We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Acres Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Six Acres Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First a warning: it's not air conditioned. But, despite being there during a record hot day in the upper nineties, our room was reasonably comfortable with just a ceiling fan. Twelve foot ceilings certainly help. Both our bedroom and our bathroom were huge, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The mattress was firm and there were plenty of pillows. The TV was very old school, but we don't vacation to watch TV. The location is perfect, in the midst of a forested park but still only a $20 taxi ride to the middle of town. There's a bus stop right across the road - $1.75 fare and a half hour later we were at the riverfront. We left our car there. No need to fuss with parking! The house itself is more than old school: it's ancient, and brimming with an exciting history that our keepers were happy to share with us in colorful detail. But never overbearing, like the best of innkeepers, they knew when to keep us company and when to leave us alone. That's why we stay in B&B's, to get that wonderful personal touch - and the breakfast was no disappointment either! Bacon and eggs cooked perfectly, a bowl of tropical fruit, and the coffee cake is to die for! Nothing packaged or premixed. We would definitely stay there again, and definitely recommend it to one and all. You won't find better at this price point!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nc-stereoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
25
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milltown, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I selected Six Acres for my daughters' wedding since she lives in Cincinati and we live in NJ. We knew there would be many family members travelling to the wedding from NJ and we wanted to be able to all stay together. This place was the perfect venue for it. We had 10 very large bedrooms. It was like staying at Grandma's house, only better. Kristin (the proprietor) and her staff (Mark & Summer) are wonderful people who made us feel right at home, and became part of our family. They were wonderfully accomodating with every detail. Our family and guests all had a wonderful time and each loved their experience here. The breakfasts' were mouthwateringly delicious. The house was beautifully decorated, and each room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I can not say enough about this wonderful home!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children, the 7th acre house, "Annie's Suite" has 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanabanana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The owners are friendly. The breakfast is delicious, and during one breakfast the cook told us the history of the house, which was once a stop on the underground railroad. The room I stayed in (Sallie Mae) was large and comfortable. Definitely a charming, historically interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mare1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband booked this B&B for mini getaway~we live in Columbus, so only a 2 hour drive to another city for us~last minuet and Kristin was a joy to work with~and Mark was a delight as well!
We arrived at 8'ish on a Thursday night, he graciously assisted my husband bringing in our bags up stairs to our room and shortly after we arrived he brought us fresh out of the oven chocolate chip cookies! We stayed in Dixon's Room the first night~Large King bed, which was "too hard for my liking" others may like a very firm bed~the room was large and more than adequate, private bath was roomy, would have liked a little more light for applying makeup, but loved the size~

We stayed the other nights in Grace's Room, Queen size, shared bath, LOVED this room, warm and inviting, the bed was super comfortable, less firm mattress~yes it was a shared bathroom they provided very plush robes and we didn't have to share the bathroom as no one was staying in the room adjoining~ Lucky for us! The breakfast one morning from Kristin, and the other from Mark, both delicious, and filling, perfect~great conversation(one of the reasons I LOVE a B&B).

Now, I have taken the time to read through all reviews on TA for this inn~ I will attempt to address~ I am not a novice at B&B's, have stayed at many~this home is NOT perfect condition, but not a museum either~it is very homey, welcoming and full of history, I like B&B's due to their individuality~non cookie cutter design~if you're looking for a five star resort don't stay here~bring your own personal soaps~washes etc,

As far as location, it clearly states it's 15 min from downtown Cincinnati~if you're looking for a country setting clearly this is not the B&B for you. We used GPS, and had no problems navigating the city, BB RiverBoat Sunset dinner/wine tasting tour was great, Mt Adams district, highly recommended, Findley Market place~great place on Saturday morning~

We would return to revisit what we feel have become "new friends" to us~
The home is full of history~part of the Underground RailRoad~be sure to ask about the hidden room~

Room Tip: Firm bed, the King room Dixon (too firm for my liking~can hear some traffice from street-not bothers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I spent the weekend at Six Acres with 6 other people from the Cleveland area. When we arrived late on a rainy Friday night Mark met us with an umbrella and a warm hello. My firiends and I were on a weekend excursion to the Underground Railroad Freedom Center and the Cincinnati and Taft Museums. Our group included singles and couples. Kristin and Mark are outstanding innkeepers. We loved breakfast. Our rooms were nicely appointed with furniture consistent with the year the home was built. We enjoyed every inch of the house. We listened to awesome stories Kristin and Mark shared about the house and people who lived there. The house has a rich history that Kristin and Mark warmly brought alive for us. I plan to return to Six Acres real soon. I would suggest this establishment for anyone who travels to Cincinnati. You can not beat the wonderful hospitalty at Six acres.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SharonMCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 8/9 we stayed in the Sallie Mae room which had a king sized bed and a private bath.Mark greeted us and was very helpful with info about the area restuarants we ate at Moes Pizza very good.
the house is charming the Breakfast was very good,Thanks Mona for great Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nun0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay! The room was perfect for us. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#3 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Central Business District
Garfield Suites Hotel
Garfield Suites Hotel
#29 of 51 in Cincinnati
3.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Acres Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Acres Bed & Breakfast

Property: Six Acres Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5350 Hamilton Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45224-3108
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six Acres Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Six Acres Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Acres Hotel Cincinnati
Six Acres Bed And Breakfast
6 Acres Bed & Breakfast
Six Acres Bed & Breakfast Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing