We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection. Seriously.”
Review of Symphony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Symphony Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection. Seriously.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful. Welcoming. The 1800s Victorian is convenient to everything. Staff is warm, intelligent, helpful. Parking off street works well. Tour of the new generous additions is architecturally delightful with 2nd floor spacious and classic comfort furnished deck covered with the pergola playing with sunset lights. The first floor boutique bar includes everything for everybody. That's not all. Style and color is reflected harmoniously in every detail in the entire inn from the unique artistry of the tile work to High Victorian plasterwork with beautiful color choices in between. Selections made by staff for room amenities offer something for everyone, including outstanding chocolates for turn down gifts. Nearby was a short walk to elegant fish dinners at The Anchor plus the historic Findley Market with infinite food choices. As a historic preservationist, it is a joy to write this in hopes you enjoy Cincy to the fullest.

Room Tip: Room options include 2 bedroom room suite possibility with The Beethoven room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Cynthia,

It was such a pleasure meeting you & Drew this weekend! Thank you for the beautiful write up on

our historic OTR building & we are very pleased that you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us!

We also appreciate you coming down to dine with us in our historic dining room for dinner!

Hope your mini vacation was a very memorable experience for you & a breather for you as well...

Many Thanks, Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
72
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Symphony Hotel for two nights while in town for a graduation. We had tickets to the Reds' game Monday and Tuesday so we wanted to stay downtown within walking distance of Great American Ballpark. The Symphony Hotel was the perfect choice. I don't know how I found it on the web but I'm very glad I did. The Symphony Hotel has tremendous character, a great staff, convenient location and the price is definitely right! There is also a rooftop patio that is wonderful. No more generic box hotels for us in Cincinnati!

The free continental breakfast is very good but one morning we opted to order omelettes. Our chef was Tim and he made me the best omelette I've ever had. Dennis, our server, made us feel welcome and took great care of us. Colleen, the general manager, was always available to answer questions.

We were concerned about parking availability before we arrived but it was no problem. There is ample room in their lot in the back and it is well-lit.

We will definitely be back. Like a previous reviewer, I want to let everyone know what a great place this is!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
So glad you picked us to be apart of your adventure here in Cincinnati!
We are always here to make your stay feel like home away from home & happy
to hear that you enjoyed everything about us including our breakfast & staff!

Thanks again,
Symphony Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed over night on our way south to a woodsy cabin. We were delighted with the hotel after initial confusion because nobody was there when we arrived at 3:30 pm. We called the number posted on the door, Tim arrived shortly and told us how to get to the parking lot in the alley (very narrow alley). The hotel is beautifully furnished and maintained (from 1875, I think Tim said); there's a spacious bar downstairs (we sat at the wide open window, had drinks, played cribbage, and chatted with Colleen); beautiful dining room (unfortunately not open week nights), and charming small breakfast room (we had delicious salmon omelette with what we call in Philadelphia "scrapple." Our room was very pretty though small (as one would expect in an old hotel). Our bathroom was around the corner which was fine because noone seemed to be staying next door, so we had it to ourselves. Both the bathroom and bedroom were immaculate. We used the air conditioner because it was very hot and humid; I do, however, wish the windows opened (painted shut?) and wish we had known about the spacious wonderful outside terrace on the second floor before we got ready to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
It was a pleasure meeting both of you & had a great time sitting out with you chatting...
I'm so sorry that the deck wasn't shown to you ( maybe raining outside that day ), just another reason you will need to return soon to see us again!
About the windows they are on a security system so we don't open them, but they do open.
Hope all is well & hope you explore Cincinnati again soon.

Thanks, Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I wish there was a way I could let every person in the world know how great this place is. I came across the Symphony in my search for a small boutique hotel. I always try to stay in "mom and pop" places because I love the character that they often have and enjoy supporting local businesses as much as possible. The Symphony did not disappoint. I'd like to preface my review though by saying that if you must have 24 hour room service/concierge/gym/sauna and a view then the Symphony/boutique hotels in general are not for you. If you are into quaint/cool small hotels with loads of character then you'll love this place.

The Victorian themed rooms are awesome and since I stayed during a slower night I got to peek into some of the open rooms and see how different each was. Every room was decorated differently but with the same old classical theme; very cool. The size of some of the rooms were small (including the one I stayed in) but how much space do you need in a hotel room?

To say that Coleen and Tim were accommodating is an understatement. To say that they are completely utterly amazing and great to chat with is more correct. It seems like a very small time operation and it was great to get a chance to chat them up.

Bottom line: The people who run this hotel are awesome, the rooms are very cool and VERY clean, price is great, wish I came on a weekend to hang out in the lounge and have dinner because there are great reviews about that too.... Book a room here!

Room Tip: Room #4 is on the smaller side but the shower with body jets is INCREDIBLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi James,

What a beautiful review you wrote! Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Cincy & hope to see you again on your next adventure out. We love what we do here & hope that everyone that comes in enjoys it as much as you did!
Glad you had a good experience with the shower, it can get abit out of control sometimes if you don't know what knobs to turn ( hehe ), it's a waterfall experience!

Thank you again,
From the Symphony Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Want to stay in one of the best hidden place in Cinci? Try the Symphony Hotel. Managers Karen and Colleen could not have been nicer or more accommodating. From working with us to plan a graduation dinner in their wonderful restaurant to preparing a morning breakfast tray for my ill wife to eat in our room, they made our trip wonderful. The B&B is only a couple blocks from the reinvigorated Over the Rhine neighborhood with many cool bars and restaurants. And right next to the music hall to take in a concert. And DO NOT miss out on the second floor rooftop patio that just opened. A great place to share some wine and romance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olmsted-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We chose this B & B because of its proximity to the museum at Union Terminal. Absolutely delightful. tastefully renovated and decorated rooms are cozy and well-appointed. Friendly, helpful service from Colleen, Chris and Denis. You will not regret staying in for the prix-fixe 5 course dinner and Saturday morning brunch is actually a gourmet cook-to-order feast!. Only down fall is the neighborhood which is shabby and does not lend itself to a stroll. Would highly recommend and hope to find a reason to return soon;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momanddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This "hotel" is really a wonderful Bed & Breakfast, and I highly recommend it. It's in a great location, in the "Over the Rhine" district and within walking distance of several restaurants. The hotel has been restored and renovated and has a cozy/lovely bar area with great and unique wines and a fabulous looking restaurant. The best part was the gracious hostess/general manager. She not only welcomed me, showed me around the hotel, but she also walked me down to the nearest restaurant, and we decided she should join me for dinner. Now that's service with a smile!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaKayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Roberta,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting you & spending time with

you! Dinner was great along with the company & hope that you will come back soon for another

wonderful stay with us here at the Symphony Hotel.

Thanks Again, Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symphony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Hotel

Property: Symphony Hotel
Address: 210 W 14th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-7507
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Symphony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symphony Hotel and Restaurant: located in Historic Over the Rhine, next to Washington Park and Music Hall. The hotel has 9 composer themed guest rooms. We include a relaxing, gourmet brunch prepared by our chef on Saturdays and Sundays. Monday - Friday we serve a complimentary hot continental breakfast for hotel guests, which includes made to order eggs dishes. For your convenience we offer: free parking, flat screen television with satellite, high speed internet, an outdoor rooftop deck with a gas fire pit and guest rooms with individual heating and air temperature control. The Restaurant's historic dining room is open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday for two, three, or five course gourmet dining. All Pre-concert dinners are 5 course. Happy hour is on Thursday from 5-7pm. Taste bourbon and wine in our tasting room and relax with a glass of wine or craft cocktails in our lounge offering complimentary live jazz on Friday and Saturday evenings 8-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Symphony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symphony Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing