We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie-good Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca

Boca
114 E 6th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
513-542-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,839 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Main and Walnut
Description: Italian food with heart, elegance, and authenticity. Details and passion drive our team to create an extraordinary dining experience. The daily changing menu offers authentic Italian cuisine fashioned with contemporary French technique. Boca is for your special occasions, for meeting up with loved ones, and for anyone who revels in food, drink, and service.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Foodie-good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Dined with a large group and still service was exceptional. The decor is beautiful and the food and experience matched it. Try the corn pasta (forgot the name), it is simply remarkable. The beet salad was quite interesting - slivers of beet wrapped around a tasty cheese. Love the Brussel sprout flavor, but not texture (more like mushroom in texture, perhaps over-done). This is a must do restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Advourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
cincinnati
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our first trip to Boca and it was an enjoyable evening.
The service was great-the waiter explained the menu without droning on and on.
Seafood risotto,steak, and Amish chicken were all enjoyed by our party.
Prices are reasonable.
Only complaint is I noticed that the music on the first floor was deafening. Fortunately we were upstairs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmomCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

There were four to our party. We each ordered an entree. On top of that we ordered all the appetizers on the menu and everything else that came in small plates. We figured that was a good way to sample everything. Everything was delish but, believe it or not, we all still left feeling hungry. Btw, we also ordered desserts.... In other words, the portions are small. Good quality but we had to jump to another restaurant for a second dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkly8272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Boca surprised us with a superior dining experience. This was our first visit to this downtown Cincinnati restaurant. In nutshell Boca is an intriguing fusion of Italian food with classic French sauces that packed a flavor punch on everything they graced. The menu rotates monthly and we will be scoping out future month’s menus (posted via their website) and plan to return again.
Here’s what we enjoyed:
1. Appetizers (small plates on the menu)
a. Caramelized Brussel Sprouts – roasted in butter with fresh greens on top. The waiter told us the citizens of Cincinnati would riot if this ever left the menu. We understand. Yummy!
b. Grilled Romaine – grilled romaine leaves lightly dressed. Simple and delicious.
c. Summer Beet Salad – cleverly constructed salad of circles of beet folded over goat cheese topped with fresh greens. Imaginative and tasty.
d. Blue Oven Sourdough Bread – freshly baked. Who doesn’t look an endless bread basket? The bread had a subtle sourdough taste (our preference).
2. Dinner
a. Pasta filled with lobster and peas. Pretty plate and delicious.
b. Seafood Risotto. Every mouthful was flavorful.
c. Poached Branzino. Northern Italian fish rendered tender and tasty. The carrot ginger broth was poured table side which added flair.
d. Filet Boca. Perfectly cooked filet topped with crab and the sauce, the sauce, the sauce, was terrific.
e. Pork Loin. The chef was willing to cook the meat to order, which was appreciated.
3. Dessert
a. Maple Mascarpone Cheesecake. Deconstructed and perfect balance of maple flavored, worth eating.
b. Candy Bar. Chef’s take on a layered candy bar. He’d put Hershey’s out of business if he marketed this.
c. Chocolate Terrine. Slice of thick chocolate mousse topped with pistachios and olive oil. Had me at chocolate. The pistachio/olive oil topper enhanced the terrine.
d. Crème Brule. Classic dish, we found the Brule lighter, more whipped.
e. Seasonal Gelato & Sorbets. Selecting three was the hard part, eating these delightful flavors the easy part. We tried Coconut – wow, mixed berry – fresh, and vanilla – classic.
4. Wait Staff. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and the chef’s philosophy on food. He was the perfect guide to a wonderful dinner. We liked their uniform of jeans, shirt, tie, and vest.
5. Table. As we were a group of five, we enjoyed a round booth tucked in the corner that was not too large not too small. Ambient noise was not a problem with this private booth.
6. Restrooms. Ok, I don’t usually comment on restrooms but Boca’s are single bathrooms with a light over each door. If the light is on, it is occupied, if the light is off, it is available. So that was fun. But surprisingly these were spacious well-appointed baths with a basket of rolled hand towels and discard basket under the pedestal sink.
What we did not like:
1. We arrived before 6pm and the valet parking was not functional yet (though we did not know that would be the case). So there was a bit of confusion. The Boca staff sorted us out and held the keys until the valet service arrived. When we left the restaurant, there was a bit of confusion with the valet staff on the “early” car but it was sorted out quickly again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OH_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
193 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sit by the kitchen and watch the masterpieces!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Casey was amazing and he answered all our crazy questions. I have always hated brussel sprouts but Casey was right these are not your Mamma's brussel sprouts! The beet and goat cheese = yum. The risotto is divine. The salmon is refreshing. The cheesecake is like no other. This is definitely on the list for a repeat visit so I can try different items and eat the brussel sprouts again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank ALTravel_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Been to Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing