I ever go back there I am going to have a "Plan B" for dinner in case the same thing happens again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We grab takeout from here about once a month and are never dissapointed. Delicious food at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltrix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went to Chinese Imperial Inn for lunch (we had just come out of the post office and smelled something wonderful in the air). I ordered the chicken and broccoli (usually it comes with "white sauce" but I ordered it with "dark sauce"). It came with steamed rice and wonton soup. This was the best tasting chicken dish I have ever tasted and the price was great! My husband ordered a noodle dish. He loved it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaTras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Low Prices, Extensive Menu, No-Frills decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant is one of my local favorites. It also appears to be a favorite among the local Chinese community, because it always has a steady number of Chinese-heritage patrons. You can order on-menu or off-menu, although the menu is large, and partly hand-written. When you dine here, you are going to get great food! However, if you are seeking a seeking that expensive dcor theme - nope, not at this restaurant. Good news is that the prices are incredibly reasonable! If you go during lunch, you will be get a very hearty meal at a super price. I am still working my way through the menu, and simply recommend that you get what you like!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST authentic Chinese Seafood place in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The place is a typical "hole in the wall" but the food is excellent.....I don't go to Chinese restaurants for "ambience". They have two menus, the "American Chinese Food" and the authentic chinese food. I highly recommend the Lobster Twin Tails in ginger sauce, and if you order fried rice, get the Yang Chow fried rice WITHOUT soy sauce. The seaweed, cold appetizer is good too, as is the rock-salt pork (they also have rock-salt tofu, rock-salt squid, rock-salt smelt). The Beef with green onions is good for those less adventurous. My absolute favorite though is the razor clams in black bean sauce; but they don't always have that available. Try the place if you're a real food, you won't be disappointed. Skip the dimsum brunch though, I've had better @ Bon's Chinese Restaurant in Montgomery.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theg8kpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Imperial Inn also viewed

 

Been to Chinese Imperial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing