We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All around good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Japanese Cuisine

Kyoto Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #233 of 1,882 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“All around good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Kyoto for dinner tonight. We were all around impressed! I had beef teryaki, and my wife had chicken hibachi. Both of our meals were top notch. The quality of the steak was very good. The sauce was excellent. All around very tasty.

They did not furnish a fork; you are encouraged to use chop sticks. I'm sure they'd give you a fork if you ask. But, everyone was using the chop sticks, which fits the atmosphere of this place.

Atmosphere. The place is small, close quarters. It's not fancy, almost feels like it should be a street cafe in a busy Japanese city.

We aren't sushi fans, but they certainly had an extensive list.

Helpful?
Thank CinciJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average food, Excellent Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The sushi is fresh, but not creative or flavorful. We ordered their special rolls that included spicy salmon and spicy tuna. In addition, we had soup, salad, and edamame.

We didn't realize that there were special happy hour prices for the sushi so the bill was extremely affordable. In fact, I don't remember ever getting sushi at such a low price. So, if you're in the neighborhood, especially around their happy hour time frame, then it's good enough.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustForFun401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
411 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good affordable sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Small, busy restaurant frequented by lots of asians and locals. Not fancy but good, reliable, fairly authenticJapanese food. Has a beer and wine license. Fast efficient service. Everything seems to be fresh and made to order. Former manager - Jason - ran it much better than the current management but the food is consistent and the frequent specials tend to be interesting and great to try.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

For a special treat, we love to eat at Kyoto. Although slightly more expensive than several other sushi restaurants, the difference is truly remarkable and well worth it. The sushi and sashimi melt in your mouth, the rolls are well-prepared and often innovative. Monthly specials help to cut down on expenses as well as ordering a lunch or dinner special.
Since moving to Cincinnati 7 years ago from New York, we think this is the best sushi we have ever had. How it is possible to have such fresh fish in southern Ohio is unbelievable to us. Our adult kids, when they visit from NY, want to go to Kyoto the first evening over any other local restaurant.
Often, we have ordered the "boat" filled with sushi enough for the 7 of us. Beautifully prepared and presented, it always amazes us how it disappears so quickly.
For those not interested in sushi, the menu has cooked dishes. There are a surprising number of beer and wine selections as well.
At times, we have noticed that the service is often a little "too" much. Before one is almost finished with a salad or soup, the dishes are whisked away, chopsticks still poised over the plate. I would suggest giving diners a chance to savor each course. Going out and relaxing at lunch or dinner is more pleasurable than preparing to tackle the waitress to bring back an unfinished course!
This is a very small restaurant and often crowded. Since we first started enjoying Kyoto, they have added more sushi chefs and other staff. This helps tremendously with wait time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLovrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spotty Service and Spotty Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Kyoto is a 'Japanese' restaurant that I have visited on at least 10 occassions. The service can be a real mix. Sometimes good, sometimes terrible. Same with the food - sometimes pretty excellent, sometimes quite offbeat. When the sushi is prepared well, it is great, when it is prepared poorly, well... you get the idea. Ditto for the Tempura, soup, teriyaki, and so on. The most fascinating item is the white rice - - it is always overcooked (or undercooked). Kinda funny for an Asian restaurant. If you eat there on a 'good food' day, you will enjoy the meal. If you eat there on a 'bad food' day.... you decide. Serice is always spotty.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Kyoto Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing