We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Japanese Cuisine

Kyoto Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #203 of 1,893 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great food with great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We ate here recently while staying at a hotel not far away. We arrived late and didn't have many options in the area that were still open, but that was lucky for us since it resulted in our visit to Kyoto. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. We ordered off of both the sushi menu and the regular menu. The sushi was excellent and was very reasonably priced. The bento box meal off of the regular menu seemed a little pricey at first until we saw how much food was packed into that little box - it was overflowing with tempura, chicken, rice, and sushi. We also tried the strawberry-banana dessert roll. Not everyone enjoyed it as bananas and strawberries fried tempura-style is certainly an odd combination, but it was good if you happen to have the taste for it. They also have a fairly large selection of alcohol for such a small place. The restaurant is small, so it would be difficult to go with a large party, but that just added to the friendly local feel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Cincy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been here numerous times and have never been disappointed. Fresh food, great service and overall and excellent experience. The only downfall is having to wait for a table.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karahbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“All around good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Kyoto for dinner tonight. We were all around impressed! I had beef teryaki, and my wife had chicken hibachi. Both of our meals were top notch. The quality of the steak was very good. The sauce was excellent. All around very tasty.

They did not furnish a fork; you are encouraged to use chop sticks. I'm sure they'd give you a fork if you ask. But, everyone was using the chop sticks, which fits the atmosphere of this place.

Atmosphere. The place is small, close quarters. It's not fancy, almost feels like it should be a street cafe in a busy Japanese city.

We aren't sushi fans, but they certainly had an extensive list.

Helpful?
Thank CinciJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average food, Excellent Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The sushi is fresh, but not creative or flavorful. We ordered their special rolls that included spicy salmon and spicy tuna. In addition, we had soup, salad, and edamame.

We didn't realize that there were special happy hour prices for the sushi so the bill was extremely affordable. In fact, I don't remember ever getting sushi at such a low price. So, if you're in the neighborhood, especially around their happy hour time frame, then it's good enough.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustForFun401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
411 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good affordable sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Small, busy restaurant frequented by lots of asians and locals. Not fancy but good, reliable, fairly authenticJapanese food. Has a beer and wine license. Fast efficient service. Everything seems to be fresh and made to order. Former manager - Jason - ran it much better than the current management but the food is consistent and the frequent specials tend to be interesting and great to try.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Kyoto Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing