We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Georgeous newly renovated Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Georgeous newly renovated Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I always try to stay at Marriotts and decided to try this newly opened and renovated hotel. You never know what your going to get, but this is a home run! They just recently opened from renovating and old hotel. Their is still some minor signs of some final touches being done but it's phabulous. Very modern, the lounge and dinning area is very well designed and very modern looking. The room we got was in top shape. Concierge area is very elegant and right on first floor. The work out room has lots of space and equipment. We were in for a Bengals game and the hotel is very close walking distance to Paul Brown Stadium. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Plan on the 15 minutes they tell you to get your vehicle from the valle service. If you get a chance check out the second floor ball room. Breath taking to say the least. We will definitely stay here again! Enjoy!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our Tripadvisor community.

Our elegant grand ballroom, D. Burnham Hall is a breathtaking event space and we are so excited that were able to discover it.
We are looking forward to your return to the Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown.

Live Life to Discover!

Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    90
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
61
131
9
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I recently stayed one night with my husband when we came to town for a Reds game/concert in Newport. The hotel was wonderful! The location was great - an easy walk to many restaurants and the ballpark. The room was beautiful, with a very modern look and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, and a sparkling clean and modern bathroom as well. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and competent. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear abbalish,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely excited to hear such positive reviews and are looking forward to welcoming you back in future.

Live Life to Discover!

Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is one of the prettiest properties I have stayed in comparing it to the Las Vegas location. Ornate ironwork and Brass meets your eye when you enter. They did not try to hide the fact this is an old building but you would not know it from the rooms. State of the art Walk in showers that are easy to enter and exit. The roundabouts are not new but feel like they were just put in so it an easy walk in. New staff but old pros like they were just looking for a better home to work in. The Chef is amazing and the food is out of this world.
Well done Cincinnati!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tight141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Tight141,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel property in Cincinnati.
We have gone through great lengths to embrace the history of our building when renovating.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Cincinnati.

Life Live to Discover!

Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary the first week it was open. The hotel was beautiful and clean Got it at a good price and great location. The best part of the stay was the service. Rebecca and staff were friendly and provided outstanding service. They were aware that it was our anniversary, so they had a treat for use in our room when we returned from the night out. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Tony C,

We would like to thank you for spending your very special day with us here at the Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Our main goal is to create memories for our discoverers and hope that you will come and visit us again.

Live Life to Discover!

Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Nothing like a new fresh hotel. This place is hip, convenient, reasonably priced, huge rooms, comfy, clean, modern -- all the things you look for in a new hotel. Waiter in restaurant told me this was a $48 million investment In an old office building. The money shows. They've been open a few weeks only and a few kinks here and there, but nothing significant. The staff is friendly, eager, and professional in every way. Strong kudos to them all. Fitness center has everything you need for a travel workout. My ONLY criticism that is not entirely positive is that the lighting I the room is a bit harsh and at the same time shadowed. I would have a hard time doing work at night with the set up. My colleague who stayed in another room noted the same thing. But aside from this straight A's all around. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurorunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Eurorunner,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your thoughts.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cincinnati.

Live Life to Discover!

Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I always stay at a Marriot, but this experience I have never had before at any hotel. From the first exchange with Shynai at check in to the Valet crew and especially Colin, this was an unbelievable visit. We were in Cincinnati for the 6th Circuit Court for Marriage Equality hearing, The staff at the Renaissance was the most engaged I have ever experienced. This hotel has only been open about 2 weeks but the building is from 1899. Our room was beautiful, beautiful bath and wonderful room service. When I asked Colin what made the difference, he said the Hotel Manager and her staff. Notice "her" staff. Women know what to do and I commend her for every member of her staff that we interacted with. Our server on Tuesday evening in the restaurant was new that day and she had been trained well. There were three of us, and we wanted to order off the menu and she came back and said that was not a problem. Do you believe this? Such service is so unexpected and so much appreciated. It was a little more than other Marriot's but you get what you pay for. Our court hearing was at 1 PM and we were permitted to leave our cars with valet until we were ready to leave town. Such care and consideration!

Room Tip: It is an old building with thick walls and noise was not a problem. The only down side was it took a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Luke B,

We recognize that our ambassadors are our most valuable assets in providing the highest level of service to our discoverers.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Life Live to Discover!

Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the location. Our family and friends stayed here to go to a Reds game. The hotel is brand new and not every floor is even open. The room layouts and amenities are wonderful. You cannot beat a new hotel. The gym overlooks 4th & Walnut and is nice and spacious.

The only issue we had was our shower had a drain issue. They were aware of the issue and had someone come up to fix it. Unfortunately the entire bathroom and surrounding carpet had already flooded.

They are still working out the kinks, but I'm sure once everything is up and running it'll be a great hotel for years to come.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenCinDT, Manager at Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Fritz416,

We are very excited that you chose the Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown to stay to attend a Reds game.

We are a new property and have been constantly working on the challenges that a new hotel faces. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope that you will chose us again for your next visit to Cincinnati.

Live Life to Discover!
Your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Address: 36 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3725
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel is designed to showcase stately elegance with a modern touch. Our luxury hotel in downtown Cincinnati, Ohio provides a historical feel with its unique guest suites. Furthermore, the 14,000 square feet of meeting space make this luxury hotel the perfect destination for large group events, social gatherings and business functions. The lovely ballrooms are ideal for weddings and other special parties to ensure an unforgettable family occasion. In addition, our attentive staff is always ready to be of service in any way possible for the guests staying with us. And with our closeness to popular tourist attractions such as the Contemporary Arts Center, the Cincinnati Zoo and Fountain Square, there is never a shortage of exciting things to do. You can also enjoy a wide array of fine dining and casual restaurants near our luxury hotel in downtown Cincinnati. When you reserve a room with us, you can be sure to have a memorable and relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing